wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

37 Pages«<2829303132>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
CASHFLOW202
#581 Posted : Sunday, October 19, 2014 2:58:13 PM

jwatesh wrote:
Got a normal sim equitel line.... am a safaricom and equity share holder...I have to admit that am impressed with Equitel so far, thin sim equitel line is a good idea since it works so well with a safaricom line. Safaricom is my identity line since it what is in most of my formal documents. Equitel will be my banking line when am using money from my Equity bank account... Safaricom shouldn't be that afraid since mobile money is just one part of their services,other banks with retail customers should be very afraid....I see people transferring their salary accounts here.

And their customers support center is up to the bit. Great customer service I received when my transactions delayed. I must say all the 1.something trillion on the mpesa pipeline is first finding its way into equitel well reserved pipeline starting with all my business and family transactions. Am well impressed even before I get my thin Sim for near field cash transfers/payments.
Monopoly was the industrial age money game and the name of the new game of money today in the information age is CASHFLOW
target1360
#582 Posted : Sunday, October 19, 2014 6:34:36 PM

am reactivating my dormant member account first thing Tuesday morning getting their sim card. on the other hand airtel data is a mess,got and the unlimited bundle but am now wishing i d got some beer instead,pathetic
I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
#583 Posted : Sunday, October 19, 2014 7:14:22 PM

why would anyone oppose this

www.standardmedia.co.ke/...-this-mean-for-consumers

unless he is a competitor or bribed to oppose?

I need that thin sim yesterday.
#584 Posted : Monday, October 20, 2014 8:30:17 AM

Dr Mwangi is facing the mountain Making mad money.. Im proud of the guy

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#585 Posted : Monday, October 20, 2014 8:46:54 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Global market selloff in the equities.
Expect the cold to catch the other counters next week

Relax! Bounced back on Friday (Saturday in Kenya). It was a crazy couple of days though.
arkard
#586 Posted : Monday, October 20, 2014 1:09:30 PM

innovator wrote:
Just sent sh1500 from equitel to mpesa charged sh49. Not good at all.

Not to worry! You will not worry about cost for long. Apparently! Here is the link

safaricom charges Equity sh33 for every money sent to mpesa. The cost will go down once money can directly sent to individual's number and they withdraw using equity agent or atm.
Above all, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.
#587 Posted : Monday, October 20, 2014 6:36:41 PM

arkard wrote:
innovator wrote:

Not to worry! You will not worry about cost for long. Apparently! Here is the link

safaricom charges Equity sh33 for every money sent to mpesa. The cost will go down once money can directly sent to individual's number and they withdraw using equity agent or atm.

This will work to Equity's favour. Slowly but surely, people will start opening Equity accounts - free, get the thin sim - free, and start sending money - free; while still keeping their Safcom [or whichever] line! Seems like a no brainer to me. Then Equity will convince big timers - Kenya Power, Universities, Schools, Supermarkets, other retailers etc. to open Equity Bank accounts and voila! Free bill payments!!! Are you still with me?

This is going to be HUGE!! Don't think they have established a whole subsidiary and hired heavy hitters for nothing. Safcom knows this and that is why they have put up a big fight. Safcom were virtually unchallenged in the mobile money market. The party is over! And they have been challenged na wale wabaya!! Dr. James Mwangi is a big dreamer. And he backs his dreams with actions. Anyone hoping he'll settle to being 'just another player' in the mobile money business better think again. I'm sure he has dreamt about eating Safcom's lunch, dinner and breakfast - eventually! One plate at a time. And with 12 Billion worth of Equity stock between him and his wife, failure is not an option!
#588 Posted : Monday, October 20, 2014 10:51:14 PM

arkard wrote:
innovator wrote:

Airtel already does that. You can send money to a Safaricom number (not M-Pesa) BUT you withdraw from an Airtel agent. I have a gut feeling that Airtel and Equity will share agents.
#589 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 1:54:22 AM

arkard wrote:
innovator wrote:

This will work to Equity's favour. Slowly but surely, people will start opening Equity accounts - free, get the thin sim - free, and start sending money - free; while still keeping their Safcom [or whichever] line! Seems like a no brainer to me. Then Equity will convince big timers - Kenya Power, Universities, Schools, Supermarkets, other retailers etc. to open Equity Bank accounts and voila! Free bill payments!!! Are you still with me?

This is going to be HUGE!! Don't think they have established a whole subsidiary and hired heavy hitters for nothing. Safcom knows this and that is why they have put up a big fight. Safcom were virtually unchallenged in the mobile money market. The party is over! And they have been challenged na wale wabaya!! Dr. James Mwangi is a big dreamer. And he backs his dreams with actions. Anyone hoping he'll settle to being 'just another player' in the mobile money business better think again. I'm sure he has dreamt about eating Safcom's lunch, dinner and breakfast - eventually! One plate at a time. And with 12 Billion worth of Equity stock between him and his wife, failure is not an option!

Just imagine if Equity started a do-the-campaign!
#590 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 7:03:02 AM

Tell me when he sells his 12b stake I sell my 5bob stake
#591 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 8:16:15 AM

mlennyma wrote:

Not gonna happen in our life time!!! And it is at that level because of CMA requirements that he cannot hold more than 5% as a C.E.O. He actually holds 4.88% [9 Billion worth] directly and an extra 1.6% [3 Billion] in the wife's name.
#592 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 9:38:32 AM

mlennyma wrote:

Not gonna happen in our life time!!! And it is at that level because of CMA requirements that he cannot hold more than 5% as a C.E.O. He actually holds 4.88% [9 Billion worth] directly and an extra 1.6% [3 Billion] in the wife's name.
Never say never. Did you ever think Munga or his family would sell?
jwatesh
#593 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 10:33:29 AM

Member has caused Safaricom stock to drop below 12....:) :)
#594 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 12:44:23 PM

jwatesh wrote:
Member has caused Safaricom stock to drop below 12....:) :)

It's not about member...
kollabo
#595 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 1:33:14 PM

They are giving out registration forms without the terms and conditions NKT!
#596 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 2:58:40 PM

kollabo wrote:

The terms and condition (which I doubt anyone reads)is available separately ...The words in there will give you a head ache....anyway...the terms and conditions are available...just ask the guy giving you the Form.
#597 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 3:28:01 PM

selah wrote:
kollabo wrote:

The terms and condition (which I doubt anyone reads)is available separately ...The words in there will give you a head ache....anyway...the terms and conditions are available...just ask the guy giving you the Form.

Watu lazima watafute makosa! One wonders, which is easier? To ask the fellow who just gave you the form or to post on wazua complaining?
XSK
#598 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 4:03:50 PM

selah wrote:
kollabo wrote:

Watu lazima watafute makosa! One wonders, which is easier? To ask the fellow who just gave you the form or to post on wazua complaining?

Someone say BMW Laughing out loudly
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#599 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 4:17:05 PM

XSK wrote:
selah wrote:
kollabo wrote:

Someone say BMW Laughing out loudly

He he he.
#600 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 5:03:45 PM

selah wrote:
kollabo wrote:

I see nothing wrong with complaining here. Its a free country. The standard practice when signing up for a service contract is to have the T&Cs stacked along with the rest of it. Whether you read it or not is of secondary importance, just as long as there is no ambiguity about it. It can even be termed as a form of obfuscation. Have you ever heard of a contract where the signatures are on one document and the terms on another? What do the signatures bind then? Equity chose to deviate from this sensible and standard practice, why are you not finding fault with that?