wazua Mon, Jun 16, 2025

37 Pages«<1112131415>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
#241 Posted : Wednesday, August 27, 2014 4:18:28 PM

I also think they will get it, but if it so happens that some crazy from Vietnam hacks into the system and cleans out some accounts...the case studies will be very interesting. They should organize a hackathon
jwatesh
#242 Posted : Friday, August 29, 2014 9:02:03 AM

Looks like GSMA did not have the capacity to test Equity Bank's SIM card yet they released a crazy report just to support their own (Safaricom)....member is back in the game
http://www.standardmedia...y-recants-crucial-report
DBLyon
#243 Posted : Friday, August 29, 2014 1:31:11 PM

XSK wrote:

I hope they will get it. The MPESA charges suddenly become unbearable. Like many Kenyans I want a cheap mobile money transfer solution and Equity seems to be offering exactly that!!!

And yet before they offered the service you went to an ATM to withdraw money and drove to the people you needed to pay. So much more time and money spent. I know that consumers very quickly get used to outstanding benefits and demand even more, but I still get amazed at how short our memories are.
When you live for others' opinions, you are dead.

- Carlos Slim Helu
Kastone
#244 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2014 1:07:31 PM

Equity stating their price before getting the go ahead was a disaster. Out of topic kidogo, but this guy has won in life http://kenyainvesting.bl...ake-in-equity-bank.html
“The beauty of success is that it doesn’t matter how many times you have failed, you only have to be right once and then everyone can tell you how lucky you are.” - Mark Cuban
mulla
#245 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 10:34:37 AM

@kastone....agree...Equity should have kept their fees under wraps until launch of their thin sim...that way safaricom might not have felt so threatened so early in the game....
innovator
#246 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 10:20:33 PM

Fight spills to parliament, the two giants presented their sides to the communication committee, it was a tough debate.
Ericsson
#247 Posted : Saturday, September 06, 2014 5:18:19 PM

Waste of time a decision has already been made by the regulator and the leaders of the country concerning the technology adoption
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#248 Posted : Saturday, September 06, 2014 6:44:47 PM

Mundu wa nyumba should take over to save wanjiku from this green monister.
#249 Posted : Sunday, September 07, 2014 7:18:19 AM

this thing will shake safaricom to its core

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; KQ 544,100 ABP 7.15; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
#250 Posted : Sunday, September 07, 2014 4:54:13 PM

We are marching to October na hii MVNO bado kufikia wananchi......2 months past deadline,..I suspect there are some serious technical issues Equity must be grappling with. Has anyone physically tested the thing?
About the GSM thing,....it might have seemed frivolous, but lack of support from this body is something I am sure top Risk managers at Equity have pointed out to the daktari. If some intrepid inmate at Kamiti finds a loophole in that thing Equity will be staring down a huge risk of litigation. This type of scenario is exactly why mpesa and mpesa-like systems cannot catch on in Europe, America or any developed economy. MPesa is not backed by any ISO or similar standard, its not a known, well defined protocol.
Ironic smile
#251 Posted : Sunday, September 07, 2014 5:57:47 PM

innovator wrote:
Fight spills to parliament, the two giants presented their sides to the communication committee, it was a tough debate.

Now what are parliamentarians to do? Waste of resources.
patrazi
#252 Posted : Sunday, September 07, 2014 7:35:52 PM

DBLyon wrote:
XSK wrote:

I hope they will get it. The MPESA charges suddenly become unbearable. Like many Kenyans I want a cheap mobile money transfer solution and Equity seems to be offering exactly that!!!

And yet before they offered the service you went to an ATM to withdraw money and drove to the people you needed to pay. So much more time and money spent. I know that consumers very quickly get used to outstanding benefits and demand even more, but I still get amazed at how short our memories are.

Kenyans forget so fast. We embraced the green monster becoz it saved us from something. We now want to dump and create another monster.
innovator
#253 Posted : Sunday, September 07, 2014 8:06:30 PM

innovator wrote:

Delay delay delay, next will be the courts.
innovator
#254 Posted : Sunday, September 07, 2014 8:08:40 PM

innovator wrote:

innovator
#255 Posted : Sunday, September 07, 2014 8:11:37 PM

innovator wrote:

Delay delay delay, next might be the courts.
Kingotore
#256 Posted : Sunday, September 07, 2014 9:19:31 PM

Why equity keep chasing for thin sim card.it wasting time, they should go for full simcard instead of shortcut. Most wanjiku will fear to mount that thin simcard especially now fraudsters has gone digital. Wanjiku will cry when kingotore goes out of there account.
GOOD TO GREAT. KINGOTORE
XSK
#257 Posted : Sunday, September 07, 2014 9:25:49 PM

patrazi wrote:
DBLyon wrote:
XSK wrote:

Kenyans forget so fast. We embraced the green monster becoz it saved us from something. We now want to dump and create another monster.

@DBlyon n Patrazi

Cost vs benefit analysis...as long as i can achieve the same thing in a cheaper way, i will go for the cheaper option. I will do so ad infinitum.
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
The optimist
#258 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 2:53:22 PM

Parliament has suspended Equity's thin SIM - CITIZEN TV
#259 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 2:54:57 PM

The optimist wrote:

You just beat me to the beat smile
#260 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 3:29:01 PM

muganda wrote:
The optimist wrote:

You just beat me to the beat smile

Using what powers .......... surely this Kenya of ours.