wazua Wed, Dec 25, 2024

37 Pages«<2930313233>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
#601 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 5:26:07 PM

Del
#602 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 5:31:28 PM

Somehow, I want to see tough competition between Safaricom and Equitel. I do not want either of them to be beaten, I just want each to be kept on their toes so I can benefit from lower cost of calls, internet and mobile money. If either of them wins this battle, we will be back to square one. Not good in my view.

I therefore find myself supporting the underdog - Equitel in this case, but also hoping that Safaricom will defend its market ferociously by reducing charges, not by fielding 'good feel' ads.
tinker
#603 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 6:23:12 PM

Robinhood wrote:
Somehow, I want to see tough competition between Safaricom and Equitel. I do not want either of them to be beaten, I just want each to be kept on their toes so I can benefit from lower cost of calls, internet and mobile money. If either of them wins this battle, we will be back to square one. Not good in my view.

I therefore find myself supporting the underdog - Equitel in this case, but also hoping that Safaricom will defend its market ferociously by reducing charges, not by fielding 'good feel' ads.

Member is already offering 'Free goodies'. It will be a battle of titans.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
Pesa Nane
#604 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 7:38:44 PM

selah wrote:
kollabo wrote:
They are giving out registration forms without the terms and conditions NKT!

The terms and condition (which I doubt anyone reads)is available separately ...The words in there will give you a head ache....anyway...the terms and conditions are available...just ask the guy giving you the Form.

Watu lazima watafute makosa! One wonders, which is easier? To ask the fellow who just gave you the form or to post on wazua complaining?

Why I'm Still Paying 110/= Plus at the Pump Tuesday, October 21, 2014 6:38:06 AM

Crude prices dropped to sub $100/= and now they are at $80/=. Why the hell I'm I still paying Kshs. 110/= plus at the pump for a litre of petrol???

For how long are we supposed to pay for inefficiencies, corruption etc. And why exactly are Kenyans so silent when they are being shafted left right and center?

The cost of energy impacts on EVERYTHING and it is amazing Kenyans don't feel the need to have a discussion on the same and demand for answers!

Don't just sit there. Make some noise. Wherever, however. It might seem inconsequential but remember the butterfly effect from chaos theory
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#605 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 7:43:43 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
selah wrote:
kollabo wrote:
They are giving out registration forms without the terms and conditions NKT!

The terms and condition (which I doubt anyone reads)is available separately ...The words in there will give you a head ache....anyway...the terms and conditions are available...just ask the guy giving you the Form.

Watu lazima watafute makosa! One wonders, which is easier? To ask the fellow who just gave you the form or to post on wazua complaining?

Why I'm Still Paying 110/= Plus at the Pump Tuesday, October 21, 2014 6:38:06 AM

Crude prices dropped to sub $100/= and now they are at $80/=. Why the hell I'm I still paying Kshs. 110/= plus at the pump for a litre of petrol???

For how long are we supposed to pay for inefficiencies, corruption etc. And why exactly are Kenyans so silent when they are being shafted left right and center?

The cost of energy impacts on EVERYTHING and it is amazing Kenyans don't feel the need to have a discussion on the same and demand for answers!

Don't just sit there. Make some noise. Wherever, however. It might seem inconsequential but remember the butterfly effect from chaos theory

$80 is for NYMEX/WTI not Brent. Kenya buys oil/fuel using Brent-linked prices. Brent [or variants] is at a premium to WTI coz there are more users who source from the Middle East vs USA. And there is a lag. Deliveries loaded in Oct will make to price formula in November. The same happens when prices rise, there is a lag. Ultimately, more competition is needed plus liberalization [more players] with a better/expanded port infrastructure.
#606 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 12:09:05 PM

If what is happening where I live is anything to go by,every mpesa agent will soon be an equitel agent.
Goldilocks Reloaded
#607 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 3:46:06 PM

I like the way foreigners have been exiting Member for the last two weeks or so. Wacha Equitel is launched across the country they will fall over each other running back.
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
Caveman
#608 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 3:52:52 PM

The way equitel will treat/handle the agents will determine its success. If the service will be very cheap, the commission to agents will consequently be low and may not make business sense to them.
#609 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 4:10:04 PM

Anybody talking about treating agents is lost,the agents are even now doing equity business without equitel,they are in fact doing several agency business and will continue doing so
ngapat
#610 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 4:46:29 PM

Equity wants to turn everybody into an agent.
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
#611 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 6:35:14 PM

ngapat wrote:
Equity wants to turn everybody into an agent.
That is what was communicated! So if I have cash, you Equi-pesa to me and I give it to you! And cheaper than M-Pesa.
Boris Boyka
#612 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 7:25:43 PM

Goldilocks Reloaded wrote:
I like the way foreigners have been exiting Member for the last two weeks or so. Wacha Equitel is launched across the country they will fall over each other running back.

they have reached their targets and must sell for locals to grab and enjoy a ride of course those coming back will be different foreigners. someone must sell for another to buy ; that's business now, ama unataka watu wakwamilie shares !!!!
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
holycow
#613 Posted : Friday, October 31, 2014 8:28:09 PM

So who has used the line for calls or in the peculiar Kenyan way, the SIM will only be good for money transfer. Clarity, call drops, data?
meme
#614 Posted : Saturday, November 01, 2014 7:34:16 AM

holycow wrote:
So who has used the line for calls or in the peculiar Kenyan way, the SIM will only be good for money transfer. Clarity, call drops, data?

Using the line right now. Its just as clear as safcom. Data is okay. Call rates mirror Safaricom rates. I really like the mobile banking. I can check my account statement/balance pap!
Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
jwatesh
#615 Posted : Saturday, November 01, 2014 9:44:08 AM

holycow wrote:

I just use it to transfer money
meme
#616 Posted : Saturday, November 01, 2014 10:08:55 AM

jwatesh wrote:
holycow wrote:

which is basically what its meant for....
Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
whiteowl
#617 Posted : Monday, November 03, 2014 11:19:13 PM

Safaricom has been spamming my inbox lately. Are they feeling the Equitel heat or it just the side effects of inheriting YU infrastructure? ?
shrewdinvestor
#618 Posted : Tuesday, November 04, 2014 5:57:52 AM

meme wrote:
jwatesh wrote:
holycow wrote:

which is basically what its meant for....

The network is quite clear.However charges to other networks is 4 bob but equitel to equitel is 2 bob.
#619 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 1:40:05 PM

So far i think safcom was fearing a white elephant.
#620 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 2:42:00 PM

mlennyma wrote:
So far i think safcom was fearing a white elephant.

Its interesting you have come around to this view. In the early pages of this thread I was sceptical. Alas I shall enjoy my last laugh Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
I said it before ..Equity (Technology dinosaur) +
Airtel (Limping company that has outsourced their technology day-to-day management to couldn't-be-bothered IBM) = Bad odds.
The good Doctor should have kept quiet about what he was cooking, now this might not even turn out to be the storm it was predicted, but a slow sizzle that will get bartered and relegated to a small, niche corner.