wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

37 Pages«<2728293031>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
#561 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 9:21:17 AM

[quote=VituVingiSana]And Kamwana says the Thin SIM is a-OK

http://www.businessdaily...4/-/mbal8y/-/index.html[/quote]

This is when I really like Kamwana. Bob Colly and friends have really tried to stop memba, including by whispering to him in secret, whispering to MPs, court cases by proxy, allegations of bribery Etc but he seems very keen to have compe roho safi in the economy (except in the milk business of course)

That he felt compelled to mention this in public tells quite a story. All busy bodies please stop meddling and leave member alone...

This I like...
#562 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 9:21:41 AM

Anything coming from the mps is crap and not worth listening,just because they wanted what they allege somebody was given?it shows how their decisions are money driven..shame,shame,shame
mv_ufanisi
#563 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 9:30:37 AM

Safaricom is going to end up with a bloody nose when this is said and done. JM seems very keen and when they start doing those ads similar to "Mimi ni Member" Safaricom will see the ground shifting right before their eyes.

JM gave a bloody nose to the banks, his wings to fly program has seen lots of smart Kenyans going to schools such as Princeton, MIT and Harvard who would likely be happy to work at Equity again, etc etc.

Long and short, JM knows how to get things done.

If Equitel surpasses Airtel subscribers by early next year, SCOM might end up losing its market dominant position to Equitel. Now, wouldn't that make JM the most shrewd business man in the region?
tom_boy
#564 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 9:51:38 AM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
Safaricom is going to end up with a bloody nose when this is said and done. JM seems very keen and when they start doing those ads similar to "Mimi ni Member" Safaricom will see the ground shifting right before their eyes.

JM gave a bloody nose to the banks, his wings to fly program has seen lots of smart Kenyans going to schools such as Princeton, MIT and Harvard who would likely be happy to work at Equity again, etc etc.

If Equitel surpasses Airtel subscribers by early next year, SCOM might end up losing its market dominant position to Equitel. Now, wouldn't that make JM the most shrewd business man in the region?

Keep dreaming. You cant just wish away Safcom infrastructure in a few months.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
mkeiy
#565 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 10:01:53 AM

It is clear some Wazuans are hoping/wishing for Equitel's failure, i wonder why.

My hope/wish is they succeed, Safcom has been shafting everyone. Subscribers, short codes clients, artists etc etc. For the latter two,Safcom takes lion share leaving peanuts for them.

A strong competitor would level the ground for all of us and that's good for the economy.
mv_ufanisi
#566 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 10:02:38 AM

tom_boy wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:

Infra is not the competitive advantage that Safaricom has used to win against Airtel.

Airtel currently has 5.5 million subscribers, Equitel might surpass that by mid of 2015.

It's a crazy prediction but knowing how loyal to Equity some section of the population is, they will migrate en masse.
whiteowl
#567 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 11:30:20 AM

[quote=VituVingiSana]And Kamwana says the Thin SIM is a-OK

http://www.businessdaily...4/-/mbal8y/-/index.html[/quote]
Applause Applause
whiteowl
#568 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 11:35:17 AM

[quote=jwatesh]Memba bribed hahaha...Matiangi and Wangusi ate the goat http://www.standardmedia...-over-thin-sim-roll-out[/quote]
So how exactly does a person who has just eaten a goat look like?Laughing out loudly
#569 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 11:37:51 AM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:

Infra is not the competitive advantage that Safaricom has used to win against Airtel.

Airtel currently has 5.5 million subscribers, Equitel might surpass that by mid of 2015.

It's a crazy prediction but knowing how loyal to Equity some section of the population is, they will migrate en masse.

No one is wishing away Safcom. But the days of their hegemony could truly be over.
Kastone
#570 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 1:52:49 PM

Robinhood wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:

No one is wishing away Safcom. But the days of their hegemony could truly be over.

Couldn't agree more. They should become exclusive apple style.
“The beauty of success is that it doesn’t matter how many times you have failed, you only have to be right once and then everyone can tell you how lucky you are.” - Mark Cuban
#571 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 2:23:40 PM

Is the green share responding to shock or its normal market movements,when is equity partnering with the royal media radio stations to travass the country dishing free sims?
Ericsson
#572 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 2:31:43 PM

Global market selloff in the equities.
Expect the cold to catch the other counters next week
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#573 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 2:47:20 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Global market selloff in the equities.
Expect the cold to catch the other counters next week

Indeed its going to rain red the shakeout has started
#574 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 5:53:48 PM

innovator wrote:
Just sent sh1500 from equitel to mpesa charged sh49. Not good at all.

Not to worry! You will not worry about cost for long. Apparently! Here is the link
#575 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 5:56:38 PM

This is going to be bloody!!!!

“Equitel’s SIM is a banking delivery channel, there is a misconception that Equity is setting up a telecommunications firm,” he said.

“What Equity is doing is giving its customers a delivery channel that enables them to do banking on their phones and laptops, but since we are using a SIM we will offer voice and data as value add.

Link
#576 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 6:17:49 PM

Some people came to me to say that licensing this or that will have consequences. “Let them (Equity and Safaricom) fight it out. All we want is cheaper and better products for people,” Mr Kenyatta said while fielding questions at the East African Business Summit in Kigali, Rwanda.
#577 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 6:28:58 PM

Panic stations!!!! This email from my bank today:

Dear xx,
An offer you cannot afford to miss! We are delighted to announce the unbelievable price slash of our I&M M-Pesa PrePay Safari card from Ksh 750 to Ksh 250! The I&M Visa Pre-Pay M-pesa Safari card is a co-branded card with Safaricom and the special feature on this card is that it can be loaded  directly from M-Pesa!
jwatesh
#578 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 7:52:51 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Dear xx,
An offer you cannot afford to miss! We are delighted to announce the unbelievable price slash of our I&M M-Pesa PrePay Safari card from Ksh 750 to Ksh 250! The I&M Visa Pre-Pay M-pesa Safari card is a co-branded card with Safaricom and the special feature on this card is that it can be loaded  directly from M-Pesa!

Hahaha but they never market this card yet it would be perfect for matatu cashless if it were tap to pay
whiteowl
#579 Posted : Saturday, October 18, 2014 11:18:01 AM

jwatesh wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

Dear xx,

Hahaha but they never market this card yet it would be perfect for matatu cashless if it were tap to pay

Got the same mail ,soon they'll be giving it for free smile
jwatesh
#580 Posted : Saturday, October 18, 2014 8:35:56 PM

Got a normal sim equitel line.... am a safaricom and equity share holder...I have to admit that am impressed with Equitel so far, thin sim equitel line is a good idea since it works so well with a safaricom line. Safaricom is my identity line since it what is in most of my formal documents. Equitel will be my banking line when am using money from my Equity bank account... Safaricom shouldn't be that afraid since mobile money is just one part of their services,other banks with retail customers should be very afraid....I see people transferring their salary accounts here.