#61 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 3:33:42 PM

Robinhood wrote:
There is a shop in Donholm opposite Choma Base that sells mens mitumba leather shoes at between 5k and 13k.

Yaani wazua middo crass put on mitumba shoes and clothes? Am shocked!

Visit the shop and you will be shocked further by the collection there.I once saw alligator shoes there and by the time I went back they were gone.

Its only that I couldn't imagine mawinder leaving his 75k-a month-rent kileleshwa apartment, then puts 1k fuel in his premio/subaru and heads to the other side of town, parks outside a mitumba shop and starts to bargain for mitumba shoes (while clutching a 65k Samsung S4).

I find some wazuans and by extension Kenyans very pretentious. Virtually all wazuans have something mtumba. As matter of fact, a vast majority of Range Rovers on Kenyan roads are mitumbas. Same applies to Vitz and all vehicles in between!

It's one thing to be in the middle class [or whichever class] and another to stay there. Or go down or up for that matter!!!

You don't just spend money because you have it!

Someone once said, the biggest mistake employed people make is taking their salary as fruits when in real sense you should treat it as a SEED. This applies to all you money [even if you are self employed]. Warren Buffet is a student of this philosophy and it has done him good! If living in a rented fourth floor apartment in Kileleshwa is YOUR self actualization, well and good. You can spend your money on whatever - however!

My 2 Zim cents + VAT.

Thanks Maichy for pointing this out. I have bought shoes from this Doni guy. It is a question of quality. You can get a shoe from him that will easily outlive the shoes from bata or elsewhere.

So I am not alone in mitumbas.Now where can I get nice mitumba shirts,trousers and suits?
#62 Posted : Saturday, November 02, 2013 4:37:44 PM

Robinhood wrote:
There is a shop in Donholm opposite Choma Base that sells mens mitumba leather shoes at between 5k and 13k.

Visit the shop and you will be shocked further by the collection there.I once saw alligator shoes there and by the time I went back they were gone.

Its only that I couldn't imagine mawinder leaving his 75k-a month-rent kileleshwa apartment, then puts 1k fuel in his premio/subaru and heads to the other side of town, parks outside a mitumba shop and starts to bargain for mitumba shoes (while clutching a 65k Samsung S4).

I find some wazuans and by extension Kenyans very pretentious. Virtually all wazuans have something mtumba. As matter of fact, a vast majority of Range Rovers on Kenyan roads are mitumbas. Same applies to Vitz and all vehicles in between!

It's one thing to be in the middle class [or whichever class] and another to stay there. Or go down or up for that matter!!!

Someone once said, the biggest mistake employed people make is taking their salary as fruits when in real sense you should treat it as a SEED. This applies to all you money [even if you are self employed]. Warren Buffet is a student of this philosophy and it has done him good! If living in a rented fourth floor apartment in Kileleshwa is YOUR self actualization, well and good. You can spend your money on whatever - however!

My 2 Zim cents + VAT.

Thanks Maichy for pointing this out. I have bought shoes from this Doni guy. It is a question of quality. You can get a shoe from him that will easily outlive the shoes from bata or elsewhere.

ive had good BATA shoes for the last 4years..
Leather bata shoes are just as good as any other imported shoes.

Aiiihhhh immediately u buy them day one they start having creases for lack of a better word....

For me, biggest problem is cracking/breaking of the soles. I bought several leather pairs at once less than a year back and all have same problem.Sad Sad
#63 Posted : Tuesday, June 10, 2014 9:28:48 AM

I discovered a new joint in Ngara where I bought top notch Clarks at a reasonable price!!!!!
Chaka
#64 Posted : Tuesday, June 10, 2014 9:43:16 AM

I discovered a new joint in Ngara where I bought top notch Clarks at a reasonable price!!!!!

Put photo here..
hmmm
#65 Posted : Tuesday, June 10, 2014 10:17:48 AM

Chaka wrote:

Put photo here..

and the location of the joint?
#66 Posted : Tuesday, June 10, 2014 10:48:47 AM

hmmm wrote:
Chaka wrote:

Put photo here..

and the location of the joint?

The stalls on your way to Stima plaza.
Mkimwa
#67 Posted : Tuesday, June 10, 2014 2:46:28 PM

Clarks ama clakrs?
#68 Posted : Tuesday, June 10, 2014 3:06:01 PM

Mkimwa wrote:

Clarks ama clakrs?

Mtumba has no imitation.CLARKS!!!!!!!
eco
#69 Posted : Tuesday, June 10, 2014 3:30:31 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Robinhood wrote:

My 2 Zim cents + VAT.

Aiiihhhh immediately u buy them day one they start having creases for lack of a better word....

For me, biggest problem is cracking/breaking of the soles. I bought several leather pairs at once less than a year back and all have same problem.Sad Sad

I recently bought 2 pairs of Hush Puppies on 50% Sale from a new Bata Store opposite Jevanjee Muindi Mbingu. I think they are official Distributors for the Brand. Very comfortable shoe!
#70 Posted : Tuesday, June 10, 2014 3:56:27 PM

eco wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Robinhood wrote:

My 2 Zim cents + VAT.

I recently bought 2 pairs of Hush Puppies on 50% Sale from a new Bata Store opposite Jevanjee Muindi Mbingu. I think they are official Distributors for the Brand. Very comfortable shoe!

For how much?There is also a mitumba shoe shop inside the compound that houses Ruby Cat Pub along Ring Road Kilimani.
#71 Posted : Tuesday, June 10, 2014 11:02:39 PM

Bata has an ongoing sale. Just bought me some Weinbrenner

eco
#72 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 2:58:31 PM

eco wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Robinhood wrote:

My 2 Zim cents + VAT.

For how much?There is also a mitumba shoe shop inside the compound that houses Ruby Cat Pub along Ring Road Kilimani.

50% was 4k per pair.
#73 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 3:38:39 PM

eco wrote:
eco wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Robinhood wrote:

My 2 Zim cents + VAT.

50% was 4k per pair.

Wasted money,nothing beats mtumba shoes!!!!!!!!!
rryyzz
#74 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 4:35:37 PM

eco wrote:
eco wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Robinhood wrote:

My 2 Zim cents + VAT.

50% was 4k per pair.

Wasted money,nothing beats mtumba shoes!!!!!!!!!

Kwani you always have to put on hand me downsd'oh! d'oh! d'oh! . Sometimes buy them new. lol
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
omhangla
#75 Posted : Friday, July 18, 2014 9:37:49 AM

bought some very nice mtumba shoes pale shortcut ya kuingia town ukitoka ngara at 1200. i saw a similar eaxcat shoe going for 12k in some shop in town. then bought almost same time in bata another shoe for 5999. i can say the mtumba is the best in terms of comfort, style and durability. hio ya bata nilitupa tu pesa
#76 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 9:27:58 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Mtush is not for everyone, one needs a keen eye for fashion and good taste to appreciate the quality thats available at Gikosh, ngara and other Mitumba selling points.

Especially for shoes, I will go to mtush and get quality equivalent to stuff sold at the very high end shopping locations. 13K mtush shoes is equivalent to 30K new shoes.

Got Salvatore Ferragamo boots from my Donholm mtumba shoe supplier at 14k and never bothered to bargain as that price was unbelievable.I even tipped him 200 bob!!!!!!!!!
mwanafunzi
#77 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 10:10:55 AM

Bata is Bure Kabisa, infact I wonder whats the role of Kenya bureau of standards. This is daytime robbery, kama Kanyari. The Hush puppies I bought two months ago are a piteous sight.
Takeshi
#78 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 10:45:41 AM

mwanafunzi wrote:
Bata is Bure Kabisa, infact I wonder whats the role of Kenya bureau of standards. This is daytime robbery, kama Kanyari. The Hush puppies I bought two months ago are a piteous sight.

Same experience a few years ago, bought hush puppies "boots" from bata, they were all apart in one week, returned given a new pair same situation. Have never gone back to bata.
currently on clarks, bought last month, only time will tell.
#79 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 11:11:34 AM

Takeshi wrote:
mwanafunzi wrote:

Same experience a few years ago, bought hush puppies "boots" from bata, they were all apart in one week, returned given a new pair same situation. Have never gone back to bata.

Have also bought he puppies. Look like boats after few months. Wont be going back there
mjuaji wa stocks
#80 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 11:56:29 AM

Robinhood wrote:
Takeshi wrote:
mwanafunzi wrote:

Have also bought he puppies. Look like boats after few months. Wont be going back there

You guys still buy shoes from Bata??

This bata brand died long time when they started importing technology and shoes from china.

I had a bad experience with them 2 years ago and never went back again - bought some shoes k=for 3500/= whose sole cut into 2 in a week -

I settled for Ethiopia mitumbas from a guy in town and no complains so far

God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!