wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

8 Pages<1234>»
SCOM on the run again
cnn
#21 Posted : Wednesday, January 13, 2010 9:55:48 AM

@vvs,
going forward what is the company policy as per fuel purchases seeing how hedging can turn out?

Morgan stanley has valued SAFCOM @6.40,explains the intrest on the counter.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, January 13, 2010 11:49:12 AM

By Ana Monteiro; Jan. 13 (Bloomberg)

-- Safaricom Ltd., Kenya’s biggest mobile-network operator, had its price estimate raised to 6.40 shillings at Morgan Stanley, from 4.80 shillings.

“We reiterate our overweight on Safaricom, supported by a solid earnings backdrop for the next 12 months,” analysts including Sean Gardiner and Madhvendra Singh wrote in an e- mailed note to clients today.

“We think the revenue environment is conducive to a positive surprise -– repair of the voice market is underway, M- PESA spend per user is growing and we are seeing new broadband revenue streams,” Morgan Stanley said, with M-PESA referring to the company’s money-transfer service.

Morgan Stanley estimates 22 percent group revenue growth in 2010 and a further 16 percent in 2011 compared with 12 percent and 10 percent previously. It also sees “room for positive surprise” on dividends.
Last Updated: January 13, 2010 01:58 EST

novestor
#23 Posted : Wednesday, January 13, 2010 11:51:42 AM

Oh, so the wall street poster boys are back.
Learn Something New Every Day!
#24 Posted : Wednesday, January 13, 2010 12:26:30 PM

cnn wrote:
@vvs,
going forward what is the company policy as per fuel purchases seeing how hedging can turn out?

LOL... I wish I knew but at the AGM, they indicated they would continue hedging. My comments are based on the hedges in place on 31 Mar 2009 (& 30 Sep 2009). The strike price was $110 for these which means KQ will continue paying out cash for these hedges.

The good news would be that KQ had taken the loss on their books... (on paper not cash payout)... So now they can 'writeback' some of these paper losses.
Pierce
#25 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 5:09:19 AM

During the days of SK,I bet with someone Kshs 5K about KQ hitting 50bob before end of March 2010. Was it you VVS?
#26 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 5:27:26 AM

Only if you were saying it would not... I have been bullish on KQ...
#27 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 8:01:48 AM

It touched 5.90 this morning....

I have just placed a sell order at 6bob...

I am bullish....I know they will be picked up
#28 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 8:04:25 AM

Interestingly, since this rally began, richlive.co.ke has clogged up...it is difficult to log-in and view demand/supply figures
Jaguar
#29 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 8:08:14 AM

@mukiha, supply slightly higher than demand..11.86m vs 9.91M. We have either reached the saturation point or we are very close
kiriita
#30 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 8:36:07 AM

Mlefu,

Where art thou?

Pierce is looking 4 u .....
#31 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 8:40:10 AM

From http://live.mystocks.co.ke

Population inversion has occurred....

Supply = 19.3m

Demand = 4.6m
Jaguar
#32 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 8:41:37 AM

supply is checking in, now at 18.85M vs demand of 3.39M
Pierce
#33 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 8:57:52 AM

Thanks Kiriita,

Kama sio wewe umechange fom Mlefu....he he he

Mlefu, tayarisha chapa!
#34 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 11:07:39 AM

madness, the nse has gone bonkers ... all turbos open!
Pretty
#35 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 11:51:38 AM

@Mukiha
smile Where do you get live feed for volumes on bid and ask?
smile Richlive is dead
smile Nelly data does not provide the same
smile Going downtown to Nation Centre is a misnorma
smile Out here things are vevesome
smile Am trying to teach myself some nasty habits of chewing the stuff.
smile Men here are not amused by a girl daring them to a duet.
smile Mukiha, you are resourceful.
smile Keep it up

>>>>>>
A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases;
It will never pass into nothingness;
But still will keep a bower quiet for us,
and a sleep full of sweet dreams,
and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats

>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,
1. Those who make things happen,
2. Those who watch things happen
3. And those who ask what happened.

Where do you fall?
#36 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 12:40:06 PM

@Pretty;

the data is also available here http://live.mystocks.co.ke ...but you have to pay sh100 per day or sh1,000 per month
#37 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 12:55:14 PM

http://live.mystocks.co.ke

I use live. Worth every penny.
#38 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 1:04:47 PM

@Pretty, actually there are 9 data vendors each with different strategies but with the same data NSE Data Vendors. Some provide it fully free/partially free/delayed etc. I guess we don't see all the data because we're not paying for it.

MyStocks (Synergy) serve retail and occassionally corproate
ICTKenya serve retail with focus on mobile
Rich (Aly-Khan Satchu) provides data free of charge

NellyData (Knowing) serve corporate exclusively and I see they also provide Nation and Wazua with data.
Bloomberg, Reuters used on their terminals.

Standard, Royal Media, Mobile Planet serve themselves
Pierce
#39 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2010 5:29:26 AM

Kenya Airways

Good people, had forgotten to factor-in the Cargo effect of the World Cup. Im sure KQ will carry lots of cargo to SA over that period.

Automatically stakes are higher now. Kshs 80 before 31st May 2010.
sheep
#40 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2010 6:29:45 AM

Could today mark the end of Safcom rally?lets watch carefully
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.