wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

5 Pages<1234>»
Despite the rally, notable laggards.
moneydust
#21 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 11:58:43 AM

@vitumob I fail to understand the optimism..according to the authorities the economic growth rate of 3rd qtr 2009 was 0%....contrary to expectations.

I heard from a credible source that eqty bank failed last yr to pay their employees their usual dec bonus....loans r no longer granted as easily as in the past...
I would rather wait for the economy to pick up than act on my anticipations...

Its a fact foreigners r behind the rise in shares..how strong is their interest?...Is it sustainable?..history shows without strong local participation in the bourse then the bull run is jst a mirage...

My Qsn remains where wil the mkt head once the companies start reportin declinin/stagnatin profits for the year ended and comin yr.
Case in point cmc after announcin results was headed south b4 it was lifted by the current excitement....

#22 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 1:02:18 PM

@moneydust:

Forget 2009... look ahead... so it matters very little if the 3Q growth was 0%, what matters is what we think the growth will be in 1Q, 2Q, 3Q, 4Q 2010

Well, if you wait until after the fact you may miss the ride. Even my favorite investor talks about robins & spring... You keep on referring to 2009... I (happily) said bye-bye to 2009 at 11.59.59pm on 31 Dec 2009.

2009 was tough for all banks. So no bonus in 2009... well, it is 2010... if the numbers are good the staff might get 2x the bonus!
#23 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 1:05:11 PM

Can I predict the future? No... otherwise I would be the richest or happiest or both man in the world... maybe...

As for price movements AFTER the results are out... I do not know... I prefer to think of results being at best a guide to the company's health...
Scubidu
#24 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 1:33:35 PM

@moneydust. Even I don't understand the optimism either, but I'm slowly reading the mood and trying to cover my bases by buying into those sectors expected to recover. Why is KQ rising but not TPS?

I think Eqty bank buyers know what's going to happen (info seems to get out somehow), but I'm impressed that they've survived this long while others such as Krep, co-op experience problems.

Foreign buyers can't be trusted to give clear signals but a rally such as the Mumias rally is driven by the locals (mostly, I think), which I believe can be sustained. I think we need to read the volumes on all those counters where foreign buy and react accordingly when these volumes drop.

Traditionally I believe market movements in the months of January and July have always mislead people and are often periods where there are peaks or significant rallies. I don't pay much attention to it but enjoy the ride til the market corrects itself in March.
“We are the middle children of history man, no purpose or place. We have no great war, no great depression. Our great war is a spiritual war, our great depression is our lives!" – Tyler Durden
#25 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 3:48:04 PM

with the GoK Donor Funds monitoring project contract, AccessKenya is headed places as a Software player...
Scubidu
#26 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 6:48:30 AM

Yesterday my broker friend let me use his graphing software to track the prices for following counters: NIC Bank, Mumias Sugar, Kenya Re, Kenya Airways, EABL, Barclays Bank and KCB.

If anyone is interested in technical analysis graphs I have put some of the graphs on scribd.com. click the link below to check out the graphs:

http://www.scribd.com/do...cators-19th-January-2010
“We are the middle children of history man, no purpose or place. We have no great war, no great depression. Our great war is a spiritual war, our great depression is our lives!" – Tyler Durden
#27 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 9:48:16 AM

Trading is a little quieter at the moment...
moneydust
#28 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 4:42:47 PM

@ scubidu
You mention KQ, I dont know what has so positevely changed for this co...u could b havin some insider info..please share

last time I checked oil prices were going higher..last time they made the wrong hedges and paid for it.R u sure they have got it right this time?

The rally has bn too strong for my liking ie in the abscence of fresh info.

Its good to b optimistic..I also want the economy to improve since its easier to make money in a booming economy than a tough one.However since I cant force my wishes into reality I swim with prevailin wave

On the other hand...
Over time I have learnt most money in the bourse is made during periods of uncetainty since there is volatility..the trick then is to know when to get in and also out..and so on.The NSE is therefore best placed to provide the best returns to the savvy investor

Happy hunting to all.
moneydust
#29 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 4:48:03 PM

@Vitumob

Points noted....
the deal
#30 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 7:34:58 PM

The rally will evaporate soon unless em foreigners show up with their big pockets n rescue scom even KQ is starting to diverge...price is rising while on balance volume is falling...
#31 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2010 7:38:54 PM

@Deal, wakoloni watarudi through shares
A New Kenya
Scubidu
#32 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 6:31:32 AM

@moneydust. I have no insider info on KQ rally but people seemed to have reacted b4 getting all info. Maybe it's the feel-good-factor kicking in or the fact that the share was ripe for a correction having being oversold.

They normally make a 3rd qtr announcement in January but I haven't heard anything. There are legitimate reasons for good GDP growth in 2010 with recoveries in key sectors such as transport & comm as well as tourism (that will support KQs earnings).

But another factors such as the impact inflation will have in deflating Kenya's nominal GDP growth in 2010. An interesting estimate by the World Bank is that the GDP Deflator is expected to drop to 7.5% in 2010 from 12.5% in 2009 and 13.1% in 2008, so real economic growth will def be higher this year.

It's all a game of numbers and if the economy looks to be growing, markets will rally, KQ included. As you mentioned it's important to know how to trade the volatile markets and I want to introduce a new post called 'Tech Corner' that can help us know when to get in and also out.
#33 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 6:45:34 AM

@Deal, wakoloni watarudi through shares

Well, then do not sell you shares...

@muchknow - That is a pathetic argument... In the 90s, when EABL (then KBL) wanted to raise cash, they did a Scrips Issue & Rights Issue...

Kenyans refused to buy... so Diageo stepped in... they recharged the company, fought off SAB/Castle and made awesome profits...

Some idiots then complained that Diageo was unfair to local shareholders... Diageo tried everything to encourage local shareholders to exercise their rights (short of giving loans) lakini sisi tulisema... HAPANA...!!!

People (KENYANS) started to write off Kenya Breweries in those Castle days!!!

I am proud to say I put my money where my mouth is... and I reaped some nice rewards!
novestor
#34 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 6:58:55 AM

Vvs that line was part of communist demagougry in tz and other countries to create fear of capitalism. I just feel throwing that line might awaken wanjiku into action.
Learn Something New Every Day!
#35 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 7:14:53 AM

Novestor i doubt. Foreignor are in control, you can see how they play the market. Kenyans need to invest more in this market
A New Kenya
#36 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 8:32:25 AM

Let 'foreigners' play the market... Kwani???

If the price is low... u buy... if high u sell...

Take Safaricom... Kenyans were selling it till it came to 2.50... When it was 6... you could have sold...

Kwani??? Those foreigners are holding a gun to your head as to when you can buy or sell???
kazikwisha
#37 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 8:50:43 AM

well put vituvingi,the local investor is really good at being caught of play,alafu they say the market is bad,ukiuza kuna mutu ananunua ask yourself what do they know that you don't?
hapa saa hii leo
mdosi
#38 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 9:57:41 AM

It looks like the market is cooling off because the rally has slowed down for most counters. I'm sticking to my guns coz i have gained substantial ground in recovering my paper losses. Just 3% to go. Meanwhile, Mr. Aly Khan Satchu has locked us out of his site where i was checking live trading. i can't blame his coz we slowed his site and paid clients need quality. Now now, how much does he charge, it's time i stopped kudoea kwingi.
It's amazing what you can achieve when you get rid of fear.
#39 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 10:12:39 AM

kazikwisha wrote:
ukiuza kuna mutu ananunua ask yourself what do they know that you don't?

That is what makes a market... As long as there is no scam/fraud going on...

I buy, you sell... there must be a reason...

I had Safaricom at 5/-...
I sold at 6/-...
Now I am waiting for 5/- again...

BUT... if the price rises beyond 6/-... should I blame the 'foreigner' who bought my shares???

The answer is NO... coz I sold of my own volition!
#40 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2010 11:38:50 AM

in the profit taking, piling unheralded Kenya-Re and HFCK...