wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Boring Prime Time news
#1 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 10:11:26 PM

When did they turn into long boring useless debates? Kwanza citizen.....You need the alarm to wake you up every 3 minutes!

Did the so called "gagging" prevent them from airing international news too?
#2 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 10:39:32 PM

Be watching KBC kama mimi.....
#3 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 10:53:56 PM

When did they turn into long boring useless debates? Kwanza citizen.....You need the alarm to wake you up every 3 minutes!

For the longest time, I have mourned the dearth of int'l news on our local channels. even the public broadcaster seems to have done away with their African news segment. Nowadays I tune in to CCTV news at 8 - 9p.m to get African news.
mmarto
#4 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 10:59:31 PM

boring boring boring.....same on all stations.
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
#5 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 11:00:46 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

For the longest time, I have mourned the dearth of int'l news on our local channels. even the public broadcaster seems to have done away with their African news segment. Nowadays I tune in to CCTV news at 8 - 9p.m to get African news.

And why did that happen? Or are the media houses just sulking like they did with the digital migration? Is it deliberate?
#6 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 11:03:14 PM

mmarto wrote:

Very. Nowadays I only watch the first 10 minutes.
Kihara joni
#7 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 11:08:17 PM

speaking of digital migration any timelines of when it might happen, can't wait for this stations to be given some run for their money by new entrants like 3stones and the like
#8 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 11:08:34 PM

mmarto wrote:

It's a sad state of affairs. Same news across all channels, same kind of delivery.
Drobos fly
#9 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 11:11:05 PM

Is there an online working link for KBC? sina TV but net iko kwa wingi
#10 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 11:43:30 PM

Drobos fly wrote:
Is there an online working link for KBC? sina TV but net iko kwa wingi

Oops, looks like they no longer stream.Sad
#11 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 11:54:23 PM

Not just Prime time news, all stations in Kenya are B.O.R.I.N.G!!!!! I understand that their target segment is miss mboch, but ata kama, its getting serious
#12 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 11:55:45 PM

Who watches local news anymore. All broadcasters sound the same,air same content,dress the same,smile the same,swing their hips and hands the same,apply same make up,argh it's irritating.
Boring is our news.
marko
#13 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 11:57:04 PM

mmarto wrote:

It's a sad state of affairs. Same news across all channels, same kind of delivery.

The only part of news I look forward to is the end... Oh darn.. I don't even wait for that either.
WHO DARES WINS
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 6:30:20 AM

Who watches local news anymore. All broadcasters sound the same,air same content,dress the same,smile the same,swing their hips and hands the same,apply same make up,argh it's irritating.
Boring is our news.

I get my news from papa hapa...it's become sad.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 8:25:42 AM

Boring is our news.

Laughing out loudly Kwani a Wazuan I know works in the media?

Anyway, the challenge with our "news" these days is that they are no longer news. By the time they air it on TV they will have been discussed in depth here on Wazua. However, I find some of the discussion they bring quite informative. A good example is some experts in various social issues that Janet Mbugua brings on Monday. Even the issues of family health/Maternal health like the ones @Wamunyota was asking have been discussed in the past. They have brought people suffering from various health conditions and discuss in depth how to manage them. Issues to do with parenting etc. Once in a while they bring stupid ones like some they brought jana who were claiming young people should not be "forced" to save so that they can enjoy life.

The Business segment that Teryanne attempts could work if she could give the experts more time instead of interrupting them every minute with stupid "news" leaving them only five minutes.

The dark side of our news is politics, politics and more politics...but hey, they sell a lot. Arent they the hottest topics even here in Wazua?

I think the reason the news are boring these days are because they are not really news, we already know everything and Wazuans would have even done more research on the topics than our 'journalists'. Any time they attempt to bring a feature that is not already on the mainstream, it becomes a hit, and is discussed all over, even here. One of such examples is the feature #MyBukusuDarling or something, though I wonder how positively or negatively it influenced the society.
Wamunyota
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 9:26:01 AM

Boring is our news.

Anyway, the challenge with our "news" these days is that they are no longer news. By the time they air it on TV they will have been discussed in depth here on Wazua. However, I find some of the discussion they bring quite informative. A good example is some experts in various social issues that Janet Mbugua brings on Monday. Even the issues of family health/Maternal health like the ones @Wamunyota was asking have been discussed in the past. They have brought people suffering from various health conditions and discuss in depth how to manage them. Issues to do with parenting etc. Once in a while they bring stupid ones like some they brought jana who were claiming young people should not be "forced" to save so that they can enjoy life.

The Business segment that Teryanne attempts could work if she could give the experts more time instead of interrupting them every minute with stupid "news" leaving them only five minutes.

The dark side of our news is politics, politics and more politics...but hey, they sell a lot. Arent they the hottest topics even here in Wazua?

I think the reason the news are boring these days are because they are not really news, we already know everything and Wazuans would have even done more research on the topics than our 'journalists'. Any time they attempt to bring a feature that is not already on the mainstream, it becomes a hit, and is discussed all over, even here. One of such examples is the feature #MyBukusuDarling or something, though I wonder how positively or negatively it influenced the society.

Hutia Mundu!!
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 9:29:12 AM

Boring is our news.

No no no. News were ok a year ago. We have been pre-emptying news on wazua since 2007. These discussions should be slotted around midnight to induce sleep.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 9:46:51 AM

Boring is our news.

No no no. News were ok a year ago. We have been pre-emptying news on wazua since 2007. These discussions should be slotted around midnight to induce sleep.

Ni venye tu imekufika a certain level that you can no longer tolerate but trust me there is nothing fundamentally different from what they used to do then...Dont you see how fast you switch on when they mention they are bringing someone you have an interest in listening to? I am not so sure but if they were to bring Kabogo to be interrogated on why roads have turned to shamba you would listen.

I assure, 99% of what they bring you already know. For me, I usually listen to those guests who are brought, at least those I think I have sth to get from. Or when the topic at hand is enticing. Though not on the main news, I usually find myself listening to Julie Gichuru's African Dialogues depending on the guest and topic of discussion. I chose when to listen and when to pass. Same case with news.

Another interesting thing about news. People are no longer listening to news par se. Their attention is divided unless kitambo when people would pay attention. People are ever on their smart phones discussing the ongoing news, that is the time harsh tags are generated, newscasters are discussed etc. The media noted that and they are now attemtping to involve the viewers through the discussions, bla bla bla....I am sure we are poised for interesting times when the digital switch over comes. Some media houses might close shop.
#19 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 10:00:39 AM

Generally we have no news.And I agree its very boring.

Take last week for example.......main news was kwekwe shooting and the drama around it from police statements to her relas.......

The first day it was news but subsequent days no no.
majimaji
#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 10:18:34 AM

Even the magazetis are boring. Take the Daily Nation and its magazines for instance, there is such a big gap between the current generation and what they print as news...this guys have a format that has not changed since the 90's. And they think hip news is reporting about something called blankets and wine