Culture
Mathematics corner
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
MaichBlack wrote:Let Cat be x kg, dog y kg and rabbit z kg. i) x + z = 10kg ii) y + z = 20kg iii) x + y = 24kg (ii) - (i ) -> y - x = 10 (equation iv) (iv) + (iii) -> 2y = 34 -> y = 17kg Replace y in equation (ii) with 17 17 + z = 20 -> z = 3kg. Replace z with 3 in equation (i) x + 3 = 10 -> x = 7kg Cat weighs 7kgs; Dog Weighs 17kgs; Rabbit weighs 3kgs. Total (picture 4) = 27kgs Its just easier to add your three equations together x+y =10 x + z=20 y+z=24 By adding the three equations the left hand side will be 2x+2y+2z while the Right hand side will be = 10+20+24 divide each side by 2 then you are left with x+y+z = 27 You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2012 Posts: 1,461 Location: Ngong Forest
XSK wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Let Cat be x kg, dog y kg and rabbit z kg. i) x + z = 10kg ii) y + z = 20kg iii) x + y = 24kg (ii) - (i ) -> y - x = 10 (equation iv) (iv) + (iii) -> 2y = 34 -> y = 17kg Replace y in equation (ii) with 17 17 + z = 20 -> z = 3kg. Replace z with 3 in equation (i) x + 3 = 10 -> x = 7kg Cat weighs 7kgs; Dog Weighs 17kgs; Rabbit weighs 3kgs. Total (picture 4) = 27kgs Its just easier to add your three equations together x+y =10 x + z=20 y+z=24 By adding the three equations the left hand side will be 2x+2y+2z while the Right hand side will be = 10+20+24 divide each side by 2 then you are left with x+y+z = 27 But to show one is not a novice you go further to show individual weights
Impunity wrote:BODMAS! Mumelenga hii In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
A) 16. Divide first then multiply. Finished! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
harrydre wrote:Impunity wrote:ecstacy wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:ecstacy wrote:Good expose tonight by Allan Namu and Moha on Jicho Pevu regarding that fake a$$ Pastor Kanyiri complete with shocking video.
English re-run should be on during or after the 9PM KTN news.
Not sure what is worse, the number of predators or the number of suckers?? Jesus turned water into wine, Kanyari turned potassium pamangamate into blood.. ![Laughing out loudly](/Images/Emoticons/msp_lol.gif) peeps who skipped chem classes literally paying dearly. Kina @washiku, @harrydre and @simon kabuga. What's the obsession with men kijana? Get a woman to keep you busy, it's a pity. Men who cant solve a simple sum, its a pity you call yourselves men! Kwenda huko, bure kabisa, useless. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:harrydre wrote:Impunity wrote:ecstacy wrote:Boris Boyka wrote:ecstacy wrote:Good expose tonight by Allan Namu and Moha on Jicho Pevu regarding that fake a$$ Pastor Kanyiri complete with shocking video.
English re-run should be on during or after the 9PM KTN news.
Not sure what is worse, the number of predators or the number of suckers?? Jesus turned water into wine, Kanyari turned potassium pamangamate into blood.. ![Laughing out loudly](/Images/Emoticons/msp_lol.gif) peeps who skipped chem classes literally paying dearly. Kina @washiku, @harrydre and @simon kabuga. What's the obsession with men kijana? Get a woman to keep you busy, it's a pity. Men who cant solve a simple sum, its a pity you call yourselves men! Kwenda huko, bure kabisa, useless. ![Laughing out loudly](/Images/Emoticons/msp_lol.gif) you barely know some of us to make some conclusions here. I don't need to solve anything for a welder. Maybe I can refer you to my former Math & Physics teacher and he can tell you all about me. i.am.back!!!!
MaichBlack wrote:A) 16. Divide first then multiply. Finished! WRONG!!!!!!!!Bracket comes before Division! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
Dear Washiku,
I have a friend... who's in search of a job. Though slightly unstable due to his past usage of raw weed from such an early age,I strongly believe that he can succeed in a stable and secure environment if given the chance. I know that you hold a strong position of influence, so kindly advice if should forwad his half page cv for your perusal and evaluation.
Thanks in advance.
B.R
Kessy.
kysse wrote:Dear Washiku,
I have a friend... who's in search of a job. Though slightly unstable due to his past usage of raw weed from such an early age,I strongly believe that he can succeed in a stable and secure environment if given the chance. I know that you hold a strong position of influence, so kindly advice if should forwad his half page cv for your perusal and evaluation.
Thanks in advance.
B.R
Kessy.
![smile](/Images/Emoticons/msp_smile.gif) Tuna tu... is he Kenyan? Qualification? In fact we can refer him to Pastor Kanyonyo's church. Kuna vacancy huko.
Impunity wrote:MaichBlack wrote:A) 16. Divide first then multiply. Finished! WRONG!!!!!!!!Bracket comes before Division! He he he!!! Kwisha!!! Wacha kuni-confuse. You work out what is inside the brackets first - but there is nothing to be worked out because it is already 4. Then you work out what is outside which is basically 16 ÷ 4 * 4. Ama 4(4) ya primary School ina interpretiwa aje siku hizi? I might be getting old!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:Impunity wrote:MaichBlack wrote:A) 16. Divide first then multiply. Finished! WRONG!!!!!!!!Bracket comes before Division! He he he!!! Kwisha!!! Wacha kuni-confuse. You work out what is inside the brackets first - but there is nothing to be worked out because it is already 4. Then you work out what is outside which is basically 16 ÷ 4 * 4. Ama 4(4) ya primary School ina interpretiwa aje siku hizi? I might be getting old!!! You were right only to this point. After Brackets is of, which is the 4(4), you have to work that first, so the answer is 1.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2012 Posts: 1,461 Location: Ngong Forest
Haiya! and 4(4) is a division and not multiplication, kweli am obsolute!
Rank: User Joined: 9/6/2013 Posts: 1,446 Location: In a house
Kweli watu walikuwa maembe hesabu. BODMAS. The bracket is multiplication i.e 4(4) = 4*4 = 16.
Now you are done with B, we don't have O (of), but we have D (division), therefore (tulikua tunaweka dots taut zinakaa kama triangle) ; 16/16 = 1. We don't have the rest, hence the answer is 1.
Nabwire wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Impunity wrote:MaichBlack wrote:A) 16. Divide first then multiply. Finished! WRONG!!!!!!!!Bracket comes before Division! He he he!!! Kwisha!!! Wacha kuni-confuse. You work out what is inside the brackets first - but there is nothing to be worked out because it is already 4. Then you work out what is outside which is basically 16 ÷ 4 * 4. Ama 4(4) ya primary School ina interpretiwa aje siku hizi? I might be getting old!!! You were right only to this point. After Brackets is of, which is the 4(4), you have to work that first, so the answer is 1. Hapa ndio walimu wa hesabu walipoteza kila mtu!!! The O in BODMAS actually represents Orders. Examples of Orders are powers, square roots etc. none of which exist in the equation above. Actually, to avoid such confusion, in Canada they refer to it as B EDMAS with E standing for Exponents. ![](http://cat.wordpandit.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/bodmas.png) Kenyan teachers [using teacher's guide] forgot one word [power] and messed millions of Kenyan kids [now adults!!!]. See below:- ![](http://www.sandonbec.com/Numeracy/Images/orderofoperations/bodmas.JPG) Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Wazua Ngumbaru School. BODMAS revisited!Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
urstill1 wrote:Kweli watu walikuwa maembe hesabu. BODMAS. The bracket is multiplication i.e 4(4) = 4*4 = 16.
Now you are done with B, we don't have O (of), but we have D (division), therefore (tulikua tunaweka dots taut zinakaa kama triangle) ; 16/16 = 1. We don't have the rest, hence the answer is 1. You are right and wrong. 4(4) is the same as 4 * 4. That's right! So now we have 16 ÷ 4 * 4. What comes first? Division or Multiplication? That is where you went wrong. Division comes first. Divide 16 by 4 then multiply the answer by 4. So now we have: - 4 * 4 = 16 Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
You have to work the brackets first, you are interpreting the BODMAS wrongly, you went wrong thinking that brackets implies only values inside the bracket like if the question was 16/2(4*3), what would your answer be?
MaichBlack wrote:urstill1 wrote:Kweli watu walikuwa maembe hesabu. BODMAS. The bracket is multiplication i.e 4(4) = 4*4 = 16.
Now you are done with B, we don't have O (of), but we have D (division), therefore (tulikua tunaweka dots taut zinakaa kama triangle) ; 16/16 = 1. We don't have the rest, hence the answer is 1. You are right and wrong. 4(4) is the same as 4 * 4. That's right! So now we have 16 ÷ 4 * 4. What comes first? Division or Multiplication? That is where you went wrong. Division comes first. Divide 16 by 4 then multiply the answer by 4. So now we have: - 4 * 4 = 16 4(4) is not really the same as 4*4, thats where you are going wrong.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
washiku wrote: ![smile](/Images/Emoticons/msp_smile.gif) Tuna tu... is he Kenyan? Qualification? In fact we can refer him to Pastor Kanyonyo's church. Kuna vacancy huko. uuhm maybe yes maybe no,but he specialized in melting iron-a blacksmith.. of some sort. ok I will send his cv- the reception area would suit him.
Nabwire wrote:MaichBlack wrote:urstill1 wrote:Kweli watu walikuwa maembe hesabu. BODMAS. The bracket is multiplication i.e 4(4) = 4*4 = 16.
Now you are done with B, we don't have O (of), but we have D (division), therefore (tulikua tunaweka dots taut zinakaa kama triangle) ; 16/16 = 1. We don't have the rest, hence the answer is 1. You are right and wrong. 4(4) is the same as 4 * 4. That's right! So now we have 16 ÷ 4 * 4. What comes first? Division or Multiplication? That is where you went wrong. Division comes first. Divide 16 by 4 then multiply the answer by 4. So now we have: - 4 * 4 = 16 4(4) is not really the same as 4*4, thats where you are going wrong. What is it??? Humour me. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Culture
Mathematics corner