Culture
Mathematics corner
Nabwire wrote:You have to work the brackets first, you are interpreting the BODMAS wrongly, you went wrong thinking that brackets implies only values inside the bracket like if the question was 16/2(4*3), what would your answer be? Haaaiya!!!! What other values does it imply??? The ones outside the brackets??? Explain this to me. Slowly please.... Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
You have to take context when doing 4(4), but with 4*4, you just take it as it is. If the question was 16/4*4, then you would have been right to say the answer is 16. But the answer is 1 in the case of 16/4(4)
OK I'm getting bored now, but just going by your BODMAS description, if you say there is nothing inside the bracket and proceed, you still have 16/4(4), so you still have the brackets correct? Meaning you have not followed the BODMAS rule, you cant just say there's nothing inside the bracket and proceed, you still have to cater to the brackets rule, but in your case you changed the brackets to multiplication rule. Thats why I said 4(4) is not exactly the same as 4*4.
Rank: User Joined: 9/6/2013 Posts: 1,446 Location: In a house
MaichBlack wrote:Nabwire wrote:MaichBlack wrote:urstill1 wrote:Kweli watu walikuwa maembe hesabu. BODMAS. The bracket is multiplication i.e 4(4) = 4*4 = 16.
Now you are done with B, we don't have O (of), but we have D (division), therefore (tulikua tunaweka dots taut zinakaa kama triangle) ; 16/16 = 1. We don't have the rest, hence the answer is 1. You are right and wrong. 4(4) is the same as 4 * 4. That's right! So now we have 16 ÷ 4 * 4. What comes first? Division or Multiplication? That is where you went wrong. Division comes first. Divide 16 by 4 then multiply the answer by 4. So now we have: - 4 * 4 = 16 4(4) is not really the same as 4*4, thats where you are going wrong. What is it??? Humour me. One step can not supersede the other. I gave a simple explanation. Do you know why I never wrote it this way? 16 ÷ 4(4) = 16 ÷ 4 * 4. Because it is wrong mathematically. I worked out the bracket before everything then combined the bracket results to the other part of the problem.
urstill1 wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Nabwire wrote:MaichBlack wrote:urstill1 wrote:Kweli watu walikuwa maembe hesabu. BODMAS. The bracket is multiplication i.e 4(4) = 4*4 = 16.
Now you are done with B, we don't have O (of), but we have D (division), therefore (tulikua tunaweka dots taut zinakaa kama triangle) ; 16/16 = 1. We don't have the rest, hence the answer is 1. You are right and wrong. 4(4) is the same as 4 * 4. That's right! So now we have 16 ÷ 4 * 4. What comes first? Division or Multiplication? That is where you went wrong. Division comes first. Divide 16 by 4 then multiply the answer by 4. So now we have: - 4 * 4 = 16 4(4) is not really the same as 4*4, thats where you are going wrong. What is it??? Humour me. One step can not supersede the other. I gave a simple explanation. Do you know why I never wrote it this way? 16 ÷ 4(4) = 16 ÷ 4 * 4. Because it is wrong mathematically. I worked out the bracket before everything then combined the bracket results to the other part of the problem. On point!! Class dismissed.
Nabwire wrote:OK I'm getting bored now, but just going by your BODMAS description, if you say there is nothing inside the bracket and proceed, you still have 16/4(4), so you still have the brackets correct? Meaning you have not followed the BODMAS rule, you cant just say there's nothing inside the bracket and proceed, you still have to cater to the brackets rule, but in your case you changed the brackets to multiplication rule. Thats why I said 4(4) is not exactly the same as 4*4. They are not exactly the same but they end up with same results. It is a unidirectional implication, if I'm allowed to use such a term. I do not want to go beyond basic math.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
@ maich jameni,umezeeka. Ans= 1.
Some were taught that the O in Bodmas stood for 'OFF' So brackets had to go off first before working out the rest.
the latest is called BATMAS..
kysse wrote:@ maich jameni,umezeeka. Ans= 1.
Some were taught that the O in Bodmas stood for 'OFF' So brackets had to go off first before working out the rest.
Kindly see post #88 above! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
kysse wrote:@ maich jameni,umezeeka. Ans= 1.
GFF!!! Have you seen post #74??? Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Nabwire wrote:urstill1 wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Nabwire wrote:MaichBlack wrote:urstill1 wrote:Kweli watu walikuwa maembe hesabu. BODMAS. The bracket is multiplication i.e 4(4) = 4*4 = 16.
Now you are done with B, we don't have O (of), but we have D (division), therefore (tulikua tunaweka dots taut zinakaa kama triangle) ; 16/16 = 1. We don't have the rest, hence the answer is 1. You are right and wrong. 4(4) is the same as 4 * 4. That's right! So now we have 16 ÷ 4 * 4. What comes first? Division or Multiplication? That is where you went wrong. Division comes first. Divide 16 by 4 then multiply the answer by 4. So now we have: - 4 * 4 = 16 4(4) is not really the same as 4*4, thats where you are going wrong. What is it??? Humour me. One step can not supersede the other. I gave a simple explanation. Do you know why I never wrote it this way? 16 ÷ 4(4) = 16 ÷ 4 * 4. Because it is wrong mathematically. I worked out the bracket before everything then combined the bracket results to the other part of the problem. On point!! Class dismissed. Not so fast!!! See post #88. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Quote:in that case, my answer is 350 potatoes
Urstill's Maths LabYour knowledge of maths is impressive,admirable,brilliant chap. So here we go.Need your help in solving some mathematical probs.. Quest. 1Find the value of k if y-1 is a factor of y^3+4y^2+ky-6 Quest.2Find the set of values of k for which ABSVAL[(x - 4)(x + 2)] = k has four solutions. Note: ABSVAL means absolute value. Quest 3The ratio of the ages of two brothers urstill and still is 3:4. In six years time the ratio of their ages will b 5:6 .How old are they now? Quest 4If a pig can give birth to 1,2,3,4,5,6 piglets. What is prob of 2 pigs giving birt to 4,9 and 15 piglets if 2 pigs give birth at the same time? Ok my dear LCM,take your time, I am waiting.
kysse wrote:Your knowledge of maths is impressive,admirable,brilliant chap. So here we go.Need your help in solving some mathematical probs.. Quest. 1Find the value of k if y-1 is a factor of y^3+4y^2+ky-6 Quest.2Find the set of values of k for which ABSVAL[(x - 4)(x + 2)] = k has four solutions. Note: ABSVAL means absolute value. Quest 3The ratio of the ages of two brothers urstill and still is 3:4. In six years time the ratio of their ages will b 5:6 .How old are they now? Quest 4If a pig can give birth to 1,2,3,4,5,6 piglets. What is prob of 2 pigs giving birt to 4,9 and 15 piglets if 2 pigs give birth at the same time? ok dear waiting. urstill1 wrote:
Our math blonde!! Yaani wazua math blonde = kysse. I love you kysse. Helmet.
Asi!! Popcorn..... Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
Hey butter #in Kanyari's tone# dada yangu..chukuwa glesi ya maji uweke chumvi saa hizi na hiyo popcorn itageuka kuwa samaki. Next, answer this simple one with multiple kuonekaniwa blessings. quest.After thunder and Potassium permanganate annointed prayers by one Prophet Dr.Kaguza Kanyonyo Kanyari, 1/4 of Butter's popcorns turned into fish and fed 100 wazuans. Each wazuan received half a fish. -How many popcorn seeds were there all together? -How many seeds remained unchanged 2 marks.
kysse wrote:washiku wrote: Tuna tu... is he Kenyan? Qualification? In fact we can refer him to Pastor Kanyonyo's church. Kuna vacancy huko. uuhm maybe yes maybe no,but he specialized in melting iron-a blacksmith.. of some sort. ok I will send his cv- the reception area would suit him. Anybody watched that Jicho Pevu's Makri ya Injili? You saw that topless woman @kanyonyo was preying for? Ni hayo tu. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
kysse wrote:Hey butter #in Kanyari's tone# dada yangu..chukuwa glesi ya maji uweke chumvi saa hizi na hiyo popcorn itageuka kuwa samaki. Next, answer this simple one with multiple kuonekaniwa blessings. quest.After thunder and Potassium permanganate annointed prayers by one Prophet Dr.Kaguza Kanyonyo Kanyari, 1/4 of Butter's popcorns turned into fish and fed 100 wazuans. Each wazuan received half a fish. -How many popcorn seeds were there all together? -How many seeds remained unchanged 2 marks.
Pole if I touched a raw nerve. I love you anyway. Hopefully I'll meet you one of these fine days.
NB: The answer to the other question is 16.
Muheani wrote: kysse wrote:Hey butter #in Kanyari's tone# dada yangu..chukuwa glesi ya maji uweke chumvi saa hizi na hiyo popcorn itageuka kuwa samaki. Next, answer this simple one with multiple kuonekaniwa blessings. quest.After thunder and Potassium permanganate annointed prayers by one Prophet Dr.Kaguza Kanyonyo Kanyari, 1/4 of Butter's popcorns turned into fish and fed 100 wazuans. Each wazuan received half a fish. -How many popcorn seeds were there all together? -How many seeds remained unchanged 2 marks. in the words of Ahmednasir, #whataareyousmoking? Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
Culture
Mathematics corner