39 Pages«<45678>»
Other religious discourse
#101 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 4:00:55 PM

Muriel wrote:

Just keeping the thread alive.

I'm expecting answers.

An interesting point to reflect. Whatever answer you get, what does it change? What does it prove? The answers you construct for yourself are the answers that will satisfy.

Suddenly one is so alone, so isolated, a speck of dust in a vastly spread cosmos. And in alienation is the silence of God. No question is answerable. Which speck can answer what? No speck. A mystery of love.

Muriel
#102 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 5:01:49 PM

Muriel wrote:

I'm expecting answers.

An interesting point to reflect. Whatever answer you get, what does it change? What does it prove? The answers you construct for yourself are the answers that will satisfy.

Suddenly one is so alone, so isolated, a speck of dust in a vastly spread cosmos. And in alienation is the silence of God. No question is answerable. Which speck can answer what? No speck. A mystery of love.

The answer is not for my benefit but for the responder.

Tuition. Knowledge. Change. Hopefully.

#103 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 9:14:24 PM

Muriel wrote:

I'm expecting answers.

The answer is not for my benefit but for the responder.

Tuition. Knowledge. Change. Hopefully.

You must be blessed. Wengine maswali tumejaza ya kujiuliza http://www.theguardian.c...ubt-god-existence-welby

And I wonder, is there something strange about wondering whether God exists and affirming that Christ exists in the same breath?
#104 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 11:38:25 PM

Muriel wrote:

Alphdoti,

Yes Abraham passed the test. I do not dispute that but who told anyone that Allah can 'ransom' anybody?

Who wrote in the Qur'an that Allah said "we ransomed him ,,,,,"

Who could write such lies about Allah? That Allah can 'ransom' anyone?

I'm glad you're cooling down and being open mind.

You see my brother @muriel, I've been saying in all those words, every person is personally responsible for his or her actions. There is no such thing as man inherits sin. This is summarized by Britisher Major Yeats Brown in his book "Life of a Bengal Lancer", referring to the Christian Doctrine of the Atonement.

You will stay in the Qur'an.

Who wrote in the Qur'an that Allah 'ransomed' someone?

Those words were said by God Almighty.

God wants our will and devotion, not necessarilly our lives in physical sense. If we offer ourselves, He will find means to use us for our further advancement.

Quran sura Baqarah chapter 2:124 says: "And remember that Abraham was tried by his Lord with certain commands, which he fulfilled..."

In everything Abraham fulfilled God's wish: he submitted his will to God's.
Muriel
#105 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 8:05:21 AM

37:107 And We ransomed him with a great sacrifice.
- The theme text.

We have seen that 'Ransom' has the idea of Exchange. Saving. Salvation.

@muriel, who told you Allah paid anybody anything?

Who told you Allah had put Abraham's son in captivity?

If Allah could put someone in captivity, why would it be difficult for Him to free Him?

According to you, why is it that Allah could command Abraham to sacrifice his son, but Allah could not command the same Abraham not to sacrifice his son?

I know @guka, @shosho, @kindegarten kids understand this: God Almighty wanted to test Abraham. And Abraham passed the test.

Alphdoti initially denied that Allah said he 'Ransomed' after finding out 'ransom' has the idea of 'saving'. Guru punctured his wheel by confirming indeed Allah 'saved' the boy. Guru, thank you so much yet again.

I could not have drilled it into Alphdoti's head without you.

Alphdoti now turns around and then says

God wants our will and devotion, not necessarilly our lives in physical sense. If we offer ourselves, He will find means to use us for our further advancement.

Quran sura Baqarah chapter 2:124 says: "And remember that Abraham was tried by his Lord with certain commands, which he fulfilled..."

Alphdoti is now of the opinion that 'Ransom with great sacrifice', or 'saved', are the actual words of Allah.

Surprise!!!!!

Allah has said he 'saves'. He 'ransoms'.

Have you accepted Allah's 'Salvation'?

Alphdoti?
#106 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 10:01:46 AM

Muriel wrote:
37:107 And We ransomed him with a great sacrifice.
- The theme text.

We have seen that 'Ransom' has the idea of Exchange. Saving. Salvation.

@muriel, who told you Allah paid anybody anything?

Who told you Allah had put Abraham's son in captivity?

If Allah could put someone in captivity, why would it be difficult for Him to free Him?

According to you, why is it that Allah could command Abraham to sacrifice his son, but Allah could not command the same Abraham not to sacrifice his son?

I know @guka, @shosho, @kindegarten kids understand this: God Almighty wanted to test Abraham. And Abraham passed the test.

Alphdoti initially denied that Allah said he 'Ransomed' after finding out 'ransom' has the idea of 'saving'. Guru punctured his wheel by confirming indeed Allah 'saved' the boy. Guru, thank you so much yet again.

I could not have drilled it into Alphdoti's head without you.

Alphdoti now turns around and then says

Alphdoti is now of the opinion that 'Ransom with great sacrifice', or 'saved', are the actual words of Allah.

Surprise!!!!!

Allah has said he 'saves'. He 'ransoms'.

Have you accepted Allah's 'Salvation'?

Alphdoti?

@muriel, again I tell you that you're lying about things, trying to say what @guru says contradicts what I've said. Please point out where @gurus words contradicts mine in this matter.

You see your problem runs deep. It is not about this verse. You have an underlying problem. Even if this verse was not there, you'd still be disputing.

Post #711: Nobody was to be forgiven by the sacrifice of a son. This was just a test to Abraham, it was obviously a trial, by Almighty God to Abraham (pbuh).
That's why Allah said "thou hast already fulfilled thy vision"

Post #776: This episode demonstrated Abraham's willingness, self-sacrifice in the service of Almighty God. So this was a test from God to Abraham, testing his willingness to the work of Allah (Almighty God). This was not to wipe anybody's sins.

Post #779: Allah has no need for blood. He needs our willingness.
Muriel
#107 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 10:58:50 AM

Alphdoti,

Who but yourself has talked about 'forgiveness of sins'? Why are you adding to the debate?

We are talking about 'saving', 'saved' 'salvation'.

Is there something I should know about 'saving' 'saved' and its connection to 'forgiveness of sins'?

Guru, despite her useful contribution to this debate, is not the reference point. The Qur'an is the reference point. So far you have made no attempt to explain this theme verse e.g. by saying when Allah said 'we ransomed him,,,,' he did not mean it is 'ransomed' as described in the dictionary but he meant it anther way bla bla bla.

Stick to the Qur'an, you muslim man! Why are you afraid of it? That is my problem. You make no reference to Qur'an (maybe you now see Mohammed told some fibs) and you want to explain away using only your mouth.

Allah 'ransoms' people this is the bitter truth you cannot bring yourself to admit. He 'ransomed' the boy. He 'saved' the boy. Allah has 'salvation'.

Your linking 'ransom' or 'saved' to 'forgiveness of sins' is intriguing. Why have you linked 'ransom' to 'forgiveness of sins'?

Muriel
#108 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 11:11:45 AM

You must be blessed. Wengine maswali tumejaza ya kujiuliza http://www.theguardian.c...ubt-god-existence-welby

And I wonder, is there something strange about wondering whether God exists and affirming that Christ exists in the same breath?

Did he check his opinion with his superiors in Rome? Hii ni kuropokwa tu. This archbishop is not worth his cloth.

"The other day I was praying as I was running and I ended up saying to God: 'Look, this is all very well but isn't it about time you did something – if you're there' – which is probably not what the archbishop of Canterbury should say."

What other explanation could he have thought of as a possible reason of 'God's inaction' other than 'if you are there?' (by implication 'you are not there.').

Yes it is strange that the good archbishop can wonder if God exists yet affirm him in the same breath.

Why do you think he said it, brother?
#109 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 11:27:16 AM

Muriel wrote:
Alphdoti,

Who but yourself has talked about 'forgiveness of sins'? Why are you adding to the debate?

We are talking about 'saving', 'saved' 'salvation'.

Is there something I should know about 'saving' 'saved' and its connection to 'forgiveness of sins'?

Guru, despite her useful contribution to this debate, is not the reference point. The Qur'an is the reference point. So far you have made no attempt to explain this theme verse e.g. by saying when Allah said 'we ransomed him,,,,' he did not mean it is 'ransomed' as described in the dictionary but he meant it anther way bla bla bla.

Stick to the Qur'an, you muslim man! Why are you afraid of it? That is my problem. You make no reference to Qur'an (maybe you now see Mohammed told some fibs) and you want to explain away using only your mouth.

Allah 'ransoms' people this is the bitter truth you cannot bring yourself to admit. He 'ransomed' the boy. He 'saved' the boy. Allah has 'salvation'.

Your linking 'ransom' or 'saved' to 'forgiveness of sins' is intriguing. Why have you linked 'ransom' to 'forgiveness of sins'?

Ransom means substitute. Almighty God wanted to test the two men (Abraham and his sons), with self-sacrifice in the service of Allah. When they obeyed the test, God Almighty stopped Abraham from that and substituted for ram.

You see @muriel, there is no atonement of sin in Islam. The hereditary thing you're trying to justify, this alleged inherited from Adam. The Church says this thing, which you and I were not personally responsible was to be atoned for. And they say the Creator of this Universe had to sacrifice His only begotten son (which has been expunged from the Bible by the way smile ) to neutralize this mysterious curse. I told you about the British man, Major Yeats Brown who said no heathen tribe has ever conceived such a nonsensical idea. But you are trying to tell us that. I say look my brother @muriel, don't try to pull wool over our eyes.

Think man, think!
#110 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 11:35:28 AM

Muriel wrote:

Did he check his opinion with his superiors in Rome? Hii ni kuropokwa tu. This archbishop is not worth his cloth.

"The other day I was praying as I was running and I ended up saying to God: 'Look, this is all very well but isn't it about time you did something – if you're there' – which is probably not what the archbishop of Canterbury should say."

What other explanation could he have thought of as a possible reason of 'God's inaction' other than 'if you are there?' (by implication 'you are not there.').

Yes it is strange that the good archbishop can wonder if God exists yet affirm him in the same breath.

The same question can be asked about alleged Jesus's (pbuh) words: "My God, Why Have You Forsaken Me?"
#111 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 11:54:45 AM

Muriel wrote:

The same question can be asked about alleged Jesus's (pbuh) words: "My God, Why Have You Forsaken Me?"

@Alph Jesus was never on the cross.. Those words were said by Judas Isacriot who God put in the place of Jesus for death after he trying to betray God's messenger!
Muriel
#112 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 12:48:57 PM

Ransom means substitute. Almighty God wanted to test the two men (Abraham and his sons), with self-sacrifice in the service of Allah. When they obeyed the test, God Almighty stopped Abraham from that and substituted for ram.

You see @muriel, there is no atonement of sin in Islam. The hereditary thing you're trying to justify, this alleged inherited from Adam. The Church says this thing, which you and I were not personally responsible was to be atoned for. And they say the Creator of this Universe had to sacrifice His only begotten son (which has been expunged from the Bible by the way smile ) to neutralize this mysterious curse. I told you about the British man, Major Yeats Brown who said no heathen tribe has ever conceived such a nonsensical idea. But you are trying to tell us that. I say look my brother @muriel, don't try to pull wool over our eyes.

Think man, think!

Alphdoti,

You are telling me to think? How about you just reading the Qur'an? What itches you that you do not want to refer to the Qur'an instead you rely on silly mzungus whom you accuse a lot in your myriad conspiracy theories? Are they now more trustworthy than your Qur'an?

Why have you linked 'ransomed' with 'forgiveness of sins'?

How many times will I ask that before you answer? You will not go to the church Alphdoti, or even to the Islamic bibles. You will stay in the Qur'an! What is it about the Qur'an you cannot explain what is in it? You would rather talk about mzungu than the quran, silly man.

So Allah said "We substituted him with great sacrifice'. So Allah substitutes?

You can be destined to meet your fate but Allah will substitute you? Like I can be destined to suffer physical harm (e.g. like the boy) but if I show I am obedient, surrendered, Allah can substitute me so that I do not get harmed instead the lamb gets the harm that was coming to me?

In how many different ways will I continue asking the same thing?

Is there any muslim out there who can elaborate this issue? Alphdoti cannot say more than he has said. He is going round in circles.

Anatapatapa. Anapayuka payuka.
Muriel
#113 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 1:04:55 PM

Muriel wrote:

Unlike you, there are myriad additional text that can be referred to when talking about that point.

Nukuu moja umeshindwa nayo lakini umeona ni jambo la busara kabisa kurukia hoja langu na Ndugu as if umeulizwa swali kulihusu.

Mnafiki!!!!!
#114 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 2:39:52 PM

Muriel wrote:

Think man, think!

Alphdoti,

You are telling me to think? How about you just reading the Qur'an? What itches you that you do not want to refer to the Qur'an instead you rely on silly mzungus whom you accuse a lot in your myriad conspiracy theories? Are they now more trustworthy than your Qur'an?

How many times will I ask that before you answer? You will not go to the church Alphdoti, or even to the Islamic bibles. You will stay in the Qur'an! What is it about the Qur'an you cannot explain what is in it? You would rather talk about mzungu than the quran, silly man.

So Allah said "We substituted him with great sacrifice'. So Allah substitutes?

You can be destined to meet your fate but Allah will substitute you? Like I can be destined to suffer physical harm (e.g. like the boy) but if I show I am obedient, surrendered, Allah can substitute me so that I do not get harmed instead the lamb gets the harm that was coming to me?

In how many different ways will I continue asking the same thing?

Is there any muslim out there who can elaborate this issue? Alphdoti cannot say more than he has said. He is going round in circles.

Anatapatapa. Anapayuka payuka.

I have told you many times too. That idea of atonement, just drop it, it is not Islamic teaching. Even in the Bible, it was already confirmed by your scholars that it was an interpolation. That verse I have bracketed red has been removed from the Bible. And you insist in clinging to the idea?

The story of Abraham and his son Ismael was a test from Almighty God to them for the self-sacrifice in the service of Allah. They obeyed. They passed the test. God Almighty stopped Abraham from that and told him it was a test for his obedience. And in place substituted for ram.

What is so hard????
#115 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 2:47:32 PM

@muriel, you say:
1. Jesus (pbuh) died on the cross to pay for your sins
2. You say this is the idea of atonement of sin
3. You say people are born with sin

Don't you know the verses talking about this idea have now been expunged from your Bible?

You see it is the most nonsensical idea on earth. Adam and eve sinning, and you're going to go to hell for that. And the way out is that, the same God now, He knows there is no way, no way He can change these people. So He must come down to earth, go into a woman's womb and live there for 9 months, born like any other human child. With all the blood and the marks and the umbilical code, which made his mother impure for 40 days says the Bible. Circumcised on the 8th day. Living like any other human being, drinking milk from his mothers breast, wetting his napkins, eating food, having a call of nature, and beaten and chased around. Your Almighty God of this universe, He took that role and He died for you at the age of 33...

Please brother what is this? Where did you get these stuff from? Give us an opportunity, it is about time the Muslims took it up. That this most nonsensical idea on earth are getting converts?

Let me read you Quran, Sura Iklas chapter 112:1-4 called The Purity of Faith.
In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful.
1. Say: He is Allah, the One and Only;
2. Allah, the Eternal, Absolute;
3. He begetteth not, nor is He begotten;
4. And there is none like unto Him.
symbols
#116 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 3:32:26 PM

@muriel, you say:

Don't you know the verses talking about this idea have now been expunged from your Bible?

You see it is the most nonsensical idea on earth. Adam and eve sinning, and you're going to go to hell for that. And the way out is that, the same God now, He knows there is no way, no way He can change these people. So He must come down to earth, go into a woman's womb and live there for 9 months, born like any other human child. With all the blood and the marks and the umbilical code, which made his mother impure for 40 days says the Bible. Circumcised on the 8th day. Living like any other human being, drinking milk from his mothers breast, wetting his napkins, eating food, having a call of nature, and beaten and chased around. Your Almighty God of this universe, He took that role and He died for you at the age of 33...

Please brother what is this? Where did you get these stuff from? Give us an opportunity, it is about time the Muslims took it up. That this most nonsensical idea on earth are getting converts?

Link to that Bible? We can start discussing the previous scriptures acknowledged by the Quran and compare it to what you are saying.

Still waiting for your response. i.e. what the Quran says not your explanation.
#117 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 4:51:02 PM

symbols wrote:
@muriel, you say:

Link to that Bible? We can start discussing the previous scriptures acknowledged by the Quran and compare it to what you are saying.

@symbol, the verse John 3:16, used when preaching to justify atonement "the only BEGOTTEN!" has now been unceremoniously expunged from the Bible by your Bible revisers as a fabrication. And they didn't tell you of course!

If you can lay your hand on the RSV 1952, and compare with newer version. If you were an honest Christian and admit that you cannot consider a footnote as the Word of God.

You will be surprised also to realize that Mark chapter 16 ends on verse 8. Now the Bibles put a foot at the bottom of the page as
Mark 16:20 Verses 9–20 are bracketed in NU-Text as not original. They are lacking in Codex Sinaiticus and Codex Vaticanus, although nearly all other manuscripts of Mark contain them.
symbols
#118 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 5:26:36 PM

symbols wrote:
@muriel, you say:

@symbol, the verse John 3:16, used when preaching to justify atonement "the only BEGOTTEN!" has now been unceremoniously expunged from the Bible by your Bible revisers as a fabrication. And they didn't tell you of course!

If you can lay your hand on the RSV 1952, and compare with newer version. If you were an honest Christian and admit that you cannot consider a footnote as the Word of God.

You will be surprised also to realize that Mark chapter 16 ends on verse 8. Now the Bibles put a foot at the bottom of the page as
Mark 16:20 Verses 9–20 are bracketed in NU-Text as not original. They are lacking in Codex Sinaiticus and Codex Vaticanus, although nearly all other manuscripts of Mark contain them.

Who are my Bible revisers? Where did I say a footnote is the Word of God? Did I mention Mark?

That's the verse from RSV.I don't see anything about atonement there.Are you acknowledging what the RSV 1952 is saying as the Word of God or it's just for convenience?

#119 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 7:43:13 PM

Muriel, I've spent so much time today thinking about the archbishop of Canterbury in the context of my own spiritual experience. While searching my mind and spirit, his words came over and over.

And as the day closed it dawned on me that till the moment, I had a dearth of pure thought. 'What's a pure thought?' I wondered. After some reflection I saw that a pure thought is one that is totally selfless, and loving. A kind of thought that involves transcending day to day relationships and reality. A kind of thought that's of 'God'. Thoughts of the true Self.

It's interesting that though no man has seen God with his physical eye, seeing the true Self with the spiritual eye one can see 'God' so clearly.

'Indwelling' was the word that came to my head upon these thoughts. And thus was the archbishop's puzzle resolved. He was thinking about the mystical using religious symbols and his socio-political role. He wasn't having the thoughts of the true Self. He was careful and experiencing things around his social status and context. And his context is full of doubt.
Muriel
#120 Posted : Sunday, September 21, 2014 8:05:34 AM

Alphdoti

With me you will stay in the quran. I will afford you no diversions.

If the teaching that allah can ransom someone is unislamic then who put that particular teaching in the quran that Allah 'ransomed' someone?

At least that is an easy question that you can answer. Can you answer it?