wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

37 Pages«<1314151617>»
Crazy Nairobi traffic!!
#281 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 1:53:14 PM

Last night was a nightmare...hours to get to Westlands.

Got up this morning, and found Chiromo Rd full jammed...

When will this end?

i think the starting point would be to move all govt functions to another city.
sanity
#282 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 2:18:09 PM

Instead of spending all those billions trying to congest an already congested CBD,why not create another CBD somewhere else? Because,frankly,you expand Ngong rd,juja rd etc..then bring more people into the CBD -which you cant expand because it has reached its limits.Afew days later traffic starts building up already and we are back to square 1...What kind of planners do we have??nktiest!!
Hope is not a strategy
#283 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 2:31:46 PM

It'd be easier if private cars were banned from the cbd. I have never understood why people living around the city have to move into the cbd with their private vehicles - I mean, eastlands, places like nairobi west, langata, westlands ...
those are areas that are well served by matatus for the better part of day and night.

This will never work unless public transport is taken over by the government.

I rarely see traffic jams in Nairobi on sundays, its the private cars that cause the jams, as of matatus - most areas around nairobi are well served, its just that watu wa pesa hawataki ku mix with the poor.

imagine, if there were no private cars in the cbd and the matatus were allowed to ferry people around, moving from one end to the other would be easier for the hundred of thousands who throng the cbd searching for their daily ugali and ma-sukuma . smile
#284 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 2:53:28 PM

It'd be easier if private cars were banned from the cbd. I have never understood why people living around the city have to move into the cbd with their private vehicles - I mean, eastlands, places like nairobi west, langata, westlands ...
those are areas that are well served by matatus for the better part of day and night.

This will never work unless public transport is taken over by the government.

I rarely see traffic jams in Nairobi on sundays, its the private cars that cause the jams, as of matatus - most areas around nairobi are well served, its just that watu wa pesa hawataki ku mix with the poor.

imagine, if there were no private cars in the cbd and the matatus were allowed to ferry people around, moving from one end to the other would be easier for the hundred of thousands who throng the cbd searching for their daily ugali and ma-sukuma . smile

True,Apart from outering road which is worseon saturdays and sundays which I believe is due to the fact that the married men from the westside usually jam eastlands on saturdays to visit and pick their mipango wa kandos and return on sundays to drop them
Mwendia
#285 Posted : Thursday, October 30, 2014 1:18:46 PM

#286 Posted : Thursday, October 30, 2014 1:55:51 PM

Last night was a nightmare...hours to get to Westlands.

Got up this morning, and found Chiromo Rd full jammed...

When will this end?

i think the starting point would be to move all govt functions to another city.

Kiserian,Kitengela,Ngong,Thika..na huko kwingine.
#287 Posted : Thursday, October 30, 2014 6:38:50 PM

Mwendia wrote:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6DO2ydBzCkk

hehehe, at around 3:53 -
"they might start stoning you";
"it's so biblical";
#288 Posted : Thursday, October 30, 2014 7:13:13 PM

funny video

@ 5.35..

"everyone is yelling at me calling me mzung', what does it mean"?

"White Man"

"ha ha ha, white man?"

if it was a black man, in white man land, angelia racism.

@21...

to make the mAtthree come to a stop, you must first accelerate a bit. The mzungu was lost smile

#289 Posted : Thursday, October 30, 2014 9:34:51 PM

24 hour economy can decongest the city, half the people work 8pm to 4am there will be no peak hours and no congestion. This can start in gov't offices.
FancyFace
#290 Posted : Friday, October 31, 2014 9:05:31 AM

Mwendia wrote:

nice one

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#291 Posted : Saturday, November 01, 2014 10:14:53 AM

FancyFace wrote:
Mwendia wrote:

nice one

Look for others in the series ujionee. Some are shocking, to say the least.
#292 Posted : Saturday, November 01, 2014 10:33:35 AM

funny video

@ 5.35..

"everyone is yelling at me calling me mzung', what does it mean"?

"White Man"

"ha ha ha, white man?"

if it was a black man, in white man land, angelia racism.

@21...

to make the mAtthree come to a stop, you must first accelerate a bit. The mzungu was lost smile

He he he... that was funny. You want to stop but you must accelerate a bit to stop. Lol
#293 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 8:38:31 AM

Naskia watu wamelala mombasa road
#294 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 8:39:40 AM

Reports of folks being stuck for last 11 to 16 hours. Surely...
#295 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 9:48:02 AM

Wapi huko?
#296 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 9:54:23 AM

Wapi huko?

Somewhere on Mombasa Road it seems.
#297 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 11:03:41 AM

Which part of MSA road?
Atalaku
#298 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 11:08:17 AM

Euge wrote:

Which part of MSA road?

From cabanas all the way to lukenya hill...two trucks collided pangalapangala...lucky enough I had passed that area with my sack of cassava flour from shags!!!
#299 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 11:08:48 AM

Euge wrote:

Which part of MSA road?

Hapo daystar,a lorry/trailer overturned and blocked the road.I hear the effects were felt hadi huko yukos
streetwise
#300 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 12:26:57 PM

The hotels around Yukos must have made good money overnight.