Investor
Stocks
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
poundfoolish wrote:MaichBlack wrote:mlennyma wrote:A dominant player doesn't need a thin sim,its an underdog who needs a thin sim to ride on the dominant sim to pull the dominance down If safcom comes up with a sim card that is incompatible with the thin sim and have all their customers switch to the new sim, they will have bought themselves quite some time. This will be the mother of all wars. It's gonna be long. It's gonna be brutal! Why would Safaricom come up with a new SIM. Or am i not getting your point?This battle is starting and its going to be a long one. Beneficiary to me will be the Bank, MPESA will partner with. I see Simba and/or CBA wakipitia kati kati yao Because the fact that Equity is planning to use the thin sim which will be used in conjunction with your existing sim means that customers don't have to buy a new phone or give up their current number which is a HUGE HEGE plus to Equity. No migration required, no cost to the customer etc. Simply overlay your current sim with the thin one and off you go. Keep using the Safcom services you choose to and Enjoy Equitel services. It's bloody genius!!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:mlennyma wrote:BREAKING NEWS:Equity share overtakes kcb share in a fierce trading session Ka ching ching!!! I like. Having said that, I don't understand why people directly compare the share price of Equity and KCB!!! Equity has 3,702,777,020 issued shares while KCB has 2,970,249,681!!! You can therefore not directly compare their share prices. Equity's market cap. has been higher than KCB's market cap. for some time now even with the unit price for a KCB share being higher!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
MaichBlack wrote:@quicksand - You go to your house and post notices informing your kids you bear no responsibility to them and see how legally binding that will be.
You can NEVER come up with a [legally binding] agreement/law/conditions at a lower level that contravene laws at a higher level. For example, if you and I signed a sale agreement for one of your kids, it could not be legally binding!
Safcom has to operate within Kenyan laws and CBK's and CAK's rules!! Hiyo ingine ni porojo! Got it chief ...your first explanation, http://wazua.co.ke/forum...amp;m=599912#post599912
.. was quite sufficient though.
Why/how did M-KESHO fail? I'm not saying "thin sim" will fail but I can't take part in a trial that the court gives a year. The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
jerry wrote:Why/how did M-KESHO fail? I'm not saying "thin sim" will fail but I can't take part in a trial that the court gives a year. Equity brought yu and Orange contrary to the earlier agreement. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Member Joined: 2/13/2011 Posts: 284 Location: Nairobi
Got a new line, though not thin sim. The prefix is 0763... and the tariff is 2 bob per min for voice altho its on pilot.
McReggae wrote:jerry wrote:Why/how did M-KESHO fail? I'm not saying "thin sim" will fail but I can't take part in a trial that the court gives a year. Equity brought yu and Orange contrary to the earlier agreement. May be because Safcom wanted to get all the cash for no work at all - just providing the platform Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Robinhood wrote:McReggae wrote:jerry wrote:Why/how did M-KESHO fail? I'm not saying "thin sim" will fail but I can't take part in a trial that the court gives a year. Equity brought yu and Orange contrary to the earlier agreement. May be because Safcom wanted to get all the cash for no work at all - just providing the platform Exactment!!! Safcom is used to bullying "partners" because of it's strong monopolistic position. Dr. JM was not ready to take any of that crap! And MJ didn't want to look at Equity as an equal partner. Giving conditions like the ones they give to dealers and agents to the biggest bank by customer numbers was not going to fly! You can do this, you cannot do this, you cannot work with so and so... and the same rules don't apply to them. E.g. Safcom can work with any damn bank they feel like but Equity should not even look at another telcom in a manner likely to suggest... Equity provides most of the customers, does all the heavy lifting, bears most of the risk and safcom gets most of the money for providing the platform! Asi!!! There were also very many suspicions between JM and MJ. Both had built empires from scratch and given competition a thorough beating on their way up. Each thought they were the next victim of the other. Ikabidi kila mtu akae chonjo. And their fears and suspicions were definitely valid! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 9/22/2014 Posts: 10 Location: Some where in Kenya
jerry wrote: Exactment!!!
Safcom is used to bullying "partners" because of it's strong monopolistic position...
.. Giving conditions like the ones they give to dealers and agents to the biggest bank by customer numbers was not going to fly! You can do this, you cannot do this, you cannot work with so and so...
Safcom is indeed a bully. Fancy them suspending an Mpesa agent's line just because that dealer is also an equity agent. Its about time for some effort to level the playing field.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2014 Posts: 1,420 Location: Bohemian Grove
MaichBlack wrote:Robinhood wrote:McReggae wrote:jerry wrote:Why/how did M-KESHO fail? I'm not saying "thin sim" will fail but I can't take part in a trial that the court gives a year. Equity brought yu and Orange contrary to the earlier agreement. May be because Safcom wanted to get all the cash for no work at all - just providing the platform Exactment!!! Safcom is used to bullying "partners" because of it's strong monopolistic position. Dr. JM was not ready to take any of that crap! And MJ didn't want to look at Equity as an equal partner. Giving conditions like the ones they give to dealers and agents to the biggest bank by customer numbers was not going to fly! You can do this, you cannot do this, you cannot work with so and so... and the same rules don't apply to them. E.g. Safcom can work with any damn bank they feel like but Equity should not even look at another telcom in a manner likely to suggest... Equity provides most of the customers, does all the heavy lifting, bears most of the risk and safcom gets most of the money for providing the platform! Asi!!! There were also very many suspicions between JM and MJ. Both had built empires from scratch and given competition a thorough beating on their way up. Each thought they were the next victim of the other. Ikabidi kila mtu akae chonjo. And their fears and suspicions were definitely valid! Safaricom is indeed a bully. I have a relative who owns an Mpesa and last year he was warned of his line being suspended if he retailed competitors airtime at his shop. Although Safaricom backtracked on the order weeks later, it's shows how much bullying they can do.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/13/2010 Posts: 160 Location: rift Valley-Naks
Is equity paying for using the network infrastructure? ''i can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies,but not the madness of people''-Isaac Newton
tkzee wrote:Is equity paying for using the network infrastructure? Definitely! Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
CAK seeking indemnity from any issues arising in the trial period and guarantee from ekwete that it (finserve) will be liable. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/11/2006 Posts: 972 Location: Home
Waiting for a Wazuan who has used the thin/overlay SIM.
MaichBlack wrote:Robinhood wrote:McReggae wrote:jerry wrote:Why/how did M-KESHO fail? I'm not saying "thin sim" will fail but I can't take part in a trial that the court gives a year. Equity brought yu and Orange contrary to the earlier agreement. May be because Safcom wanted to get all the cash for no work at all - just providing the platform Exactment!!! Safcom is used to bullying "partners" because of it's strong monopolistic position. Dr. JM was not ready to take any of that crap! And MJ didn't want to look at Equity as an equal partner. Giving conditions like the ones they give to dealers and agents to the biggest bank by customer numbers was not going to fly! You can do this, you cannot do this, you cannot work with so and so... and the same rules don't apply to them. E.g. Safcom can work with any damn bank they feel like but Equity should not even look at another telcom in a manner likely to suggest... Equity provides most of the customers, does all the heavy lifting, bears most of the risk and safcom gets most of the money for providing the platform! Asi!!! There were also very many suspicions between JM and MJ. Both had built empires from scratch and given competition a thorough beating on their way up. Each thought they were the next victim of the other. Ikabidi kila mtu akae chonjo. And their fears and suspicions were definitely valid! At least you know both of these players have similar tebndencies!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2014 Posts: 1,420 Location: Bohemian Grove
yosie14 wrote:http://www.the-star.co.ke/sites/default/files/24-09-14_editorial_cartoon_new_size_copy_10.jpg
Not so fast babe! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Like seriously In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
I suspect they want their palms greased ...they are over-reaching, hii ni upuzi sasa.
Investor
Stocks
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy