wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

31 Pages«<1011121314>»
EBOLA Virus
#221 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 12:30:38 PM

#222 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 3:51:09 PM

#223 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 4:05:55 PM

#224 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 4:17:32 PM

So while most of us have been frozen stiff by a disease 5600km away... There are people who do what is to me one of the most perilous jobs on the planet - collecting the bodies of those who die from Ebola. After all - somebody has to do it!

One such person is a 21-year-old Sorie Fofana. Fofana was an artist, making designs for T-shirts. The new job pays better — $1,000 a month. But every morning, the lanky, laid-back Fofana has to steel himself to go out and do the job. "When I wake up in the morning, I will pray to God to give me strength and focus," says 21-year-old Sorie Fofana.

there is an video on the site that actually shows the typical places where people with these diseases live.
Muriel
#225 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 4:42:21 PM

I think that beside death, Ebola also causes monologue in people.

But hey, what else could be worse than death? Afadhali monologue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#226 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 5:05:04 PM

Muriel wrote:
I think that beside death, Ebola also causes monologue in people.

But hey, what else could be worse than death? Afadhali monologue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHO wrote:
"In terms of timeline, we're not talking in terms of weeks, we're talking in terms of months. We need a commitment for months, at least I would say six months, and I'm being, I would say, very optimistic."

brace yourself!... tuko hapa mbaka ikwishe - they will not be forgotten as people talk about football transfers

on other news....
Restrictions on transportation and commerce, the withdrawal of international workers, a slowdown of investment, and a panicked population will further reduce growth this year. Containing the crisis rapidly will be critical to preserve the progress made, and to reduce risks to the short- and medium-term outlook.
Reports that ships from Liberia are being blocked in Côte d’Ivoire would exacerbate this, especially for fuel supplies, which would have a severe impact on transportation and power availability.

Liberia imports more than 60% of the rice it consumes, but some areas are self-sufficient in rice production. One of the epicentres of the outbreak – Lofa county – produces around 20% of Liberia’s rice and largely meets its own rice demand while producing numerous other crops and trading with cross-border markets and Monrovia. However, some fields are being deserted, and after months of slower trade with Sierra Leone, there are already reports of food shortages and discussion of the need for food drops. Quarantine measures will further cut off rural areas and restrict trade with Monrovia.
#227 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 6:09:34 PM

#228 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 9:05:51 AM

#229 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 9:17:29 AM

#230 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 10:07:15 AM

just written this somewhere else
From the onset KQ was reluctant to suspend flights even though it’s cabin crew were very very scared to fly into Liberia and Sierra Leone and after a barrage of attacks from frozen stiff kenyans and declarations/calls/orders from the National assembly that KQ suspends flights - ministry of health caved in made and the decision not to allow citizens of Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea hailing from these countries not to be admitted in Kenya. KQ was seemingly left high and dry and so it had to stop it’s flights. The popular phrase in the mouths of Kenyans that took to the media (both traditional and social) was “prevention is better than cure” and that it was “reckless” to continue flying into Ebola affected nations. Kenya itself has been going through some challenges with insecurity with the rag tag somali group Al Shabab that have made western nations issue travel advisories against Kenya and something that Kenya has violently attacked at every opportunity to do so. The president has chastised the west at every opportunity given to him for issuing these travel advisories by claiming that “Kenya Feels Abandoned in the War on Terror” and even went ahead to quote Richard Branson in saying “...we should actually face up to the enemy, invest more, be more in Kenya” and in light of GOKs action to ban flights - this is hypocritical to say the least! From where I stand any message that is fashioned towards GOK via the ministry of health and consequently KQ should should remind them of that! It should ask them how they would feel if the west used the statement “prevention is better than cure” when advising it’s citizens to take precautions and stay away from Kenya? it should ask them how they would feel if a trip to kenya was classified as being “reckless”. The message should also use their own words to remind them that West Africa feel “Abandoned in the war on Ebola” and just as travel advisories make Al Shabab victorious - banning flights same exact thing with Ebola. It should remind them at banning flights additionally has the unintended result of Kenya looking like a fair-weather friend, keen to do business in West Africa when it is smooth sailing, and abandoning the region when the going gets tough. Reminding them that these tough times will pass but West Africa will not forget the ill-treatment it received so far but there is still room to mend this strained relationship.
Muriel
#231 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 10:15:08 AM

It is ok to criticize the gaarment at home.

But it is not when on the international stage.

You should defend it, rabidly even.
#232 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 10:22:24 AM

Muriel wrote:

I am african! these borders were created by some europeans seated in berlin some 130 years ago. the fact of the matter is - going forward if we are to make any kind of progress and seen to be making any kind of progress we should try to break these fictitious boundaries that have made us look disjointed. We should style up.
#233 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 10:40:47 AM

Muriel wrote:

I am african! these borders were created by some europeans seated in berlin some 130 years ago. the fact of the matter is - going forward if we are to make any kind of progress and seen to be making any kind of progress we should try to break these fictitious boundaries that have made us look disjointed. We should style up.

@ manyeni

Could you make that proposal of removing the boundary that marks your property to your immediate neighbour and tell us how it goes...

On a light note, it is not only in Africa where i have seen the imaginary bounderies...
Muriel
#234 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 10:42:42 AM

Muriel wrote:

European borders are indeed superficial borders.

African borders are more clearly defined and more permanent. Especially as pertains to ethnicity.

If those West Africans come here, you and I and we will implement tribalism, as usual, upon them. We would have it no other way.

Pan africanism, solidarity, is as deep and wide as the European borders - superficial.

Back to Ebola updates ,,,,,, the monologue ,,,,, Laugh
#235 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 10:46:38 AM

Kaigangio wrote:
Muriel wrote:

@ manyeni

Could you make that proposal of removing the boundary that marks your property to your immediate neighbour and tell us how it goes...

On a light note, it is not only in Africa where i have seen the imaginary bounderies...

my issues is who decided the boundaries! boundaries are good but we need to ask... why do we have the boundaries we have now? What is the difference between UG and Kenya or TZ and Kenya or South sudan and Kenya? Has anyone ever talked to a central european? they hate each other.. they dislike russians even russians they have never met! hate kibao... Europe's borders were a result of proper fights... yetu ilikuwa kugawana mashamba na kupeana milima for birthdays... tupeleke hii discussion kwa thread ya boundaries. this thread is for

symbols
#236 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 7:32:00 PM

#237 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 8:08:09 PM

they seem to be contolling it fairly well.
#238 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2014 11:26:57 AM

While e-petitions are not exactly effective in that they don't arm twist governments to action.. they are worth the shot.

Here is one on Ebola urging countries to Stop the Quarantine of Entire African Countries
#239 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2014 4:36:07 PM

Findio of an Ebola patient being 'arrested'

https://www.facebook.com...&type=2&theater

Njaa ndio inasumbua watu bwana
#240 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2014 4:44:27 PM

Findio of an Ebola patient being 'arrested'

https://www.facebook.com...&type=2&theater

Njaa ndio inasumbua watu bwana

SAD