#241 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2014 4:46:55 PM

Findio of an Ebola patient being 'arrested'

https://www.facebook.com...&type=2&theater

Njaa ndio inasumbua watu bwana

SAD

Yeah... Liberia imports most of its rice from outside and their ships are not being allowed to dock in some places and this will cause a huge hunger problem.
Muriel
#242 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2014 7:59:40 AM

SAD

Yeah... Liberia imports most of its rice from outside and their ships are not being allowed to dock in some places and this will cause a huge hunger problem.

Tragedy of the African.

Consuming what he does not produce then sobbing about it.
#243 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2014 10:13:13 AM

Muriel wrote:

SAD

Tragedy of the African.

Consuming what he does not produce then sobbing about it.

laugh
laugh
laugh

mzungu mwitu!
bubethi
#244 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2014 1:18:42 PM

Does anyone have an update of the suspected case in Nakuru?

RINK
#245 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2014 1:20:56 PM

bubethi wrote:
Does anyone have an update of the suspected case in Nakuru?

RINK

Word is, nothing serious.
#246 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2014 1:30:08 PM

Ahahahaha.... A lady and a child from Liberia are turned away from entering Kenya through JKIA 9 days ago. The next we hear about the child is his sickness in nakuru... They traveled to Burundi and launched their re-entry from there... Only in Kenya!
#247 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2014 1:32:12 PM

Ahahahaha.... A lady and a child from Liberia are turned away from entering Kenya through JKIA 9 days ago. The next we hear about the child is his sickness in nakuru... They traveled to Burundi and launched their re-entry from there... Only in Kenya!
#248 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2014 1:35:48 PM

Kwani you think Liberians have ebola springing up in them? Test everyone!
Jaina
#249 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2014 2:57:03 PM

Why is kenyan media competing on which media house will report the first case?
#250 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2014 3:09:00 PM

Jaina wrote:
Why is kenyan media competing on which media house will report the first case?

kenyans have the right to be informed when a west african vomits and diarrheas within our borders! the media has the responsibility to bring to our attention and inform us of incidences of congolese vomitting and diarrheing because this is the kind of thing that makes news worth watching.
#251 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2014 9:51:22 AM

Total fatalities so far... 50%

Guinea 771 494 64% fatality
Liberia 1,698 871 51% fatality
Sierra Leone 1,216 476 39% fatality
Total 3,685 1,841 50% fatality

Nigeria 21 7 33.3% fatality
Senegal 1 0 0% fatality
Total 22 7 31.8% fatality
#252 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2014 5:00:05 PM

Vickie Hawkins (Executive Director Médecins Sans Frontières) wrote:
Six months into the worst Ebola epidemic in history, the world is losing the battle to contain it. The British government, like a number of other states around the world, has invested in biological threat response. You have a political and humanitarian responsibility to immediately utilise these capabilities in Ebola-affected countries.
In West Africa, cases and deaths continue to surge. Riots are breaking out. Isolation centres are overwhelmed.
Health workers on the front lines are becoming infected and are dying in shocking numbers. Others have fled in fear, leaving people without care for even the most common illnesses. Entire health systems have crumbled.
Ebola treatment centres are reduced to places where people go to die alone, where little more than palliative care is offered. It is impossible to keep up with the sheer number of infected people pouring into facilities. In Sierra Leone, infectious bodies are rotting in the streets. Rather than building new Ebola care centres in Liberia, we are forced to build crematoria.
MSF medical teams have been on the front lines of this outbreak since it emerged. We have doubled our staff over the last month, but they are completely overwhelmed. We have been ringing alarm bells for months, but the response has been too little, too late.
While funding announcements, roadmaps, and finding vaccines and treatments are welcome, they will not stop the epidemic today. We have been losing for the past six months. We must win over the next three. And we can.
To curb the epidemic, it is imperative that states, including the UK, immediately deploy civilian and military assets with expertise in bio-hazard containment. We call upon the UK government to dispatch disaster response teams, backed by the full weight of logistical capabilities. This should be done in close collaboration with the affected countries.
Without this deployment, we will never get the epidemic under control.

The following must be prioritised:
• Scaling up isolation centres;
• Deploying mobile laboratories to improve diagnostic capabilities;
• Establishing dedicated air bridges to move personnel and equipment to and within West Africa;
• Building a regional network of field hospitals to treat suspected or infected medical personnel.
While these disaster response teams will help to immediately shore up the response on the ground, the WHO and other public health agencies must put the Ebola Road Map into operation.
We must also address the collapse of state infrastructure. The health system in Liberia has collapsed. Pregnant women experiencing complications have nowhere to turn. People are also dying of malaria and diarrhoea. Hospitals
need to be reopened, and newly created.
Lastly, we must change the collective mindset driving the response to the epidemic.
Coercive measures, such as laws criminalising the failure to report suspected cases, and forced quarantines, are driving people underground. This is leading to the concealment of cases, and is pushing the sick away from health systems. These measures have only served to breed fear and unrest, rather than contain the virus.
UN member states cannot focus solely on measures to protect their own borders. Only by battling the epidemic at its roots can we stem it. This is a transnational crisis, with social, economic and security implications for the
African continent.
It is your historic responsibility to act. We cannot cut off the affected countries and hope this epidemic will simply burn out. To put out this fire, we must run into the burning building. Only governments such as the UK have the resources. Please use them to address this desperate crisis.
#253 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2014 6:48:38 PM

Vickie Hawkins (Executive Director Médecins Sans Frontières) wrote:
Six months into the worst Ebola epidemic in history, the world is losing the battle to contain it. The British government, like a number of other states around the world, has invested in biological threat response. You have a political and humanitarian responsibility to immediately utilise these capabilities in Ebola-affected countries.
In West Africa, cases and deaths continue to surge. Riots are breaking out. Isolation centres are overwhelmed.
Health workers on the front lines are becoming infected and are dying in shocking numbers. Others have fled in fear, leaving people without care for even the most common illnesses. Entire health systems have crumbled.
Ebola treatment centres are reduced to places where people go to die alone, where little more than palliative care is offered. It is impossible to keep up with the sheer number of infected people pouring into facilities. In Sierra Leone, infectious bodies are rotting in the streets. Rather than building new Ebola care centres in Liberia, we are forced to build crematoria.
MSF medical teams have been on the front lines of this outbreak since it emerged. We have doubled our staff over the last month, but they are completely overwhelmed. We have been ringing alarm bells for months, but the response has been too little, too late.
While funding announcements, roadmaps, and finding vaccines and treatments are welcome, they will not stop the epidemic today. We have been losing for the past six months. We must win over the next three. And we can.
To curb the epidemic, it is imperative that states, including the UK, immediately deploy civilian and military assets with expertise in bio-hazard containment. We call upon the UK government to dispatch disaster response teams, backed by the full weight of logistical capabilities. This should be done in close collaboration with the affected countries.
Without this deployment, we will never get the epidemic under control.

The following must be prioritised:
• Scaling up isolation centres;
• Deploying mobile laboratories to improve diagnostic capabilities;
• Establishing dedicated air bridges to move personnel and equipment to and within West Africa;
• Building a regional network of field hospitals to treat suspected or infected medical personnel.
While these disaster response teams will help to immediately shore up the response on the ground, the WHO and other public health agencies must put the Ebola Road Map into operation.
We must also address the collapse of state infrastructure. The health system in Liberia has collapsed. Pregnant women experiencing complications have nowhere to turn. People are also dying of malaria and diarrhoea. Hospitals
need to be reopened, and newly created.
Lastly, we must change the collective mindset driving the response to the epidemic.
Coercive measures, such as laws criminalising the failure to report suspected cases, and forced quarantines, are driving people underground. This is leading to the concealment of cases, and is pushing the sick away from health systems. These measures have only served to breed fear and unrest, rather than contain the virus.
UN member states cannot focus solely on measures to protect their own borders. Only by battling the epidemic at its roots can we stem it. This is a transnational crisis, with social, economic and security implications for the
African continent.
It is your historic responsibility to act. We cannot cut off the affected countries and hope this epidemic will simply burn out. To put out this fire, we must run into the burning building. Only governments such as the UK have the resources. Please use them to address this desperate crisis.

@sukuma, MSF, have put it succinctly the WHO are still groping in the dark or in their own bureaucratic labyrinths, Uncls Sam is yet to decide esp ib regard ro direct impact of ebola on their own country. Time ia of essence
mkonomtupu
#254 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 11:12:55 AM

theory based on the monthly increases of Ebola starting at 1.86 ROI (RATE OF INFECTION) in March to the size of the world's population how long could this disease kill and spread if left unchecked and that spread rate is not slowed and no cures are found. Why does Ebola scare us in our worse nightmares? These numbers tell you why.

Mar, 2014 - Infected: 104 Dead: 62
Apr, 2014 - Infected: 194 Dead: 116
May, 2014 - Infected: 360 Dead: 216
Jun, 2014 - Infected: 670 Dead: 402
Jul, 2014 - Infected: 1,247 Dead: 748
Aug, 2014 - Infected: 2,319 Dead: 1,391
Sep, 2014 - Infected: 4,313 Dead: 2,588
Oct, 2014 - Infected: 8,022 Dead: 4,813
Nov, 2014 - Infected: 14,921 Dead: 8,953
Dec, 2014 - Infected: 27,753 Dead: 16,652
Jan, 2015 - Infected: 51,621 Dead: 30,973
Feb, 2015 - Infected: 96,016 Dead: 57,610
Mar, 2015 - Infected: 178,590 Dead: 107,154
Apr, 2015 - Infected: 332,177 Dead: 199,306
May, 2015 - Infected: 617,849 Dead: 370,709
Jun, 2015 - Infected: 1,149,199 Dead: 689,519
Jul, 2015 - Infected: 2,137,510 Dead: 1,282,506
Aug, 2015 - Infected: 3,975,768 Dead: 2,385,461
Sep, 2015 - Infected: 7,394,928 Dead: 4,436,957
Oct, 2015 - Infected: 13,754,567 Dead: 8,252,740
Nov, 2015 - Infected: 25,583,494 Dead: 15,350,096
Dec, 2015 - Infected: 47,585,299 Dead: 28,551,179
Jan, 2016 - Infected: 88,508,656 Dead: 53,105,193
Feb, 2016 - Infected: 164,626,099 Dead: 98,775,660
Mar, 2016 - Infected: 306,204,545 Dead: 183,722,727
Apr, 2016 - Infected: 569,540,453 Dead: 341,724,272
May, 2016 - Infected: 1,059,345,243 Dead: 635,607,146
Jun, 2016 - Infected: 1,970,382,153 Dead: 1,182,229,292
Jul, 2016 - Infected: 3,664,910,804 Dead: 2,198,946,482
Aug, 2016 - Infected: 6,816,734,096 Dead: 4,090,040,457

@masukuma, worst case scenario when i say this I realized mother nature can be quite efficient in downsizing human populationPray Pray Pray
#255 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 1:05:55 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
theory based on the monthly increases of Ebola starting at 1.86 ROI (RATE OF INFECTION) in March to the size of the world's population how long could this disease kill and spread if left unchecked and that spread rate is not slowed and no cures are found. Why does Ebola scare us in our worse nightmares? These numbers tell you why.

Mar, 2014 - Infected: 104 Dead: 62
Apr, 2014 - Infected: 194 Dead: 116
May, 2014 - Infected: 360 Dead: 216
Jun, 2014 - Infected: 670 Dead: 402
Jul, 2014 - Infected: 1,247 Dead: 748
Aug, 2014 - Infected: 2,319 Dead: 1,391
Sep, 2014 - Infected: 4,313 Dead: 2,588
Oct, 2014 - Infected: 8,022 Dead: 4,813
Nov, 2014 - Infected: 14,921 Dead: 8,953
Dec, 2014 - Infected: 27,753 Dead: 16,652
Jan, 2015 - Infected: 51,621 Dead: 30,973
Feb, 2015 - Infected: 96,016 Dead: 57,610
Mar, 2015 - Infected: 178,590 Dead: 107,154
Apr, 2015 - Infected: 332,177 Dead: 199,306
May, 2015 - Infected: 617,849 Dead: 370,709
Jun, 2015 - Infected: 1,149,199 Dead: 689,519
Jul, 2015 - Infected: 2,137,510 Dead: 1,282,506
Aug, 2015 - Infected: 3,975,768 Dead: 2,385,461
Sep, 2015 - Infected: 7,394,928 Dead: 4,436,957
Oct, 2015 - Infected: 13,754,567 Dead: 8,252,740
Nov, 2015 - Infected: 25,583,494 Dead: 15,350,096
Dec, 2015 - Infected: 47,585,299 Dead: 28,551,179
Jan, 2016 - Infected: 88,508,656 Dead: 53,105,193
Feb, 2016 - Infected: 164,626,099 Dead: 98,775,660
Mar, 2016 - Infected: 306,204,545 Dead: 183,722,727
Apr, 2016 - Infected: 569,540,453 Dead: 341,724,272
May, 2016 - Infected: 1,059,345,243 Dead: 635,607,146
Jun, 2016 - Infected: 1,970,382,153 Dead: 1,182,229,292
Jul, 2016 - Infected: 3,664,910,804 Dead: 2,198,946,482
Aug, 2016 - Infected: 6,816,734,096 Dead: 4,090,040,457

@masukuma, worst case scenario when i say this I realized mother nature can be quite efficient in downsizing human populationPray Pray Pray

while i agree with the spirit of the computation above - ebola is currently spreading in very poor poor places. these places have issues with healthcare, ignorance, stubborness e.t.c. but unlike other disease it does not spead efficiently. however the spirit of your computation is right - it's like a train getting out of hand, instead of stopping it early before it picks up pace and becomes increasingly difficult to stop - people are doing the opposite. barricading their doors and hoping that the train naturally (organically) stops itself. But let's put things in perspective... so far Ebola is still a west african problem and poor west africans represent the bulk of the infections HOWEVER depending on how people act now it could turn out to be everyone's problem simply because the train in some regions is picking momentum. currently this is still a poor person's disease but for how long will it stay that way? if it gets to people who can actually fly it becomes an international problem.
littledove
#256 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 3:06:35 PM

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Kenya-pledges---1-million-to-fight-Ebola-in-West-Africa/-/539546/2446794/-/xp1fcqz/-/index.html

kweli tuko mbelesmile
There are only two emotions in the stock market, fear and hope. The problem is, you hope when you should fear and fear when you should hope
#257 Posted : Wednesday, September 10, 2014 11:35:27 AM

World, you still just don't get it. The Ebola epidemic that is raging across West Africa, killing more than half its victims, will not be conquered with principles of global solidarity and earnest appeals. It will not be stopped with dribbling funds, dozens of volunteer health workers, and barriers across national borders. And the current laboratory-confirmed tolls (3,944 cases, with 2,097 deaths) will soon rise exponentially.

To understand the scale of response the world must mount in order to stop Ebola's march across Africa (and perhaps other continents), the world community needs to immediately consider the humanitarian efforts following the 2004 tsunami and its devastation of Aceh, Indonesia. The U.S. and Singaporean militaries launched their largest rescue missions in history: The United States alone put 12,600 military personnel to a rescue and recovery mission, including the deployment of nearly the entire Pacific fleet, 48 helicopters, and every Navy hospital ship in the region. The World Bank estimated that some $5 billion in direct aid was poured into the countries hard hit by the tsunami, and millions more were raised from private donors all over the world. And when the dust settled and reconstruction commenced, the affected countries still cried out for more.

the fact is.... PEOPLE DON'T CARE!
Muriel
#258 Posted : Wednesday, September 10, 2014 12:25:36 PM

Masukuma,

Do you realise what you are doing?

Why appeal for foreign militaries, twice, assets of imperial arms to work in Africa?

Do you not see that is simply a re-colonization of the African?

Why not just call for NATO airstrikes against Ebola, iishe haraka? No one cares!!
#259 Posted : Wednesday, September 10, 2014 1:43:56 PM

Muriel wrote:

Masukuma,

Why appeal for foreign militaries, twice, assets of imperial arms to work in Africa?

Why not just call for NATO airstrikes against Ebola, iishe haraka? No one cares!!

just noting an article.... anyway if this article has any truth to it... they won't stay for long smile
Muriel
#260 Posted : Wednesday, September 10, 2014 3:40:35 PM

Muriel wrote:

Masukuma,

just noting an article.... anyway if this article has any truth to it... they won't stay for long smile

Laugh!
Laugh!
Laugh!