wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Proper Parenting/Support
#1 Posted : Sunday, September 14, 2014 11:29:46 PM

Couldn't find a better title.. Anyway
Today on churchill was Equity Banks's CEO with his Family.
His wife was asked if she would consider buying his son a 600cc bike and she said No! He must work hard and buy his own.
The son confirmed that he was raised up with the belief that one must only consume what they make and for that reason, he doesn't count on his parent's support.
Now that sounds pretty responsible and mature.

The discussion made me remember a talk by a friend of mine. I was praising the work of some old men, when he interjected by saying that even though some of our beliefs sound morally upright, they are infact archaic and hinder development.
I probed him further.
The 'mtoto ajitegemee mwenyewe' teaching has no substance, it seems.
He instead supports the idea of parents offering full support if they can,as is the case with Indians.For instance;

Kasam has a rich son. He employs him to manage one of his firms in....Nakuru. He ensures the son has a nice place to stay,then requests his good friend Ali to look after his son and ensure that he doesn't go hungry.He even goes a step further to find him a 'wife' smile and the cycle repeats itself.

That makes the son fully concentrate on expanding biz instead of chasing bad debts and mipangos. By the time he is 30,dude is a millionaire.
The struggling kenyan on the other hand is just starting out at that age.ie If he has started..
With 89 kids out of wedlock,no house,carloan,a hundred mipangos,mashida tu....A Quincy in the making.

In short the 'rest' won't let their kids suffer just because they did.We could be sadists without knowing.

Where's the lesson? # assembles the microscope#

sheri
#2 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 1:35:20 AM

Both the equity guy and muindi are right in their different parenting styles the end result is indepedence. Is the Equity guy mean to his kids? Tyco can answer that in simple or complicated terms depending on his moods.
#3 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 1:49:28 AM

Sweetie, 87% of wazuans are single (7% by choice 93% by their bad manners),8% are married with no kids,2% are married with kids who are over 13 and rarely log into wazua due to stress ya madeni the remaining 3% of us are married with kids below 13 years and we spend most of our time worrying whether our kids will turn out to be straight or gays/lesbians

In short don't expect wazuans to ppositively or actively contribute to this tthread
#4 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 7:36:10 AM

Sweetie, 87% of wazuans are single (7% by choice 93% by their bad manners),8% are married with no kids,2% are married with kids who are over 13 and rarely log into wazua due to stress ya madeni the remaining 3% of us are married with kids below 13 years and we spend most of our time worrying whether our kids will turn out to be straight or gays/lesbians

In short don't expect wazuans to ppositively or actively contribute to this tthread

ha ha ha ! go eat breakfast and come back.. I dont believe your stats.
its2013
#5 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 7:46:19 AM

Parenting is about equipping the offspring with skills to survive and thrive and it heavily depends on immediate cultural context. You can't judge either to be right or wrong at a glance. It is the examples potrayed/offered by the parent/parental figure coupled along with the lessons taught that make an impact. You'd have to look at the daily lessons taught and the consistency with which the parent acts/provides a role model example.
Pretty hurts
#6 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 7:48:53 AM

#7 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 10:33:52 AM

His wife was asked if she would consider buying his son a 600cc bike and she said No! He must work hard and buy his own.
The son confirmed that he was raised up with the belief that one must only consume what they make and for that reason, he doesn't count on his parent's support.

The discussion made me remember a talk by a friend of mine. I was praising the work of some old men, when he interjected by saying that even though some of our beliefs sound morally upright, they are infact archaic and hinder development.
I probed him further.
He instead supports the idea of parents offering full support if they can,as is the case with Indians.For instance;

Kasam has a rich son. He employs him to manage one of his firms in....Nakuru. He ensures the son has a nice place to stay,then requests his good friend Ali to look after his son and ensure that he doesn't go hungry.He even goes a step further to find him a 'wife' smile and the cycle repeats itself.

That makes the son fully concentrate on expanding biz instead of chasing bad debts and mipangos. By the time he is 30,dude is a millionaire.
The struggling kenyan on the other hand is just starting out at that age.ie If he has started..
With 89 kids out of wedlock,no house,carloan,a hundred mipangos,mashida tu....A Quincy in the making.

In short the 'rest' won't let their kids suffer just because they did.We could be sadists without knowing.

Proper parenting is about cultivating spiritual maturity. Not affording things or finding earnings.
#8 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 11:44:36 AM

ha ha ha ! go eat breakfast and come back.. I dont believe your stats.

These stats were shared and validated by lady admin
kiwaru
#9 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 12:11:55 PM

I probed him further.

Incidentally, two of Dr Mwangi's children went to Starehe after which they went to Brown Uni and Canergie Leadership institute. Those who have interacted with those guys (Dr Mwangi's children) will tell you they exude confidence but are very very humble. I posit that they have grown up with the the philosophy of "know many, trust a few, paddle your own canoe"
Parenting is an intentional skill which requires time and effort. Key life lessons must intentionally be distilled from parent or mentor to the child or mentee.
Compare kids of Dr Mwangi and other children from other birrionares and you will see what I mean
kiwaru
#10 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 12:25:16 PM

I have come to the conclusion that the two most important influences in a child's life are the parenting environment (at home) and the schooling environment. Remember that a child progressively spends more time in school than at home, hence choice of school matters at primary (very), high school (very very very very) and college (very very).
But the foundation is set at home. If you allow your child to grow like weeds (pun intended) then dont expect the teacher to uproot him/her.
kiwaru
#11 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 12:32:03 PM

And i believe that since one cannot control all factors... when all is said and done, PRAY FOR YOUR CHILD
#12 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 3:33:49 PM

The values we inculcate in our kids matter as well:
1. Humility,
2. Hard work
3. Discipline
4. Respect all these are home based and its all upto parenting. The schooling bit cannot be gainsaid.
#13 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 5:25:05 PM

kiwaru wrote:
And i believe that since one cannot control all factors... when all is said and done, PRAY FOR YOUR CHILD

Word! Wait a minute.........yaani unajiita kiwaru Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
kiwaru
#14 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 6:49:27 PM

kiwaru wrote:

Word! Wait a minute.........yaani unajiita kiwaru Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Ni nini simonkabz... ni nini ??ii??
kiwaru
#15 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 7:01:22 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
1. Humility,
2. Hard work
3. Discipline
4. Respect all these are home based and its all upto parenting. The schooling bit cannot be gainsaid.

Dear Sir / Madam,
Umenena kama elders kadhaa... I had compiled a ka-list for my kid(s) but the one you put above is so very on point. I'll just add God-fearing and honesty
#16 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 7:04:51 PM

[YOUTUBE]http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=rwXe5eKZr6M[/YOUTUBE]

Have you guys watched this movie called "The Ultimate Gift"? You better
kiwaru
#17 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 7:29:11 PM

[YOUTUBE]http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=rwXe5eKZr6M[/YOUTUBE]

Have you guys watched this movie called "The Ultimate Gift"? You better

Niko na EHDD copy... d'oh!
#18 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 8:25:51 PM

kiwaru wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:
1. Humility,
2. Hard work
3. Discipline

Dear Sir / Madam,
Umenena kama elders kadhaa... I had compiled a ka-list for my kid(s) but the one you put above is so very on point. I'll just add God-fearing and honesty

On Point! Parents play a big role in support (financial/emotional etc) of the kids, quality healthcare, education, roof, food etc. Teach them too the culture of saving, entrepreneurship and investing at an early age so they grow up with independence mindset. When all above are passed from generation to generation, then you will have a generally well to do successful family in years to come.

The sad part is those parents who burden their kids with their own needs and that of their siblings. When a guy is 30, he is still paying fees for 8 of his siblings and his parents still expect handouts from him and he has a young family of his own! Stress mingi inaanza...and the cycle of poverty never leaves that family.
#19 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 9:54:26 PM

kiwaru wrote:

Hii....

...ama hii?
#20 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 10:14:10 PM

kiwaru wrote:

Hii....

...ama hii?