wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

7 jumbo jets crashed today
#21 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 10:54:09 AM

Eradicating malaria has been achieved in some countries such as Comoros (of all places!), Vietnam, Cambodia and parts of China. How? Simply by understanding the life cycle of the malaria parasite. These guys went to all their villages and gave EVERYBODY a dose of the antimalarial drug ArteQuick (a combination of artemisinine and piperaquine). The drug is very effective in clearing malaria parasites in blood as well as tissue. Part of the malaria parasite cycle takes place in the human and part in the mosquito. 40-days later, they went back to those same villages and gave everyone who got the first artequick dose a second dose of the same. (It's been a while since I watched this documentary on NHK World, this is just what I recall).

In doing so, they were able to achieve eradication rates as high as 95-98% using a relatively inexpensive molecule. And so it was that I put this question to some fellows involved in the national malaria programme recently: why can't the Kenyan gov't adopt the same approach? The answer I got? They haven't thought about it and have therefore not allocated funds for it. The global fund for malaria hasn't allocated funds for the same either.

Incidentally, we are yet to procure a new chemical to use for indoor spraying on our walls (one of the malaria-eradication measures) after the previous one was withdrawn over safety and resistance concerns.

We also cannot escape blame here. How many times have people been given the long-term insecticide treated mosquito nets (LITNs) and gone ahead to use them for activities like fishing, fencing chicken coops and kitchen gardens, etc rather than using them for the function for which they were intended?
#22 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 10:57:11 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Eradicating malaria has been done in countries such as Comoros (of all places!), Vietnam, Cambodia and parts of China. How? Simply by understanding the life cycle of the malaria parasite. These guys went to all their villages and gave EVERYBODY a dose of the antimalarial drug ArteQuick (a combination of artemisinine and piperaquine). The drug is very effective in clearing malaria parasites in blood as well as tissue. Part of the malaria parasite cycle takes place in the human and part in the mosquito. 40-days later, they went back to those villages and gave everyone who got the first artequick dose a second dose of the same.

In doing so, they were able to achieve eradication rates as high as 95-98% using a relatively inexpensive molecule. And so it was that I put this question to some fellows involved in the national malaria programme recently: why can't the Kenyan gov't adopt the same approach? The answer I got? They haven't thought about it and have therefore not allocated funds for it. The global fund for malaria hasn't allocated funds for the same either.

Incidentally, we are yet to procure a new chemical to use for indoor spraying on our walls (one of the malaria-eradication measures) after the previous one was withdrawn over safety and resistance concerns.

Rankas that is an eye opener. But eradicating Malaria in a whole continent like Africa with all the poverty? Best of luck with that!
#23 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 10:58:24 AM

mkeiy wrote:
another 7 jumbo jets will crash today! but i guess our responsiblity lies in paying taxes, voting for representatives, following the law and the occasional dance to the ones in political office. we will be called to act again in the next 3-4 years (3-12 million lives later) and by placing a check or a cross or a thumbprint in a piece of paper we shall have done our responsibility.

@masukuma, Why do you think it happens in Africa and not elsewhere?
What needs to be done?

What made USAID withdraw from Kenya some years ago?

ehe... why do you think this happens in africa and no where else?

Tokyo wrote:
Africans should learn to take their own responsibilities.
This mentallity that solutions to our many BASIC problems will come from elsewhere should end.If we are unable to deal with our issues , a solution can be found. We should petition our governments for a referendum. Then we decide to join our colonial masters as one UK.especially if Scotland go we get in aka Crimea. Win Win.

good point! we are irresponsible lot! we delegate our responsibility by using the vote!

@masukuma, I see you've chosen to answer my question, instead responding with a question of your own

The reason why it happens in Africa is because we are irresponsible.

We cannot vote in forward thinking leaders and when outsiders come to our aid, we mismanage it.

The citizens worship their tribal leaders and will go to great length in defending their so-called leaders.

Poor GOVERNANCE and SYCOPHANCY are to blame.

our irresponsibility lies in thinking that there only 2 things we can do... that we are supposed to do

We cannot vote in forward thinking leaders (VOTE) and when outsiders come to our aid, we mismanage it (MANAGE AID).

citizens are required to VOTE (pay taxes and dance for the president) and government is required to MANAGE....
#24 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 11:00:56 AM

@Masukuma, your use of the word Jumbo is misplaced.

Take this to equity Bank, 7 jumbo jets will never crash in a day, the people who build them are extra careful and take responsibility.

You can however use the analogy of Ebola, something very African.
#25 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 11:04:29 AM

Ngong wrote:
@Magigi, smile that was nice, on the same site he supports what it essence causes what he then comes to cry about in a new thread!!!!

Bro...check me carefully. I did not leave CORD to join any other movement. Not for now. I am just fed up with everybody and their insencerity. Nowhere have I said I am Jubilee. Withdraw and apologise. Pronto!

Ai! umesoma kweli what he has written?

smile Magigi hajanielewa!!!!...I'm actually on @masukuma's case!!!

Ahahahahaa... jiggers mimi! Blame it on nouns and proper nouns etc.
#26 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 11:11:35 AM

the fact of the matter is ... WE REALLY DON'T CARE! even you contribution to this topic is somehow informed by you political bias... after all... we don't know these kids... 7 plane loads today and 3,800 people will perish today from HIV but we really really don't care! we don't care! that is our problem. We care when mh17 crashes, we care about Ebola and it's 2,000 deaths, we are about Crimea, We care about ISIS, we care about Israel and Palestine.... we care a lot about those issues.
but let me inform you... Some 21,000 children die every day around the world from preventable diseases and causes and half of those are in sub saharan africa (Nywele ngumu like you and me). 10,500 kids being shipped to the netherworld each day... as soon as you sleep today know that 1...2..3..4......10,500 kids will die today from preventable causes. Our responsibility? We just need to vote every so often and the people we put into office should take the blame for this. if we get it wrong well... we can wait another 5 years (19,162,500 lives later) to put a mark on the ballot box and see if this time we get someone who will do these things for us... after all - that is what we do... we have been doing it for 50 years.

FYI.... jiggers were eradicated from Muranga not by waiting for those people we put in political office but by citizen participation.
#27 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 11:13:36 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Take this to equity Bank, 7 jumbo jets will never crash in a day, the people who build them are extra careful and take responsibility.

wewe enda ukaDance for someone because that is the only extra thing you can think off.... Jumbo jet LOADS of Children.... we don't care about the tech (at least we shouldn't) we care about the children.
#28 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 11:16:07 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Eradicating malaria has been achieved in some countries such as Comoros (of all places!), Vietnam, Cambodia and parts of China. How? Simply by understanding the life cycle of the malaria parasite. These guys went to all their villages and gave EVERYBODY a dose of the antimalarial drug ArteQuick (a combination of artemisinine and piperaquine). The drug is very effective in clearing malaria parasites in blood as well as tissue. Part of the malaria parasite cycle takes place in the human and part in the mosquito. 40-days later, they went back to those same villages and gave everyone who got the first artequick dose a second dose of the same. (It's been a while since I watched this documentary on NHK World, this is just what I recall).

We also cannot escape blame here. How many times have people been given the long-term insecticide treated mosquito nets (LITNs) and gone ahead to use them for activities like fishing, fencing chicken coops and kitchen gardens, etc rather than using them for the function for which they were intended?

Rankaz that is an eye opener. But eradicating Malaria in a whole continent like Africa with all the poverty? Best of luck with that!

@Kabz, I think poverty is just not sufficient enough a reason not to do it. How rich is Comoros?

As you can see in my last paragraph of the reply above, our attitude is also very wrong on very many levels. We have this don't care attitude just because we were given the nets for free.
majimaji
#29 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 11:19:24 AM

#30 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 11:22:31 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

wewe enda ukaDance for someone because that is the only extra thing you can think off.... Jumbo jet LOADS of Children.... we don't care about the tech (at least we shouldn't) we care about the children.

Starting a pity thread on wazua does not qualify as care or support.

Wacha kuji'elevate to some kind of saint status because you went and copied a write up and pasted it on wazua. Why don't you tell the rest of us what you have done for even 1 child.
#31 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 11:53:29 AM

majimaji wrote:

interesting! do you know the allele that causes sickle cell anemia is an adaptation to fighting malaria? 2 alleles give you sickle cell anemia having just one offers you malarial prevention.
#32 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 12:11:23 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Starting a pity thread on wazua does not qualify as care or support.

Wacha kuji'elevate to some kind of saint status because you went and copied a write up and pasted it on wazua. Why don't you tell the rest of us what you have done for even 1 child.

wewe ngojea baba akuwe president halafu u can dance for him unto prosperity.
#33 Posted : Saturday, October 11, 2014 8:45:07 AM

Did you know, that if you take
every single person killed in a
terrorist act around the world in
the last twenty years, and you
add to that all the lives lost in
the Middle East since 1967 --
the 6 Day War -- and you add to
that every single American life
lost in Vietnam, in Korea, and in
every single American
engagement since then -- Iraq,
Afghanistan... If you take all
those lives and you multiply by
two, that's the number of
children that die of malaria every
single year. 90% of those deaths are in subsaharan africa.
Dahatre
#34 Posted : Saturday, October 11, 2014 11:43:00 PM

Interesting read!

Lakini someone should tell them that its the female mosquito that transmits malaria....and that QUEEN/goddess mosquito has been defending Africa all by her sweet self all these years..

[quote=majimaji]
Mosquitos are good

soma http://www.siliconafrica.com/?s=mosquito[/quote]