wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

Time to Fully Privitise KenGen & KPLC?
#1 Posted : Saturday, August 08, 2009 1:12:00 PM

damn. When KPLC can't even follow a rationing schedule they created or reliably supply electricity and their brothers KenGen as a habit cannot generate sufficient power for reasons known to them,despite billing taxpayers billions of shillings over time,I think it is time Kenyans sought a permanent fix to this crap.

KPLC distributes,KenGen generates. To be fair to KPLC you cannot distribute what doesn't exist so I'll direct my full bile at the past and current political idiots who've reduced parastatals to the inefficient money sucking taxpayer funded monoliths they are.

I'm not one to encourage selling of national assets but it's simply high time we fully privitised KenGen and KPLC to improve efficiency and shield them from negative political influence. People,your solutions or what does it take to achieve this???
wanyo
#2 Posted : Saturday, August 08, 2009 3:34:00 PM

Politics.

the issue is MAU. Somebody is seeking justification to evict people from mau so that there will be less reactions when people are made to associate power rationing with MAU occupations.

i agree with you need to privitise to make critical systems like water and power(read electricity) immune to politics.
i too
solloh
#3 Posted : Saturday, August 08, 2009 3:48:00 PM

Kengen intends to raise about 70 billion over the next 5 years to double its capacity through unreliable hydro and expensive geothermal. Why not just use the money to build thermal plants using coal ?
We have sizeable unexploited coal deposits and I dont know of any industrial country which relies on hydro. Even Eskom in SA (kengens equivalent there) mainly uses thermal from coal.
Our electricity is expensive because of hydro and geo-thermal . This green energy fad,wind and all the rest just means our people will remain poor because no right thinking company will set up shop in kenya

money by the day
#4 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 1:15:00 AM

@solloh,isnt geothermal cheaper in the long run? Heard that we have potential to tap over 3000mw of geothermal power alone. If only mzungu left last month....

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
#5 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 7:14:00 AM

Interestingly,the privatisation of KenGen & KPLC is the main reason we DO NOT have enough elec!!

Read one of last week's BD...

GoK has been willing to pump tens of billions into both utilities but it can't because of CMA and NSE regulations!! So they have now set up two new parastatals - Kenya Elec Dist Co. and the Geothermal Dev. Co.

Regarding Green energy,have you heard about the 300MW wind turbine project at Lake Turkana? They are now negotiating a PPA with KPLC. This is a fully private sector project. On completion,it will make Kenya the country with the largest propotion of renewable powered elec in the world...25% of grid....and wind is not as expensive as thermal.

Regarding SA's elec: It is cheaper because their power generating plants and distribution lines are old and they have fully paid back their finance costs....not because they use coal (which they have huge deposits of,anyway). Ours are young and most still have hefty finance cost.

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Brewer
#6 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 8:02:00 AM

Mukiha,quite insightful. In other words,government is getting back to power generation to circumvent Kengen,while other players like the ones at the turkana project are outdoing kengen and taking the lead on alternative/green power generation. As a shareholder in Kengen,I should be worrying,right?
The General
#7 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 2:31:00 PM

The article was: 'States big return to power business'

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
wote
#8 Posted : Monday, August 10, 2009 3:43:00 PM

I know you guys will vilify me but so be it. The whole scenario of being without electricity and water is indeed a national shame. It shows how our so called policy maker lack fore sight,and that is four decades after independence.

It also shows how clever Kenyans have really become,because if they were stupid they would demand such services to be offered before paying taxes.

Three quarters of HongKong Island is reserved for conservation,rivers follow all over the place,no known minerals,use petroleum for electricity and yet they pay about one third for electricity use than their Kenya counter- parts. And that is in dollars terms. why is that so,because they are stupid and Kenyans are cleverer.

Most countries have a master plan for their cities and towns more than twenty years a head. This is projected in terms of service delivery to its citizen,they do that because they are stupid,clever Kenyans do not need to do any planning.

So because we are such clever people we probably deserve to be in the situation we are in. If we were stupid enough,may be we would demand to be colonized again and i can assure you that all the simply things like electricity,descent housing,clean drinking water,simply health facilities and impunity would be sorted.

wote
The General
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 6:18:00 AM

@ Wote,

And you are the cleverest of us all.. You are able to see the 'real problems' that Kenya faces.

wote
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 7:34:00 AM

The general,Because of my stupidity i have since sold off my house in Nairobi to a void paying for services that are never offered.

the clever guy like your goodself deserve the situation you have invested in.

On a light note,there is no power rationing in Mogadishu.

wote
#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 10:35:00 AM

I beg to differ. On a wider scale,I think Kenya has no shortage of promisory blueprints,plans and Visions. It simply scores poorest in implementation of these. This is largely in my view arising from a lack of political goodwill to prioritise this accurately and implement,not eat(!) from,it.

A significant number of Kenyans vote for tribal chiefs out to help 'us' 'eat' from these institutions. These institutions provide 'jobs' for us once the political cabal is in office. It's from these jobs we accord 'ourselves' five years from which to 'eat' until the next regime has it's chance. Who has time implement these policies drafted years ago by a well meaning Kenyan meanwhile? it's deal after deal 'we' are after.

Remove political interference and I think these institutions,as examples,will fare better - in implementation. More accountability and competition will breed a culture of efficiency and positive outcomes.
Viny
#12 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 11:45:00 AM

What do u suggest,shuld v dispose off kplc & kengen shares that v hold Mr. Ectasy

Vinny
wote
#13 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 12:22:00 PM

@ecstacy,kindly educate me if am wrong on my general assessment of the situation in Kenya.

I do not know if you should need political good will to tell a judge to adjudicate on a case within say one year instead of the same happening in ten years.

I do not know if one needs political goodwill to tell NCC to collect garbage once you have paid for such service before hand.

I do not know if one needs political goodwill to tell KP&LC or KenGen that one years from now there will be more customers for them. Please''

wote
#14 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 2:58:00 PM

I'm one who stands for the rule of law...in a country where impunity has risen to record levels...

For the issues we're discussing here,political goodwill at the least goes a long way in raising the masses psyche to follow these laws or simply do the right thing.. catalysed by the carrot and stick effect...it has dramatic results

Example: Kenya is supposedly fighting corruption in 2009 as it was 2003. The difference is that in 2003 Kenyans could carry out citizens arrests on corrupt traffic policemen as the fight was LED from the TOP - recall the Uhuru Park inauguration?? Today?..after Anglo-Leasing,the Maize scandal and a plathora of others..and the difference is clear. In fact today,the laws are better..

Example: The matatu madness had spiralled out of control until Michuki came round enforced sanity in the public transport sector. Kenyans then believed it was doeable and even again assisted the police in arresting offending vehicles.

Impunity is breeding across the Kenyan system. The best laws with the least intention to follow them is just paperwork. The best individuals for a job with the least resources to deliver their mandate is a waste of public funds. It's called lack of political goodwill. We have individuals amidst us who can rise and inspire the nation to greatness with the current laws and even most civil service workers. Kenyans await. President Kagame is not a saint but he epitomises what I am saying.
#15 Posted: : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 3:23:00 PM

i believe that as long as we have the 'white hair' pumbavus at the helm we ain't going any where...

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
wote
#16 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2009 3:51:00 PM

@ecstacy,we are actually talking the same language and untill we start acting responsible we are on an unstopable move towards backwardness .

About the laws being better than in 2003 i do not now that,all i know is that because of the rot in our system that has corrupted most minds,we only think about yesterday and today but never tomorrow. This has contributed to the current bad situations in the country.

A Kagame for Kenya would be more than God's blessings for us and i can assure you that i would hold a prayer for my country the whole week.

wote
jerry
#17 Posted : Sunday, September 14, 2014 1:07:12 PM

It has been over FIVE years now. Are we still praying for KenGen, KPLC/KP or we are ok now??
"A Kagame for Kenya would be more than God's blessings for us and i can assure you that i would hold a prayer for my country the whole week"
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.