wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Kenya's Engineering Quality wanting
#1 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 4:43:16 PM

We once asked why Kenya never seems to manufacture some basic things; directly questioning our Engineering capabilities. Now, the Engineering body too has an issue with them. Okay....May our own engineers in the house comment?

The board is dissatisfied with the quality of graduates from public institutions and this has prompted it to suspend nearly all engineering programmes in 22 public universities and their colleges until certain specifications are met.Sad Sad
limanika
#2 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 5:55:42 PM

Wawanjiku, What profession r u. It's not just the engineering courses, university education has been commercialised.
#3 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 6:30:34 PM

limanika wrote:
Wawanjiku, What profession r u. It's not just the engineering courses, university education has been commercialised.

Yep kila kitu...
#4 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 7:02:32 PM

limanika wrote:

Yep kila kitu...

Try Strathmore........... very strong and high standards are still very much in place!!!
#5 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 7:05:40 PM

limanika wrote:

Yep kila kitu...

Try Strathmore........... very strong and high standards are still very much in place!!!

Try LSE...smile btw I have never come across a strath graduate whose tarmacking.
#6 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 8:24:02 PM

Did I just see Karatina University's sign post near Alliance Française

#7 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 9:31:12 PM

limanika wrote:

Yep kila kitu...

Try LSE...smile btw I have never come across a strath graduate whose tarmacking.

have you ever come across a stath graduate - smile
#8 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 9:35:11 PM

but the engineering body can not be serious, how can they set the standard as those in the developed heavily industrialized countries, of what use will the graduates be to the community.

I think they need to scale down the curriculum, and produce graduates who can work with the local jua kali sector.
#9 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 10:44:11 PM

Education standards have gone down to welding standards....
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 11, 2014 12:51:43 AM

butterflyke wrote:

#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 11, 2014 11:59:05 AM

butterflyke wrote:

haiya, welding is a very lucrative career huko mayuu - especially in those tu oil rigs.

actually they should introduce Bsc. welding engineering, all those road side windows/doors fabricators I see need some certificate to produce windows that are truly burglary free and upto international standards smile
#12 Posted : Tuesday, November 11, 2014 1:27:16 PM

And now all welders have to repeat courses

http://mobile.nation.co..../-/13albh5z/-/index.html
#13 Posted : Tuesday, November 11, 2014 3:11:03 PM

butterflyke wrote:

haiya, welding is a very lucrative career huko mayuu - especially in those tu oil rigs.

actually they should introduce Bsc. welding engineering, all those road side windows/doors fabricators I see need some certificate to produce windows that are truly burglary free and upto international standards smile

You know what I meansmile
#14 Posted : Tuesday, November 11, 2014 3:12:53 PM

butterflyke wrote:

Was there any welding involved in the making of this? smile
#15 Posted : Tuesday, November 11, 2014 11:42:53 PM

but the engineering body can not be serious, how can they set the standard as those in the developed heavily industrialized countries, of what use will the graduates be to the community.

I think they need to scale down the curriculum, and produce graduates who can work with the local jua kali sector.

I disagree!!!

If we want Kenyan degrees to be recognized world-wide then they must meet "world standards".

But the Engineering Board of Kenya is using the wrong approach. They should have engaged the Universities in dialog a long time ago and not wait for students to study for five years and then start making pronouncements. There are some universities like KU that are extreme but the likes of UON, JKUAT, Dedan Kimathi have the facilities and lecturers needed! Their Engineering courses are also very solid. Only a little fine tuning and advice is needed to align the graduates with current market requirements.

I can tell you for a fact that the Engineering Board of Kenya has quite a good number of idiots!!! Can you imagine these fellows stopped universities from offering BSc in Software Engineering because it contains the name Engineering!!! Apparently every course with the name "Engineering" should come under them!!! That is the stupidest load of crap I've ever heard! And the fellows want the course to be structured in the same manner as classical engineering courses - technical drawing etc. etc. Apparently they own the "rights" to the word "Engineering". Jaribu kutumia uone - Software Engineering, Biomedical engineering, Medical Engineering, Statistical Engineering etc.

Very soon even domestic engineers will have to be registered by EBK. No big surprise it rhymes with ABK. Absolutely Bure Kabisa.

In the meantime, no road done by Kenya contractors cannot go 2 years without potholes, structural engineers just sign papers without visiting the site etc. etc.
bebeto
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 10:07:06 AM

I agree with you partly, but:

I disagree!!!

If we want Kenyan degrees to be recognized world-wide then they must meet "world standards".
Applause Applause

But the Engineering Board of Kenya is using the wrong approach. They should have engaged the Universities in dialog a long time ago and not wait for students to study for five years and then start making pronouncements. There are some universities like KU that are extreme but the likes of UON, JKUAT, Dedan Kimathi have the facilities and lecturers needed! Their Engineering courses are also very solid. Only a little fine tuning and advice is needed to align the graduates with current market requirements.

It should be the universities, not EBK/IEK. After all, who comes up with their curriculum? the board is there to regulate and approve the curicculum. any institution that wishes to teach engineering should seek their authority. In this mix too is JAB( or whatever name they go b y nowadays). They knew this while admitting them.

I can tell you for a fact that the Engineering Board of Kenya has quite a Laughing out loudly True
Can you imagine these fellows stopped universities from offering BSc in Software Engineering because it contains the name Engineering!!! Apparently every course with the name "Engineering" should come under them!!! That is the stupidest load of crap I've ever heard! And the fellows want the course to be structured in the same manner as classical engineering courses - technical drawing etc. etc. Apparently they own the "rights" to the word "Engineering". Jaribu kutumia uone - Software Engineering, Biomedical engineering, Medical Engineering, Statistical Engineering etc.

Very soon even domestic engineers will have to be registered by EBK. No big surprise it rhymes with ABK. Absolutely Bure Kabisa.

In the meantime, no road done by Kenya contractors cannot go 2 years without potholes, structural engineers just sign papers without visiting the site etc. etc.color=red]No comment[/color]
[
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
Ngong
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 11:26:44 AM

I disagree!!!

I can tell you for a fact that the Engineering Board of Kenya has quite a good number of idiots!!! Can you imagine these fellows stopped universities from offering BSc in Software Engineering because it contains the name Engineering!!! Apparently every course with the name "Engineering" should come under them!!! That is the stupidest load of crap I've ever heard! And the fellows want the course to be structured in the same manner as classical engineering courses - technical drawing etc. etc. Apparently they own the "rights" to the word "Engineering". Jaribu kutumia uone - Software Engineering, Biomedical engineering, Medical Engineering, Statistical Engineering etc.

In the meantime, no road done by Kenya contractors cannot go 2 years without potholes, structural engineers just sign papers without visiting the site etc. etc.

The issue is pride, when you engage with EBK you come to understand how backward our education system is.
British system is one system we should borrow.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 12:08:27 PM

I disagree!!!

Including JKUATs Financial Engineeringsmile smile
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 12:20:03 PM

Why are our usual Wazua Engineers not commenting here?
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 12:30:45 PM

Why are our usual Wazua Engineers not commenting here?

They are either the ones running EBK or the ones being accussed by EBK!

Shida tupu!!!

But some (not the usual) are commenting. It's only that they don't go shouting about their profession. The same way people believe @guka is a truck driver because he knows everywhere from Lamu to Mandera to timbuktu to Kandahar!!! They might be surprised to learn that he is a specs wearing accountant (and not at Mumias!!!)