Maisha Ni Mteremko
Muriel
#21 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 12:05:38 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

Materialism is our undoing.

The relentless accumulation of stuff we don't need.

Darkness.

But 'light' keeps you awake?
#22 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 12:51:12 PM

True wealth. Jon Jandai and his family smile

#23 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 2:47:45 PM

Muriel wrote:
Mtu Biz wrote:

Darkness.

Yes. It may seem a paradox. But it takes so much work to perceive light.
chikonde
#24 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 3:07:12 PM

Great talk right there........ let others be and live your life. He almost made me go back to the village yawa where my life in the 70/80's was easy, wonderfully sweet and inexpensive! Applause Applause Applause

@ann and you could be kept awake all night!!
#25 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 3:21:37 PM

Ati we live for 30years paying for a house...smile smile Yet we are supposed to be more intelligent than a rat, or a bird, who build their homes in hours. Lol.

I loved this part especially given my opinion on mortgages [at the current rates].

A bird builds a nest in a few hours, a rat digs a hole in one night and a bloody forko jembe called a homo sapien gets himself stuck with a 30 year mortgage!!!

just listened to it.... quite profound! enyewe... how do we get convinced to buy houses only so that we can use 30 years to pay for them?
Muriel
#26 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 3:34:19 PM

Muriel wrote:
Mtu Biz wrote:

Darkness.

He has perceived the 'light'?

I think its fluke.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 3:46:53 PM

Muriel wrote:
Mtu Biz wrote:

Darkness.

I think its fluke.

Thinking and light, or fluke those are different things. Light is about sight. What do you see? Or, what can you see? Fluke?
#28 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 4:01:37 PM

The last wishes of Alexander the Great.........
On his death bed, Alexander summoned his army generals and told them his three ultimate wishes:

1. The best doctors should carry his coffin ...

2. The wealth he has accumulated (money, gold, precious stones) should be scattered along the procession to the cemetery ...

3. His hands should be let loose, so they hang outside the coffin for all to see !!

One of his generals who was surprised by these unusual requests asked Alexander to explain .
Here is what Alexander the Great had to say :

1. "I want the best doctors to carry my coffin to demonstrate that in the face of death , even the best doctors in the world have no power to heal .."

2. "I want the road to be covered with my treasure so that everybody sees that material wealth acquired on earth , will stay on earth.."

3. I want my hands to swing in the wind, so that people understand that we come to this world empty handed and we leave this world empty handed after the most precious treasure of all is exhausted, and that is : TIME.

We do not take to our grave any material wealth. TIME is our most precious treasure because it is LIMITED. We can produce more wealth, but we cannot produce more time.

When we give someone our time, we actually give a portion of our life that we will never take back . Our time is our life !

Muriel
#29 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 4:08:57 PM

Muriel wrote:
Mtu Biz wrote:

Darkness.

I think its fluke.

Thinking and light, or fluke those are different things. Light is about sight. What do you see? Or, what can you see? Fluke?

But to see what you don't know? Know what you don't see?
Mtu Biz
#30 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 4:46:35 PM

butterflyke wrote:

When we give someone our time, we actually give a portion of our life that we will never take back . Our time is our life !

You have an interesting understanding of Time and Life.

What you are describing is giving attention... not time.

Time cannot be given or received or taken.

But i digress...

Back to topic!!!
Sola Scriptura

#31 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 6:56:00 PM

Muriel wrote:
Mtu Biz wrote:

Darkness.

I think its fluke.

Whose puzzle is this?
#32 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 7:18:38 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:
butterflyke wrote:

But i digress...

Back to topic!!!

Is it really a digression? How long does it take a bird to build a nest compared to a human paying for a house? Or is it 'how much attention'?
#33 Posted : Tuesday, October 21, 2014 8:19:49 PM

'Maisha ni mteremko', or the measures of what makes a 'good' or 'ideal' life run the risk of being too simplistic. It's better to be quiet than make these assertions.

A good starting point is looking at the 'problem of evil'. In most of our mythology evil is a cause of great concern. Do rats and bats care about evil? How does the experience of evil determine behavior?

http://www.theguardian.c...th-about-evil-john-gray
#34 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 11:20:34 AM

C & P

Do you know that the price of PIZZA is higher than the price of a bag of CEMENT. If you take a lady out and regularly buy her a pizza, she might have eaten up your MANSION!!!

If you are a nice lady, encourage your man ajenge. Wacha kuangusha bag ya cement kila siku!!!

Muriel
#35 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 11:25:37 AM

Muriel wrote:
Mtu Biz wrote:

Darkness.

I think its fluke.

Whose puzzle is this?

Ours?
Muriel
#36 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 11:27:24 AM

C & P

Do you know that the price of PIZZA is higher than the price of a bag of CEMENT. If you take a lady out and regularly buy her a pizza, she might have eaten up your MANSION!!!

If you are a nice lady, encourage your man ajenge. Wacha kuangusha bag ya cement kila siku!!!

Then I have seen a colleague of mine wolf down a whole bag of simiti for lunch in one hour.

Sad.
#37 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 11:30:43 AM

C & P

#38 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 11:31:45 AM

Mtu Biz wrote:
butterflyke wrote:

But i digress...

Back to topic!!!

Is it really a digression? How long does it take a bird to build a nest compared to a human paying for a house? Or is it 'how much attention'?

@Maich, can you give attention without giving time or using time to do so?
#39 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 11:33:43 AM

C & P

kumbe @jaggernaut ni wengi!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
seppuku
#40 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 11:36:19 AM

C & P

Never crossed my mind! smile

This fella though, he's nearly every bit as wrong as the materialistic affluenza-stricken workaholics. Well, at least in my book.

In my view, the ideal is somewhere in the middle. Sure I don't want to spend 30 years paying for a house, but I don't want to knock together a mud hut in 2 days and cringe every time I hear the thunder. Sure I don't need to wear Armani, but I don't want to be in tatters either. And I sure as hell want to fly in a balloon over the Mara and travel the world if I can. Balance. Life is about balance.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.