wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Maize Lethal Necrosis (MLN) disease
otienosmall
#1 Posted : Sunday, September 14, 2014 2:54:22 PM

The MLN is a relatively new viral crop disease in Kenya. The disease has no cure. Once maize crop has been affected by the disease, we are advised that the only option left is to cut, put it in a heap and burn it or alternatively uproot and bury deep in the soil to reduce spreading. Once an area has been affected, the disease is said that will linger on in excess of 3yrs.

This crazy disease is spreading like bush fire! I first noted some ‘yellowing’ in a few crops some three or so weeks ago, to date it has wiped out over 10 acres of my farm. I am just wondering how do I even start burying all that in the soil?

If mitigation efforts are not going to be realized soon, it appears like this will spell doom for maize production, a staple food in the country. I remember some years back a disease manifesting itself in a similar manner completely wiped out orange farming in some parts of the country. A similar fate on maize crop could be catastrophic.Pray Pray
#2 Posted : Sunday, September 14, 2014 7:24:51 PM

pole otieno.
the north rift,our maize basket it facing Same fate. I wonder why baba is getting more airtime than this serious maize terrorist./ebola

another maize/food crisis is surely in the offing .

unga price might hit 200 very soon.
Mtafiti
#3 Posted : Sunday, September 14, 2014 8:23:33 PM

If you planted maize seeds called sijui nduma,too bad. BTW, those kienyenji seeds are said to be safe. Who knows?
otienosmall
#4 Posted : Sunday, September 14, 2014 9:46:53 PM

@Mtafiti; nduma and kienyejis are not done in my area. You just can’t do commercial with such. The problem is not seed. This year I had done 614 and 627 and both are affected. Actually, the disease is airborne so once it is in an area it’s bound to spread.
#5 Posted : Sunday, September 14, 2014 11:15:38 PM

This thing was in the news last year. North rift should niw try crop rotation and plant other grain plants.
sheri
#6 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 1:41:06 AM

mpobiz wrote:
This thing was in the news last year. North rift should niw try crop rotation and plant other grain plants.

And then baba will start the unga revolution at Tahir square
mburuke
#7 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 7:01:14 AM

This thing is lethal especially coz its a combination of two viruses. However i know Cimmyt In collaboration with KARI are actively trying to develop a variety that is resistant to the disease but that will definitely take some time.All in all pole Have you enquired from Kephis/KARI/kenya seed if they may have any tolerant varieties for your area?
One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
otienosmall
#8 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 7:54:50 AM

I have checked with several seed distributors and so far there are no resistant varieties. Guess will have to wait till the ongoing research comes up with something. Meanwhile tuta shift to wheat wacha watu wakule chapatti, sourghum, cassava na kadharika. The disease appears to spread more through pollen once a sickly plant sprout a stamen, it affects all the neighboring plants at the end of which the whole farm gets wiped out it is a very serious situation in deed. We will soon assemble at the Tahir square for that unga revolution
Muriel
#9 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 8:53:49 AM

Mtafiti wrote:
If you planted maize seeds called sijui nduma,too bad. BTW, those kienyenji seeds are said to be safe. Who knows?

Surely you mean Duma.

They are hybrid seeds.
otienosmall
#10 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 11:21:48 AM

Muriel wrote:
Mtafiti wrote:

Surely you mean Duma.

They are hybrid seeds.

He must have meant Duma (and not Ndῦma- arrow roots). It is a maize variety tolerant of heat/draught, has short maturity duration (3 months). This is more restricted to Ukambani I think
#11 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 12:12:50 PM

mburuke wrote:
This thing is lethal especially coz its a combination of two viruses. However i know Cimmyt In collaboration with KARI are actively trying to develop a variety that is resistant to the disease but that will definitely take some time.All in all pole Have you enquired from Kephis/KARI/kenya seed if they may have any tolerant varieties for your area?

The Kenya Plant Health Inspectorate Service (KEPHIS) has approved three new maize varieties that are resistant to the deadly necrosis disease
maize-disease-Kenya-KEPHISThe new maize varieties are resistant to necrosis disease.
The Tumaini 1 variety, also known as Type Wei 101, will soon be released to Kenyan farmers and has been deemed suitable to farmers in Bomet, Nakuru and Narok counties as well as areas in the lower eastern part of the East African country.
KEPHIS has bred the new variety in collaboration with the Kenya Agricultural Research Institute (KARI), the Global Maize Programme of the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Centres (CIMMYT) and the Africa Agricultural and Technology Foundation (AATF).
Three other highly tolerant varieties – Wei 108 and WM 1259 both from KARI and MZ 1202 from the Kenya Seed Company (KSC) – have also been undergoing further testing.
"Tests are at advanced stage," said KEPHIS managing director Dr James Onsando. "We are fast-tracking the process and the varieties could be released before the end of the year."

http://www.africanfarmin...-given-approval-in-kenya
Mtafiti
#12 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 12:30:29 PM

otienosmall wrote:
Muriel wrote:
Mtafiti wrote:

Surely you mean Duma.

They are hybrid seeds.

He must have meant Duma (and not Ndῦma- arrow roots). It is a maize variety tolerant of heat/draught, has short maturity duration (3 months). This is more restricted to Ukambani I think

Thanks @Marie & @Small. ...meant Duma. We observed that the Kienyenji type somehow resisted while this hybrid type was all taken down in a two acre farm.Things are bad.
Mtafiti
#13 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 12:39:44 PM

Mtafiti wrote:
otienosmall wrote:
Muriel wrote:
Mtafiti wrote:

Surely you mean Duma.

They are hybrid seeds.

Thanks @Marie & @Small. ...meant Duma. We observed that the Kienyenji type somehow resisted while this hybrid type was all taken down in a two acre farm.Things are bad.

Sorry @Muriel. Word prediction problem for a new farerd'oh!
Muriel
#14 Posted : Monday, September 15, 2014 1:12:33 PM

Mtafiti wrote:
otienosmall wrote:
Muriel wrote:
Mtafiti wrote:

Surely you mean Duma.

They are hybrid seeds.

Sorry @Muriel. Word prediction problem for a new farerd'oh!

Usijali.

Kienyeji farming, organic farming are all tough but when all things have been considered, are better.