37 Pages«<2526272829>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
meme
#521 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 1:19:49 PM

Ericsson wrote:
@meme
That is crucial insider information I have gotten

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly you should know people before you lie to ME
Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
mkeiy
#522 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 1:25:35 PM

Ericsson wrote:
@mkeiy
I don't argue or try to substantiate my claims.
I leave it to you to observe and see whether what I said was true or not

@Ericsson, If you don't argue nor substantiate, why bother alluding to anything in the first place?

Wazua spirit is to learn/share knowledge.

Rem you said "customers have been forced", which ain't true coz nobody forced me nor the few guys i know.

So now you have insider information? To what effect? Customers have been forced? Mwangi will throw tantrums? Something has been said?
#523 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 1:56:29 PM

selah wrote:
I was in one of their branches and some customers were very excited about the thin sim technology....some were even testifying how efficient it was apparently some customers had been given the sim card during the pilot stage sometime back and had enjoyed the service...

The problem was with the ordinary SIM cards ...the customers were unwilling to discard their current SIM card for equitel SIM....

I think Equity success will be hinged on the ThinSIM technology...and if The regulators give it a clean bill of health after the pilot, Safaricom will be in trouble.

It is also interesting that Equitel network charges are somehow similar to safaricom 4/= across networks.

I visited one of the Equity Agents and found that the tariff guide was different from what we are being told ...the charges were escalating according to the amount withdrawn max being 225/= if you are withdrawing above 100K....I think they will review the charges once Equitel is fully rolled out.

All in all Equitel will have an uphill task to dislodge safaricom given that Mpesa success is in safeguarding the interest of its agents who eventually ensure safaricom maintains one of the most efficient and expansive distribution network.

Equity is only cheaper in sending cash (above 2500/-) but has never been that cheap in terms of withdrawals coz the normal withdrawal charges apply!!!
bird_man
#524 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 2:05:52 PM

The brochures I got from the branch talk about 1% of money being transferred subject to a max of 25sh.
By the way, I do not think Equity is trying to compete head-on with Safaricom to become Kenya's preferred mobile money provider.In my thinking, they just want to keep all Equity money within Equity branches,agents & SIMs.
They are also after ensuring every Equity customer has an Mshwari kind of loan.So the focus is on Equity customers & not all Kenyans per se.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Sasha
#525 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 2:32:13 PM

bird_man wrote:
The brochures I got from the branch talk about 1% of money being transferred subject to a max of 25sh.
By the way, I do not think Equity is trying to compete head-on with Safaricom to become Kenya's preferred mobile money provider.In my thinking, they just want to keep all Equity money within Equity branches,agents & SIMs.
They are also after ensuring every Equity customer has an Mshwari kind of loan.So the focus is on Equity customers & not all Kenyans per se.

Spot on! As I said elsewhere, this battle is not between Equity and Safaricom. Equity want to ring fence all funds that they come into contact with. Should all these plans come to fruition, any corporate/business/individual/kiosk/merchant wanting to be paid by their customers must have a bank account with Equity. Anyone can then tell the implications of this in the market.
#526 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 7:17:00 PM

arkard wrote:
Did Equity flex its muscles to show who is king of the jungle OR was there a problem with Equity's ATM network?
http://www.businessdaily...2/-/n9krmp/-/index.html

I doubt it, the only thing I know is that Safaricom had a 'infrastructural problem' which saw Mkesho not working for some time.

Does MKESHO still exist? And how come Airtel and Orange customers experienced the same issue
innovator
#527 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 7:49:39 PM

arkard wrote:
Did Equity flex its muscles to show who is king of the jungle OR was there a problem with Equity's ATM network?
http://www.businessdaily...2/-/n9krmp/-/index.html

I doubt it, the only thing I know is that Safaricom had a 'infrastructural problem' which saw Mkesho not working for some time.

Does MKESHO still exist? And how come Airtel and Orange customers experienced the same issue

MKESHO exist, many business people use it to send money from mpesa account to mkesho equity account which is free of charge. you can then withdraw from atm or send to any equity account at sh30 for any amount using eazy 247.
innovator
#528 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 8:00:14 PM

selah wrote:
I was in one of their branches and some customers were very excited about the thin sim technology....some were even testifying how efficient it was apparently some customers had been given the sim card during the pilot stage sometime back and had enjoyed the service...

The problem was with the ordinary SIM cards ...the customers were unwilling to discard their current SIM card for equitel SIM....

I think Equity success will be hinged on the ThinSIM technology...and if The regulators give it a clean bill of health after the pilot, Safaricom will be in trouble.

It is also interesting that Equitel network charges are somehow similar to safaricom 4/= across networks.

I visited one of the Equity Agents and found that the tariff guide was different from what we are being told ...the charges were escalating according to the amount withdrawn max being 225/= if you are withdrawing above 100K....I think they will review the charges once Equitel is fully rolled out.

All in all Equitel will have an uphill task to dislodge safaricom given that Mpesa success is in safeguarding the interest of its agents who eventually ensure safaricom maintains one of the most efficient and expansive distribution network.

Equity is only cheaper in sending cash (above 2500/-) but has never been that cheap in terms of withdrawals coz the normal withdrawal charges apply!!!

Agent withdraw charges cater for the agent and is compensated for large amounts.
Michael Joseph is getting a hard time trying mpesa in South Africa, the argument being you do not need to withdraw money to go and and pay for services like we do here, lipa na mpesa and now equitel will change our thinking.
lochaz-index
#529 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 8:32:43 PM

Sasha wrote:
bird_man wrote:

Spot on! As I said elsewhere, this battle is not between Equity and Safaricom. Equity want to ring fence all funds that they come into contact with. Should all these plans come to fruition, any corporate/business/individual/kiosk/merchant wanting to be paid by their customers must have a bank account with Equity. Anyone can then tell the implications of this in the market.

true that equity may not necessarily be getting into a straight fight with Safcom but success of the thin sim will nonetheless be detrimental to mpesa both volume and margin wise.equity account holders transacting entirely within the confines of the said system is a direct hit on the cashless transition of lipa na mpesa as championed by safcom.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
ngapat
#530 Posted : Friday, October 10, 2014 9:37:55 PM

I have already sent 20000 shillings from equitel to an mpesa number. I realized its cheaper to send the kshs 20000 to mpesa number from equitel than it is to send from an mpesa number to another mpesa number. I was charged 58 bob while Mpesa would have charges me a 100 bob.
To Send any amount above 2500 from equitel to mpesa,you will be charged 58 bob of which 25 bob goes to equity and the other 33 bob is what safaricom charges to withdraw money from a bank account into mpesa
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
#531 Posted : Saturday, October 11, 2014 2:03:39 AM

has it rolled it thin sim yet?
#532 Posted : Wednesday, October 15, 2014 9:52:12 AM

Goldilocks Reloaded
#533 Posted : Wednesday, October 15, 2014 10:01:13 AM

Watajaribu hadi waende ICC it wont work. You cant stop technology! If MPESA was to be blocked like they're trying to do, where would Safcom be? I wish people would provide evidence against the thin film rather than simple "fears".
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
#534 Posted : Wednesday, October 15, 2014 1:12:10 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly So Nation calls the guy a data specialist while The standard calls the same guy a lawyer....Anyway this lawsuit is just another delaying tactic given that Mpesa started operating without any regulatory frame work.....it was only recently that the framework was devised....I hope this diversionary tactics being employed by Equity's competitors will not come back to bite them.
#535 Posted : Wednesday, October 15, 2014 1:49:20 PM

As they rattle the snake,the normal sim is spreading like bush fire
#536 Posted : Wednesday, October 15, 2014 1:51:38 PM

Since this war of blocking competition started majority are negative about all green colours
Goldilocks Reloaded
#537 Posted : Thursday, October 16, 2014 10:07:58 AM

Equitel mobile services and issuance of Thin-Film SIMs to be launched in two weeks time! >>>RINK<<<. Seriously looking at the tariffs charged by Mpesa, its not difficult to deduce that Equity will really kick Safcom in the chin.
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
#538 Posted : Thursday, October 16, 2014 10:41:02 AM

Why are people so emotional with this thing. This is the market, keep your emotions away. Buy memba shares now, ride with the wave of good news, after a while be ready to disembark and take the Simba bus, when Mpesa bank starts countering Memba coin for a coin, pound for a pound; and partnering with Simba/CBA as a counter measure.
Goldilocks Reloaded
#539 Posted : Thursday, October 16, 2014 11:00:10 AM

Its not emotions @poundfoolish. That thin sim technology is a revolutionary banking product not just in Kenya but globally is not a secret. That is what is exciting to me. Mpesa Bank are already partnering with Simba and CBA. At the end of the day it will depend on who gives mwananchi the best value and at the moment, JM has a big headstart.
jerry
#540 Posted : Thursday, October 16, 2014 11:18:31 AM

Why do people keep refering to MPESA as a bank? What will they call CBA unless DHL, EMS is a bank?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.