Culture
Of poor and lazy Agikuyu's kitchen skills
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
Tumbukiza ... at a place near apple bees ..Guka karibu...
Swenani wrote:Which chapos are we talking about? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:Swenani wrote:Which chapos are we talking about? These looks more of nan and roti than chapati? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Impunity wrote:Swenani wrote:Which chapos are we talking about? These looks more of nan and roti than chapati? Shape wachia models, chapati ni chapati.... Whatever the shape we shall dance:
Swenani wrote:Impunity wrote:Swenani wrote:Which chapos are we talking about? These looks more of nan and roti than chapati? The bottom pic looks like tortillas.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 1,063 Location: Kenya
..but again kikuyus have no problem with their food. Have kikuyus ever wanted to make njahi a national delicacy? I enjoy my muthokoi. If you taste it and find its not your kind of 'foosy' leave it... nobody holds a gun on somebodys head to eat food from another community!
Atalaku wrote:..but again kikuyus have no problem with their food. Have kikuyus ever wanted to make njahi a national delicacy? I enjoy my muthokoi. If you taste it and find its not your kind of 'foosy' leave it... nobody holds a gun on somebodys head to eat food from another community! That is true...just that the way that guy captured it is so hilarious, at least for me. Kysse seems to hate it.
Very true. This one, hakuna sijui hii sijui ile. Cant rule out that some few have learnt to cook well - exceptionally well, but the majority, iko kwa hii description.
This is a true story. The worst kikuyu food i have ever eaten was from my cousin. Ingredients were:
carrots onions potatoes green bananas nduma meat spinach rice a whole river of water a hell lot of fire
ALL in one big sufuria! sort of boiled (claimed they were "fried"). Everything was overcooked and you had to fight with the content to move from the serving spoon to the plate. And for a hungry student to find the food yuck, it sure must have been terrible. Ati he did not want to make the utensils dirty by cooking different meals...
Wendz wrote:Very true. This one, hakuna sijui hii sijui ile. Cant rule out that some few have learnt to cook well - exceptionally well, but the majority, iko kwa hii description.
This is a true story. The worst kikuyu food i have ever eaten was from my cousin. Ingredients were:
carrots onions potatoes green bananas nduma meat spinach rice a whole river of water a hell lot of fire
ALL in one big sufuria! sort of boiled (claimed they were "fried"). Everything was overcooked and you had to fight with the content to move from the serving spoon to the plate. And for a hungry student to find the food yuck, it sure must have been terrible. Ati he did not want to make the utensils dirty by cooking different meals... At least its a he...
jaggernaut wrote:Githeri is also nice. Lots of protein (beans) and carbohydrates (maize). You only need to add some veges to make it balanced diet. You can even throw in some nyama. Escort!!!!!!!!!!!!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
@Swe, Mukimo=Githeri+(potatoes+weeds) Quote: Mukimo is tasteless...... It is simply mashed potatoes mixed with githeri and a food colour made from some weeds. Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
One of the meals i've hated taking is the ugali made from millet and is made so soft that it feels and tastes more like porridge than ugali. Have taken it in kericho, kisii and western.
washiku wrote:"Some of their other lazy inventions include tumbukiza: Simply you cut 2 kilograms of beef steak, deep it in salted water and let it boil, boil,boil, booooooooil. At some point bring a 2 kilogram cabbage or 20 leaves of uncut spinach and throw in. Serve while hot…" My local is owned by a kamba, inaitwa Kwa Muli. Tumbukiza with cabbages and viazi served every evening while peeps, mostly kambas, partake with their drinks. So it's not confined to Kyuks... Ama aje Atalaku? Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
jaggernaut wrote:One of the meals i've hated taking is the ugali made from millet and is made so soft that it feels and tastes more like porridge than ugali. Have taken it in kericho, kisii and western. Hata hapa Kimathi street at the famous fish joint; Ronalo, its there...You have to state the kind of Ugali you want, white or otherwise. But its very healthy, I hear
Rank: Veteran Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 1,063 Location: Kenya
Jus Blazin wrote:washiku wrote:"Some of their other lazy inventions include tumbukiza: Simply you cut 2 kilograms of beef steak, deep it in salted water and let it boil, boil,boil, booooooooil. At some point bring a 2 kilogram cabbage or 20 leaves of uncut spinach and throw in. Serve while hot…" My local is owned by a kamba, inaitwa Kwa Muli. Tumbukiza with cabbages and viazi served every evening while peeps, mostly kambas, partake with their drinks. So it's not confined to Kyuks... Ama aje Atalaku? Ahahahaha...cooking is an art. Can be learnt. Its none of my business how other communities cook. I eat kamba food... but hey bro ... how is the project getting along...ile ya mbuzi 8! Imeiva?
Angelica _ann wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Githeri is also nice. Lots of protein (beans) and carbohydrates (maize). You only need to add some veges to make it balanced diet. You can even throw in some nyama. Escort!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is wet enough, no escort needed! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
jaggernaut wrote:One of the meals i've hated taking is the ugali made from millet and is made so soft that it feels and tastes more like porridge than ugali. Have taken it in kericho, kisii and western. The real deal comes later in the day when you go shitting; itakupasua! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Atalaku wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:washiku wrote:"Some of their other lazy inventions include tumbukiza: Simply you cut 2 kilograms of beef steak, deep it in salted water and let it boil, boil,boil, booooooooil. At some point bring a 2 kilogram cabbage or 20 leaves of uncut spinach and throw in. Serve while hot…" My local is owned by a kamba, inaitwa Kwa Muli. Tumbukiza with cabbages and viazi served every evening while peeps, mostly kambas, partake with their drinks. So it's not confined to Kyuks... Ama aje Atalaku? Ahahahaha...cooking is an art. Can be learnt. Its none of my business how other communities cook. I eat kamba food... but hey bro ... how is the project getting along...ile ya mbuzi 8! Imeiva? On that I can say I don't have poor and lazy kitchen skills. :d/ :d/ Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Culture