Ethiopia's Trams
Quote:Some members of the Kisumu County Assembly are pushing to be registered in a private club using public funds. Isorait!! Now wait for the justification from the elder  ......."they are eating up there, so what is wrong if we also eat?" Quote:The ward representatives say it is “dishonourable and embarrassing” for them to patronise ordinary clubs that are open to public. They argue that they need private places to discuss their issues. Please people, stop embarassing our MCAs!!! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
simonkabz wrote:Quote:Some members of the Kisumu County Assembly are pushing to be registered in a private club using public funds. Isorait!! Now wait for the justification from the elder  ......."they are eating up there, so what is wrong if we also eat?" Quote:The ward representatives say it is “dishonourable and embarrassing” for them to patronise ordinary clubs that are open to public. They argue that they need private places to discuss their issues. Please people, stop embarassing our MCAs!!! @Simo, you are missing the point. If UHURUTO spent our taxes on trams and other development focused expenditure, then these jinga MCA's would not have the guts to ask for these money, but in our case the president is spending Sh 1 billion on new cars and in the process loses the moral high ground to deny these minions, thats why the MCA's are asking for more. Its Uhuru who gave them the car grants in Mombasa for political expedeinc, remember. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:simonkabz wrote:Quote:Some members of the Kisumu County Assembly are pushing to be registered in a private club using public funds. Isorait!! Now wait for the justification from the elder  ......."they are eating up there, so what is wrong if we also eat?" Quote:The ward representatives say it is “dishonourable and embarrassing” for them to patronise ordinary clubs that are open to public. They argue that they need private places to discuss their issues. Please people, stop embarassing our MCAs!!! @Simo, you are missing the point. If UHURUTO spent our taxes on trams and other development focused expenditure, then these jinga MCA's would not have the guts to ask for these money, but in our case the president is spending Sh 1 billion on new cars and in the process loses the moral high ground to deny these minions, thats why the MCA's are asking for more. Its Uhuru who gave them the car grants in Mombasa for political expedeinc, remember. I got the point very clearly my friend. We have like 5 upcoming big projects set to start this year.....Sept-Dec. Haki ya ngai if they abort I will never forgive chupilee. Like I said, this is a govt without PR. Very poor in that sector......keeping eager wananchi in the dark borders on criminal! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
simonkabz wrote:madollar wrote:We should be careful not to start sounding like our southern ndugus the tanzanians who cannot do anything without comparing themselves to kenya Quote:Tiny,very tiny and an extrememly tiny terminal! We should have taken Mwakyembe to Jomo Kenyatta Int. Airport. I am now convinced that Kenyans are more serious than us! They have no idea.... but for them to have thought they were more serious, should give us something to think about.
urstill1 wrote:kiash wrote:simonkabz wrote:Moyale- Addis Highway, February 2014.  And the road is marked. They got value for their money. Even if our projects get finished, we rarely get value for our money. Rephrase your statement this way "When our projects are rarely finished, we never get value for money" If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
Swenani wrote:urstill1 wrote:kiash wrote:simonkabz wrote:Moyale- Addis Highway, February 2014.  And the road is marked. They got value for their money. Even if our projects get finished, we rarely get value for our money. Rephrase your statement this way "When our projects are rarely finished, we never get value for money" what value do we get when money stays in the coffers because we are too scared to spend it just because we will not get 'value for money' or 'someone will steal it'.... anyway si baba alisema zinaibiwa na malorry kutoka central bank usiku. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
 Panguzeni machozi. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
The bragging rights are fading fast: Kampala-Entebbe expressway coming up nicely   TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
Hii yote ni kazi ya China huko wakitegea ile mafuta ya M7ni! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:Hii yote ni kazi ya China huko wakitegea ile mafuta ya M7ni! I think we are now learning from "smaller brothers". They started having their roads done by rich firms then they are paid pole pole. Eng. Kamau is on the same drive with his 10,000km roads in 5 years. Me thinks there was a serious disconnect between Grand coalition govt and Jubilee. Lots of stuff started from scratch.....if you factor in bureaucracy and the usual kenyan politics, next year is when we shall see this model working. Meanwhile...  TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Kampala Northern By-pass:  A beautiful rural road recently done:    They are constructing them in every corner of the beautiful country. We are choking in the dust already! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
simonkabz wrote:Kampala Northern By-pass:  They are constructing them in every corner of the beautiful country. We are choking in the dust already! While our Eastern bypass has street lights which died a month after the road was commissioned and no one cares to revive them. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
@Simo, thanks for the photo's. Hope the sir'kal in Kenya take note of what our neighbours are upto. Uhunye surely has to learn to ignore the politicians. Baba's work is to push for political reforms, Uhunye's should be to develop the country, right now he is not doing his to the expectations "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:@Simo, thanks for the photo's. Hope the sir'kal in Kenya take note of what our neighbours are upto. Uhunye surely has to learn to ignore the politicians.
Baba's work is to push for political reforms, Uhunye's should be to develop the country, right now he is not doing his to the expectations Gava seems to have taken note. Uganda embarked on the same back in 2011 while the grand coalition govt was still squabbling, so they are far off.. In June during the Saba-Saba whirlwind, Ouru launched a very ambitious project that we all never noticed due to the distraction: Quote:President Uhuru Kenyatta has unveiled a plan to tarmac 10,000 kilometers of Roads across the country in 5 years’ time in a programme christened Annuity Financing Framework. Quote:Under this Annuity Programme, 2,000 kilometers of small roads will be complete within the 2014/2015 financial year. In the 2015/2016 financial year, 3,000 kilometers made up of 80 per cent small roads and 20 per cent highways will be done, whereas in the 2016/2017 financial year 5,000 kilometers, 80 per cent of which will be small roads and 20 per cent highways, will be completed.
In the program, Contractors are bids for roads, they approach financial institutions for financing and the Government budgets funds to pay the banks each year as the contractors complete the roads. The cost is pre-determined and the Government negotiates low interest rates for the contractors. The same Contractors will be tasked to maintain the roads they have contracted for up to six years or so. Quote:In this model, the government has indicated that it will be paying on roads that have been completed as opposed to those that are being constructed. The contractors will also be required to oversee the maintenance of these roads for a period of three years. Quote:The annuity model has started in earnest and pre-qualification of Contractors is set to close on 29th August, 2014. The three road Agencies; KENHA, KeRRA and KURA will supervise the roads to be build. For more, visit: http://www.kura.go.ke/in...ernative-financing.html
http://allafrica.com/stories/201406260142.htmlTULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:@Simo, thanks for the photo's. Hope the sir'kal in Kenya take note of what our neighbours are upto. Uhunye surely has to learn to ignore the politicians.
Baba's work is to push for political reforms, Uhunye's should be to develop the country, right now he is not doing his to the expectations Will Kenyans stop stealing lamps and guard rails? Its not just a Uhunye job. How much does it cost to repair and maintain? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:@Simo, thanks for the photo's. Hope the sir'kal in Kenya take note of what our neighbours are upto. Uhunye surely has to learn to ignore the politicians.
Baba's work is to push for political reforms, Uhunye's should be to develop the country, right now he is not doing his to the expectations Will Kenyans stop stealing lamps and guard rails? I ts not just a Uhunye job. How much does it cost to repair and maintain? His gaament has to stop that, the buck stops with HIM! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:@Simo, thanks for the photo's. Hope the sir'kal in Kenya take note of what our neighbours are upto. Uhunye surely has to learn to ignore the politicians.
Baba's work is to push for political reforms, Uhunye's should be to develop the country, right now he is not doing his to the expectations Will Kenyans stop stealing lamps and guard rails? I ts not just a Uhunye job. How much does it cost to repair and maintain? His gaament has to stop that, the buck stops with HIM! WHen we suggest vijana watwangwe mbegu mnakataa......when we suggest the banning of Scrap matal industry some fools go to court. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
simonkabz wrote:Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:@Simo, thanks for the photo's. Hope the sir'kal in Kenya take note of what our neighbours are upto. Uhunye surely has to learn to ignore the politicians.
Baba's work is to push for political reforms, Uhunye's should be to develop the country, right now he is not doing his to the expectations Will Kenyans stop stealing lamps and guard rails? I ts not just a Uhunye job. How much does it cost to repair and maintain? His gaament has to stop that, the buck stops with HIM! WHen we suggest vijana watwangwe mbegu mnakataa......when we suggest the banning of Scrap matal industry some fools go to court. The scrap metal dealers comes from the presidents community, he should know how to deal with them. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
How the proposed new Nile bridge along Malaba-kampala highway will look like...  TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
While Kenya boasts of more paved roads(14,000km) than TZ(8,000km), a good number of the Kenyan Paved roads are crumbling-while the Tz ones are relatively new! Elsewhere, while Kenya invests heavily on rural roads (which is equally critical to spur growth), Tanzanians invest more on the National Highways. Many critics insist the Tz highways are very very good, and the pics I come accross give credence to the same. Tuko nyuma in the highways sector, but hope we will catch up soon with our East African counterparts and reclaim our decades old bragging rights!! Unidentified highway:  Tanga-Dar Highway:  TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Ethiopia's Trams