#121 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 8:35:59 AM

mkeiy wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
urstill1 wrote:
I found this interesting.

C&P

These women shouting ‪#‎MyDressMyChoice‬ should also allow their house helps to choose their dresses. When your young, fresh, beautiful house girls embraces #MyDressMyChoice infront of your husband in the house daily is when it shall dawn on you that your dress sometimes is NOT your choice.

it is not interesting. it is actually a stupid and misplaced argument trying to pass off as well thought out. probably something that the makangas and alais of this world would gleefully think makes sense.

of course maids have a choice in what they wear. and their bosses ( the lady of the house) have a right to fire them for violating any dress code they may put in place (same way if you go to some companies with a t-shirt and hot-pants etc you can get fired) but they have no rights to strip them. if the maids were to dress the same way away from work place then their employers should not have a problem with it.

@mkenyan, At what point does #MyDressMyChoice stop? At what point does dress code check in?

I think if we all acted responsibly and decently, we wouldnot be having #MyDressMyChoice, coz clearly, its not all about ones choice. Other factors have to be considered.

This discussion is clearly misplaced. The issue should have been NOBODY should be assaulted based on how they are dressed. Who sets the standards? How comes these underwear sagging boys in the streets are decent by the under-wear sagging makangas' standards but the mini-wearing lady is indecent? Soon they will dis-agree with the type of shoe and order one to remove it. Haven't we heard in the past Catholic Nuns and Muslim ladies being harassed in the streets, others raped, yet they are very well covered? How one dresses is a factor of personal belief, decency, their environment and such other factors. Harassing of people on the streets is criminal. Its all in the mind of the thugs. Even if all the ladies were dressed in wakorino attires, they will still get a reason to harass, a reason why they disagree with the way they are dressed. The irony is while a group of men are undressing women who are under-dressed, another group of men is paying top dollar to the strip clubs to go watch naked women. Nkt.
#122 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 8:37:24 AM

butterflyke wrote:
@ Butter where art thou!! I have been camping at embakasi since sunday with photos of the baboons who strip women . There are several cash offers from leaders,enough to buy a plot.
Shine your eyes.

100k +114k = kisaju.

smile wewe chukua pesa tukakule omena! smile

mpesa line is open. Unfortunately the touts resemble one another.
hard faced,chewing weed,dirty, foul language,dirty stinking hands,that lady had better go for cleanup,yuck kweli Kenya iko shida.
#123 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 8:47:48 AM

Jaaaam!! Anyway

Dressing decently prevents sexual harrasment including rape.

discuss. 150mrks.
#124 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 8:53:40 AM

Decency/choice can't be discussed in the same breadth with criminals, the two should be divorced!
#125 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 9:06:02 AM

#126 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 9:19:33 AM

This tribal burukenge Alai is the same one who was running a campaign for one Linda a policewoman with a skirt shorter than the skirts I have seen.

This goes to show you that the man is just a tribal buffoon asiye na msimamo.

#127 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 9:23:35 AM

Alai kemekamatwa, dude takes some very unnecessary fights, I remember the other time when he was happy that the up market fellows were also facing insecurity!!!!
#128 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 9:37:20 AM

Decency/choice can't be discussed in the same breadth with criminals, the two should be divorced!

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
#129 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 9:49:35 AM

This tribal burukenge Alai is the same one who was running a campaign for one Linda a policewoman with a skirt shorter than the skirts I have seen.

Baasi...sasa hii ndio kupatikana.
#130 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 9:51:41 AM

mkeiy wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
urstill1 wrote:
I found this interesting.

C&P

These women shouting ‪#‎MyDressMyChoice‬ should also allow their house helps to choose their dresses. When your young, fresh, beautiful house girls embraces #MyDressMyChoice infront of your husband in the house daily is when it shall dawn on you that your dress sometimes is NOT your choice.

it is not interesting. it is actually a stupid and misplaced argument trying to pass off as well thought out. probably something that the makangas and alais of this world would gleefully think makes sense.

of course maids have a choice in what they wear. and their bosses ( the lady of the house) have a right to fire them for violating any dress code they may put in place (same way if you go to some companies with a t-shirt and hot-pants etc you can get fired) but they have no rights to strip them. if the maids were to dress the same way away from work place then their employers should not have a problem with it.

@mkenyan, At what point does #MyDressMyChoice stop? At what point does dress code check in?

I think if we all acted responsibly and decently, we wouldnot be having #MyDressMyChoice, coz clearly, its not all about ones choice. Other factors have to be considered.

dress code can 'check in' in private places like your house, a company's work place, a church (there are actual owners of churches btw) etc. the owners of those places have a right to admit you or exclude you into their space. when you go out in public your subjective morals stop. if you are afraid of meeting those dressed 'badly' or those who haven't bathed for years or those who talk loudly on their phones or those who don't look beautiful/handsome enough for you then you can remain indoors.
#131 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 10:09:51 AM

Jaaaam!! Anyway

discuss. 150mrks.

Let me say: I DON'T SUPPORT UNDRESSING A WOMAN IN PUBLIC. ONLY UNDRESS YOUR OWN WIFE IN PRIVATE.

Now let me earn the 150Mrks by @kysse. If there are hooligans waiting for an opportunity to tease a girl. Who do you think they will likely tease?

There is a reason why decent dressing is prescribed for women as mentioned in the Quran:
"O Prophet! Tell thy wives and daughters, and the believing women that they should cast their outer garments over their persons; that is most convenient, that they should be known (as such) and not molested. And Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.” [Quran 33:59]

They will be recognized as modest women and this will also prevent them from being molested.

Example of twin sisters
Suppose two sisters who are twins, and who are equally beautiful, walk down the street. One of them is attired in the Islamic hijab i.e. the complete body is covered, except for the face and the hands up to the wrists. The other sister is wearing western clothes, a mini skirt or shorts. Just around the corner there is a hooligan or ruffian who is waiting for a catch, to tease a girl. Whom will he tease? The girl wearing the Islamic Hijab or the girl wearing the skirt or the mini? Naturally he will tease the girl wearing the skirt or the mini. Such dresses are an indirect invitation to the opposite sex for teasing and molestation. The Qur’an rightly says that hijab prevents women from being molested.

Peace smile
#132 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 10:17:59 AM

Wewe Alphdoti wacha kuleta mzaha hapa.

Must every thread go back to the Quran? You know very well that the pictures of those 3 ladies at the bottom of your post would get them killed in some Islamic countries. Hiyo sio buibui. So save us on the Islamic angle.

Lets stick to the issue here. If you want a morality thread, open it up with Mukiri somewhere on wazua.

We are talking about a simple issue.

Can you Alphdoti ever allow a Kafir like Alai undress your wife in public?
#133 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 10:22:22 AM

Baasi...sasa hii ndio kupatikana.

Case closed.
#134 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 10:31:02 AM

Jaaaam!! Anyway

discuss. 150mrks.

Let me say: I DON'T SUPPORT UNDRESSING A WOMAN IN PUBLIC. ONLY UNDRESS YOUR OWN WIFE IN PRIVATE.

Now let me earn the 150Mrks by @kysse. If there are hooligans waiting for an opportunity to tease a girl. Who do you think they will likely tease?

There is a reason why decent dressing is prescribed for women as mentioned in the Quran:
"O Prophet! Tell thy wives and daughters, and the believing women that they should cast their outer garments over their persons; that is most convenient, that they should be known (as such) and not molested. And Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.” [Quran 33:59]

They will be recognized as modest women and this will also prevent them from being molested.

Example of twin sisters
Suppose two sisters who are twins, and who are equally beautiful, walk down the street. One of them is attired in the Islamic hijab i.e. the complete body is covered, except for the face and the hands up to the wrists. The other sister is wearing western clothes, a mini skirt or shorts. Just around the corner there is a hooligan or ruffian who is waiting for a catch, to tease a girl. Whom will he tease? The girl wearing the Islamic Hijab or the girl wearing the skirt or the mini? Naturally he will tease the girl wearing the skirt or the mini. Such dresses are an indirect invitation to the opposite sex for teasing and molestation. The Qur’an rightly says that hijab prevents women from being molested.

Peace smile

Please update us on those grenades found in the 2 Kenyan mosques yesterday. But I digress. Peace.
#135 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 10:35:33 AM

Please explain why the ladies in Hijab also get raped? What attracts the rapist? Why did NTV run a programme recently on grandmas being harassed/molested sexually recently? Is it about their mini skirts too?
#136 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 10:37:21 AM

Please explain why the ladies in Hijab also get raped? What attracts the rapist? Why did NTV run a programme recently on grandmas being harassed/molested sexually recently? Is it about their mini skirts too?

What about the guys who "rape" cows, goats and chickens? Are the livestock also in mini skirts?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#137 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 10:46:39 AM

What about the guys who "rape" cows, goats and chickens? Are the livestock also in mini skirts?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Exactment...
#138 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 11:08:53 AM

Jaaaam!! Anyway

discuss. 150mrks.

No. 'Decent' clothing doesn't prevent sexual harassment or rape. Neither does 'indicent' clothing promote harassment and rape in any way.

Clothes, behavior patterns, glow, aura, all these are symbols. And 'decent' or 'indecent' are interpretations. A symbol is not the thing in itself, so an interpretation is a deliberate act by the symbol user contingent on experience.

Action depends on interpretation, not the symbol itself.

B.Timer
#139 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 11:18:35 AM

Ala a bit confusing now! I thought Kenya was all for conservatism, and occupying of the moral high ground, religion et al!

So what’s the new position on issues like gayism, toplessness, uhuru park/Muliro squezzing, porn etc.

I abhor and condemn street attacks on Women or Men – for that is lawlessness, just like I do not condone any active moral police behavior.

All said and done, in my opinion, this issue has been accorded undue prominence in our national discussion.

Dunia ni msongamano..
Muriel
#140 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2014 11:26:02 AM

mkeiy wrote:
bird_man wrote:

If we could get someone or an institution to blame every time we did a wrong....
I mean,I interact with watchmen who work day jobs as mjengo people & watchies at night.They are stressed,beaten & hopeless.But they do not steal/rob/strip women.
Don't try to get excuses where there are none.

@bird_man. As i try not to make "excuses", tell me, why do you THINK only a certain caliber of the men population behaves like that?

The title of this thread is "what's wrong with , , , ,".

In the spirit of not making excuses, what's wrong with them according to you?

I deal with them day in day out, i listen to their stories, their thinking. The class of men that's gotten delusional. They have bones to pick with everyone "above" them. They have not accepted who they are.

By the time one chooses to be a watchie, mjengo guy , they have accepted themselves. Makangas are yet to, they still live the dream of high-living, but they feel the establishment is frustrating them. That's where all that bile comes from.

But you know better, "what's wrong with them"?

My brother teaches. So do I, part time.

We love our students. Class. Knowledge. Enlightenment. Acceptance.

You, my brother and I can help them.