37 Pages«<1213141516>»
Crazy Nairobi traffic!!
#261 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 4:39:22 PM

Looks like today is going to be one of those monumental days....it took me one hour plus from Westy to Town.

I made a mistake of leaving LA Rd to follow the bypass to Ngong Rd, James Gichuru then Waiyaki way.....6:40am to 9:30am....crazy!!!!

Yaani you have to go all that way in the name of avoiding traffic jam when the shortest route is hapo past Nyayo Stadium!?
Wacha ikae if people must live in Los Angeles aka LA aka Langata kwa Ondinga!

Some Truck had stalled on Mbagathi way and LA Rd was a parking lot!!!!
#262 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 5:08:46 PM

Looks like today is going to be one of those monumental days....it took me one hour plus from Westy to Town.

I made a mistake of leaving LA Rd to follow the bypass to Ngong Rd, James Gichuru then Waiyaki way.....6:40am to 9:30am....crazy!!!!

Yaani you have to go all that way in the name of avoiding traffic jam when the shortest route is hapo past Nyayo Stadium!?
Wacha ikae if people must live in Los Angeles aka LA aka Langata kwa Ondinga!

Some Truck had stalled on Mbagathi way and LA Rd was a parking lot!!!!

Okay, but its painful to live in Nairobi sometimes.Going all over the globe only to arrive at job still very late!

#263 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 8:32:37 AM

Last night was a nightmare...hours to get to Westlands.

Got up this morning, and found Chiromo Rd full jammed...

When will this end?
#264 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 8:35:37 AM

Karibu mashinani. Nairobi is overrated!
its2013
#265 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 9:15:04 AM

I empathize with the stories in this thread. I can't imagine spending 3 hours to then 3 or 2 hours from work daily and I live within the same City. That's shocking.
Pretty hurts
Toxicity
#266 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 9:19:06 AM

Lang'ata road is crazy nowadays! at least two hours wasted every morning!! What is this story about kidero with trains and buses sijui chui one and Simba two?
update president set president = speaker where president is null
#267 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 9:38:20 AM

radio wrote:
Karibu mashinani. Nairobi is overrated!

Truly overrated! I wish we could move to the countryside...
callaspade
#268 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 9:49:51 AM

When will this end?

....was watching kidero and Kamau last night talking about the expansion of city roads meant to start next month,jogoo road,outer ring and Ngong road 4 lanes each....smile and light railway will animal names for different tracks complete with design,to be completed in 2030... WTF ...#- over to UK,thats when the jams will end..where do this people come from?

...enjoyed my shot after that,only consolation
#269 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 10:16:04 AM

callaspade wrote:

When will this end?

....was watching kidero and Kamau last night talking about the expansion of city roads meant to start next month,jogoo road,outer ring and Ngong road 4 lanes each....smile and light railway will animal names for different tracks complete with design,to be completed in 2030... WTF ...#- over to UK,thats when the jams will end..where do this people come from?

I don't think this is the solution....the problem is pretty straight forward too many cars going into a town which is also very small....widening the roads will just make traffic move faster further outside town but when gettin into town there will be a pile up...Psv,s should never come anywhere near town...we should have another system to get Kenyans into the CBD...
#270 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 10:18:26 AM

callaspade wrote:

When will this end?

I don't think this is the solution....the problem is pretty straight forward too many cars going into a town which is also very small....widening the roads will just make traffic move faster further outside town but when gettin into town there will be a pile up...Personal vehicles should never come anywhere near town...we should have another system to get Kenyans into the CBD...

#271 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 10:47:00 AM

#272 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 11:00:37 AM

When will this end?

Utahama lini?smile
mkeiy
#273 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 11:22:15 AM

Solution to this mess is multifaceted;
Those who can move closer to their work place do so [i did].
Ban all the mushrooming learning institutions competing for space from town.
Use Mass Public Transport [don't give the crap of them being shit].
Use the train if you can.
Once the roads are expanded ,have special lanes for buses [any private car driven on those lanes to be shot on sight].
Change our economy/mindset to have different working/schooling hours.
Change our bus/mat routes [no route should end at the CBD.
Local authorities to enter PPPs for automated parking silos.
Decentralize gov't services [e.g land, immigration. Good to know Huduma Centers are addressing that] emergency services like firefighting etc etc.
City planners to come up with special zones/facilities for motor vehicle & their services, jua kali artisans, carpentry, hospitality, health,education, financials etc in all the city districts to try keeping people in their districts.

Etc etc.

Otherwise watu wakae kwa barabara.

And then , , , , , , , , ,

Take president Moi to Uhuru park for public questioning, he messed this country

#274 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 11:53:52 AM

It'd be easier if private cars were banned from the cbd. I have never understood why people living around the city have to move into the cbd with their private vehicles - I mean, eastlands, places like nairobi west, langata, westlands ...
those are areas that are well served by matatus for the better part of day and night.
#275 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 12:27:04 PM

It'd be easier if private cars were banned from the cbd. I have never understood why people living around the city have to move into the cbd with their private vehicles - I mean, eastlands, places like nairobi west, langata, westlands ...
those are areas that are well served by matatus for the better part of day and night.

This will never work unless public transport is taken over by the government.
Speculz
#276 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 12:32:53 PM

Correct , banning private vehicles will never work . We need real alternatives like innovative road designs , e.g I do not see why a vehicle that needs to go to mamlaka road from thika road has to use thika road to the very end .

Everyone can leave the cars at home, higher demand for psvs will lead to more psvs and higher fares.
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
#277 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 12:40:01 PM

Anything GOK runs will collapse and fail. We are doomed!
#278 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 12:46:33 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Solution to this mess is multifaceted;
Those who can move closer to their work place do so [i did].
Ban all the mushrooming learning institutions competing for space from town.
Use Mass Public Transport [don't give the crap of them being shit].
Use the train if you can.
Once the roads are expanded ,have special lanes for buses [any private car driven on those lanes to be shot on sight].
Change our economy/mindset to have different working/schooling hours.
Change our bus/mat routes [no route should end at the CBD.
Local authorities to enter PPPs for automated parking silos.
Decentralize gov't services [e.g land, immigration. Good to know Huduma Centers are addressing that] emergency services like firefighting etc etc.
City planners to come up with special zones/facilities for motor vehicle & their services, jua kali artisans, carpentry, hospitality, health,education, financials etc in all the city districts to try keeping people in their districts.

Etc etc.

Otherwise watu wakae kwa barabara.

And then , , , , , , , , ,

Take president Moi to Uhuru park for public questioning, he messed this country

Good input let's go see Kinder he might just take us up as consultants...that flexible working/learning hours should work...why should kids stay in school past 3...those who can should fika work at 6 and leave by 2 or 3...
callaspade
#279 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 1:06:44 PM

.....roads have been built in villages ,10k Kms ear marked for next 3 years.

Nairobi is still stuck with roads of 1963,surely someone should fast track this.
While accepting that even other countries have challenges with traffic,focus should be on the main cities of Nairobi ,Mombasa ,eldoret,Nakuru and kisumu ( for regional balance) which now have endless traffic jams.
It's priorities which are challenging.

Start with enforcing law and order on roads

Then
......fast track southern bypass( ole sereni to langata.
...build extra lane eastern by pass
...fast track Limuru road ,runda to Ngong road,rough road already there

..fast track out ring road

...fast track waiyaki way 4 lanes was we wait for new uhuru highway

..fast track Ngong road upto to Ngong town!!
...fast track jogoo road

......Fast track dual carriage way to rongai

...Fast track dual carriage way to Karen from galleria

...build good road from Karen to kiserian, joining to isinya .road half done

Then light rail way,buses, etc etc

There are countries which don't allow certain number plates on some days,others convert dual carriage ways in the evening,others still digging under ground tunnels for train even with developed infrastructure ...so basically the point is priority. ...Gok
Like insecurity,you need to start sorting it today to improve in 10 years time.
Sitting on the sakes systems of 10 years like a rocking chair does no good
callaspade
#280 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 1:23:44 PM

....you know we don't mind cycling but how? The richman syndrome of Gok thinks we enjoy driving....i am still waiting for Uk to cycle from state house ...has anyone seen all the new roads with a cycling lane? That's why we drive to city centre