8 Pages«<34567>»
Building a house with Prefabricated concrete Wall Panels - very cost effective
#41 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 7:20:05 PM

thanks @a4

KQ ABP 4.26
#42 Posted : Tuesday, September 16, 2014 5:17:28 PM

Now that we have even more companies coming in with the prefabs, and they claim it will reduce the construction cost by almost 60% (apparently a 2 bedroom house would cost 700,000 which would cost 3.5m if using the conventional building materials), what are your views Bwana Architect? Any Wazuans who has used this new technology yet and what's the experience?
Francisnjuguna
#43 Posted : Tuesday, September 16, 2014 5:21:36 PM

Are Kenyans easy to change their altitude.How hard is it easy for intruders(thieves) to hit those cheap materials and penetrate inside the house ?Kama nyumba ya mabati ama bao
njuguna1
a4architect.com
#44 Posted : Wednesday, September 17, 2014 8:19:45 AM

@wendz, currently, cost of prefab is same as cost of using normal conventional methods such as stone, at around kes 30k per m2.
@francisnjuguna, true. in kenya where security is a concern, prefabs are less competitive than stone houses. solutions to this such as gated communities, cctv etc can make prefab neighbourhoods safer.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
kenyan_qs
#45 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 6:37:59 PM

@Wendz. The math does not add up. A 80sq.m house will cost about 2.4m. At 60% of the ordinary house,the prefab should cost about 1.44m and not 700k. Beware of marketing gimmicks since the cost of the roof, finishes, plumbing electrical etc remain the same.
#46 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2014 1:03:02 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@wendz, currently, cost of prefab is same as cost of using normal conventional methods such as stone, at around kes 30k per m2.
@francisnjuguna, true. in kenya where security is a concern, prefabs are less competitive than stone houses. solutions to this such as gated communities, cctv etc can make prefab neighbourhoods safer.

you are right. I went to see a sample house at Mlolongo on Saturday and they told me the cost would be 2.5m for a 90m2 house. so that makes roughly 28k per m2.
a4architect.com
#47 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2014 1:18:46 PM

@wendz, most prefab technology only zero in on walling, which is like 10% of total overall construction cost. This means even 50% savings on walling will only make a very tiny overall reduction of costs since the rest of the elements i.e foundation, roof, windows, doors, finishes remain constant and make 90% of total costs,
XSK
#48 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2014 4:27:57 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@wendz, most prefab technology only zero in on walling, which is like 10% of total overall construction cost. This means even 50% savings on walling will only make a very tiny overall reduction of costs since the rest of the elements i.e foundation, roof, windows, doors, finishes remain constant and make 90% of total costs,

so I guess this basically implies we are still stuck with brick/stone houses for the long haul especially when seen from the security perspective.
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
a4architect.com
#49 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2014 5:30:00 PM

@xsk, yes, but not for long since juja,kedowa and kilifi quarries are in the verge of drying out completely in the next 5 years. other forms of walling, especially prefab types, will then start playing centre stage as its done in usa, europe and china.
JkMwatha
#50 Posted : Wednesday, September 24, 2014 1:27:07 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

How about prefab for the interior walls only? Does this address security?
8 Pages«<34567>»