wazua Tue, Feb 11, 2025

11 Pages«<23456>»
Mathematics corner
XSK
#61 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 11:54:58 AM

Let Cat be x kg, dog y kg and rabbit z kg.

i) x + z = 10kg
ii) y + z = 20kg
iii) x + y = 24kg

(ii) - (i ) -> y - x = 10 (equation iv)

(iv) + (iii) -> 2y = 34 -> y = 17kg

Replace y in equation (ii) with 17

17 + z = 20 -> z = 3kg.

Replace z with 3 in equation (i)

x + 3 = 10 -> x = 7kg

Cat weighs 7kgs; Dog Weighs 17kgs; Rabbit weighs 3kgs.

Total (picture 4) = 27kgs

Its just easier to add your three equations together

x+y =10
x + z=20
y+z=24

By adding the three equations the left hand side will be 2x+2y+2z
while the Right hand side will be = 10+20+24
divide each side by 2 then you are left with

x+y+z = 27

You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
Ngong
#62 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 4:00:59 PM

XSK wrote:

Let Cat be x kg, dog y kg and rabbit z kg.

i) x + z = 10kg
ii) y + z = 20kg
iii) x + y = 24kg

(ii) - (i ) -> y - x = 10 (equation iv)

(iv) + (iii) -> 2y = 34 -> y = 17kg

Replace y in equation (ii) with 17

17 + z = 20 -> z = 3kg.

Replace z with 3 in equation (i)

x + 3 = 10 -> x = 7kg

Cat weighs 7kgs; Dog Weighs 17kgs; Rabbit weighs 3kgs.

Total (picture 4) = 27kgs

Its just easier to add your three equations together

x+y =10
x + z=20
y+z=24

By adding the three equations the left hand side will be 2x+2y+2z
while the Right hand side will be = 10+20+24
divide each side by 2 then you are left with

x+y+z = 27

But to show one is not a novice you go further to show individual weights
#63 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 4:03:38 PM

BODMAS!

Mumelenga hii smile smile smile
#64 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 7:43:59 PM

BODMAS!

A) 16.

Divide first then multiply. Finished!
#65 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 8:22:19 PM

Artist and toilet cleaners like @washiku, @harrydre and @thimion cannot attempt this, their head is complex enough to handle this.

Boris Boyka wrote:
Good expose tonight by Allan Namu and Moha on Jicho Pevu regarding that fake a$$ Pastor Kanyiri complete with shocking video.

English re-run should be on during or after the 9PM KTN news.

Not sure what is worse, the number of predators or the number of suckers??

Jesus turned water into wine, Kanyari turned
potassium pamangamate into blood..

Laughing out loudly peeps who skipped chem classes literally paying dearly.

Kina @washiku, @harrydre and @simon kabuga.

What's the obsession with men kijana? Get a woman to keep you busy, it's a pity.

Men who cant solve a simple sum, its a pity you call yourselves men!
Kwenda huko, bure kabisa, useless.
Pray Pray Pray Pray

#66 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 8:29:50 PM

Artist and toilet cleaners like @washiku, @harrydre and @thimion cannot attempt this, their head is complex enough to handle this.

Boris Boyka wrote:
Good expose tonight by Allan Namu and Moha on Jicho Pevu regarding that fake a$$ Pastor Kanyiri complete with shocking video.

English re-run should be on during or after the 9PM KTN news.

Not sure what is worse, the number of predators or the number of suckers??

Jesus turned water into wine, Kanyari turned
potassium pamangamate into blood..

Laughing out loudly peeps who skipped chem classes literally paying dearly.

Kina @washiku, @harrydre and @simon kabuga.

What's the obsession with men kijana? Get a woman to keep you busy, it's a pity.

Men who cant solve a simple sum, its a pity you call yourselves men!
Kwenda huko, bure kabisa, useless.
Pray Pray Pray Pray

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly you barely know some of us to make some conclusions here. I don't need to solve anything for a welder. Maybe I can refer you to my former Math & Physics teacher and he can tell you all about me.
#67 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 8:37:05 PM

BODMAS!

A) 16.

WRONG!!!!!!!!

Bracket comes before Division!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#68 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 9:02:29 PM

Dear Washiku,

I have a friend... who's in search of a job.
Though slightly unstable due to his past usage of raw weed from such an early age,I strongly believe that he can succeed in a stable and secure environment if given the chance.
I know that you hold a strong position of influence, so kindly advice if should forwad his half page cv for your perusal and evaluation.

Thanks in advance.

B.R

Kessy.

#69 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 9:23:03 PM

Dear Washiku,

I have a friend... who's in search of a job.
Though slightly unstable due to his past usage of raw weed from such an early age,I strongly believe that he can succeed in a stable and secure environment if given the chance.
I know that you hold a strong position of influence, so kindly advice if should forwad his half page cv for your perusal and evaluation.

Thanks in advance.

B.R

Kessy.

smile smile Tuna tu... is he Kenyan? Qualification? In fact we can refer him to Pastor Kanyonyo's church. Kuna vacancy huko.
#70 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 9:31:13 PM

BODMAS!

A) 16.

WRONG!!!!!!!!

He he he!!! Kwisha!!! Wacha kuni-confuse.

You work out what is inside the brackets first - but there is nothing to be worked out because it is already 4. Then you work out what is outside which is basically 16 ÷ 4 * 4.

Ama 4(4) ya primary School ina interpretiwa aje siku hizi? I might be getting old!!!
Nabwire
#71 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 9:38:51 PM

BODMAS!

A) 16.

WRONG!!!!!!!!

You work out what is inside the brackets first - but there is nothing to be worked out because it is already 4. Then you work out what is outside which is basically 16 ÷ 4 * 4.

Ama 4(4) ya primary School ina interpretiwa aje siku hizi? I might be getting old!!!

You were right only to this point. After Brackets is of, which is the 4(4), you have to work that first, so the answer is 1. smile
Ngong
#72 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 9:51:30 PM

Haiya! and 4(4) is a division and not multiplication, kweli am obsolute!
urstill1
#73 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 9:58:16 PM

Kweli watu walikuwa maembe hesabu. BODMAS. The bracket is multiplication i.e 4(4) = 4*4 = 16.

Now you are done with B, we don't have O (of), but we have D (division), therefore (tulikua tunaweka dots taut zinakaa kama triangle) ; 16/16 = 1. We don't have the rest, hence the answer is 1.
#74 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 10:00:31 PM

Nabwire wrote:

BODMAS!

A) 16.

WRONG!!!!!!!!

You were right only to this point. After Brackets is of, which is the 4(4), you have to work that first, so the answer is 1. smile

Hapa ndio walimu wa hesabu walipoteza kila mtu!!! The O in BODMAS actually represents Orders. Examples of Orders are powers, square roots etc. none of which exist in the equation above. Actually, to avoid such confusion, in Canada they refer to it as BEDMAS with E standing for Exponents.

Kenyan teachers [using teacher's guide] forgot one word [power] and messed millions of Kenyan kids [now adults!!!]. See below:-

#75 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 10:02:05 PM

Wazua Ngumbaru School. BODMAS revisited!
#76 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 10:08:14 PM

urstill1 wrote:
Kweli watu walikuwa maembe hesabu. BODMAS. The bracket is multiplication i.e 4(4) = 4*4 = 16.

Now you are done with B, we don't have O (of), but we have D (division), therefore (tulikua tunaweka dots taut zinakaa kama triangle) ; 16/16 = 1. We don't have the rest, hence the answer is 1.

You are right and wrong.

4(4) is the same as 4 * 4. That's right!

So now we have 16 ÷ 4 * 4.

What comes first? Division or Multiplication? That is where you went wrong. Division comes first. Divide 16 by 4 then multiply the answer by 4. So now we have: -

4 * 4 = 16
Nabwire
#77 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 10:08:21 PM

You have to work the brackets first, you are interpreting the BODMAS wrongly, you went wrong thinking that brackets implies only values inside the bracket like if the question was 16/2(4*3), what would your answer be?
Nabwire
#78 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 10:10:08 PM

urstill1 wrote:

You are right and wrong.

What comes first? Division or Multiplication? That is where you went wrong. Division comes first. Divide 16 by 4 then multiply the answer by 4. So now we have: -

4 * 4 = 16

4(4) is not really the same as 4*4, thats where you are going wrong.
#79 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 10:11:46 PM

smile smile Tuna tu... is he Kenyan? Qualification? In fact we can refer him to Pastor Kanyonyo's church. Kuna vacancy huko.

uuhm maybe yes maybe no,but he specialized in melting iron-a blacksmith.. of some sort.
ok I will send his cv- the reception area would suit him.
#80 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 10:27:23 PM

Nabwire wrote:
urstill1 wrote:

You are right and wrong.

4 * 4 = 16

4(4) is not really the same as 4*4, thats where you are going wrong.

What is it??? Humour me.