Talk2Us
Wazuans Employment Creation thought leadership
tycho wrote:murchr wrote:maka wrote:This is a very good thread,sadly input will be almost zero...a question i asked in the markets section which I believe @Murchr answered but not exhaustively...why does the govt allow business men to import almost everything?Why do we import clothes,yet we can grow our own cotton nd have our own textile industry,why we import tomato paste and pasta,yet we grow tomatoes and wheat which can be used to make the two...Our economic policies are all twisted...govt after govt doesn't address this vicious cycle that must be addressed thoroughly and in depth...The US is a great entrepreneurial country,something we must emulate to help raise our standard of living... Am glad you brought it up again. We need a serious paradigm shift if we are to create employment and grow this economy. First, policy should change. Kibaki tried to ban second hand furniture in GOK offices but am sure some smuggle in mitumbas and brand them Kenyan. Sadly these mitumbas take away dollars to other economies and employ low cadre employees. Can you imagine we dont even make underwear - yes the boxers, vests, bras even baby clothes, are all imported. What we make here(the jeans at EPZ) is almost always exported to other economies because we cant afford the finished product. I understand rivertex is up running, what do they make? We have an opportunity now the county govs can create a market by asking hospitals to source bedsheets and blankets from Rivatex, that should ignite some productivity which will improve efficiency. Leather - I have never seen a more carnivorous people than Kenyans, yaani we cant process leather? We have a "mido" crass that is obsessed with posh seats and everything classy, these imported faux leather seats go at the same price that real leather seats go for overseas why not jump into this opportunity? Do we need popcorn eggs from SA oranges from Israel, Wine from SA and Carlifornia yet grapes are rotting in our firms? How many blankets and sheets can the government buy, and at what price, in order to keep rivatex alive? Would that be economically efficient? Something related; why do some people go to India for treatment when there are doctors and similar services in Kenya? How are Chinese or Japanese products faring against American products in America? How about we start with where do GOK hospitals source their bedding from then we go from there. People go to india because its cheaper to get treated there because there are enough specialists - some things even GOK cant control Use the internet to get the answer of your last question. Start with "Made in America" campaign @alma we are talking about employment creation, not job seekers. You dont need a degree to tan leather or cut and stitch a piece of cloth to make underwear "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
tycho wrote:Wendz wrote:Muriel wrote:
I was just about to mention something about capitalism when I saw brother mention a 'rethinking of economic model'.
Capitalism. Profit, profit, profit.
Most, if not all of us, are hardcore capitalists.
You are right... but we cant be worse than the west and the east.... Capitalism is good if it helps grow our economies and create employment. Capitalism is for the few, not for governments and the unemployed masses. The issue is about wealth distribution.That is the number one economic problem is the system. There is need to change the system. You see capitalist says: "make money the way you want". The capitalist system, gives unconditional rights to an individual. Take Compound interest for example, when you can't pay a loan, it keeps increasing with no mercy!! That is why the gap between the rich and the poor keeps increasing.Capitalist says wealth is ONLY distributed to factors of production these are: 1. Interest to the investor/entrepreneur. 2. Wages to the labourer 3. Rent to the Land owner. Now the big questionWhat about the poor person who didn't take part in production? What about the poor youth who has no job? What about the poor cripple who has no hands or legs? What about the sick poor person? THE POOR PERSON IS LEFT OUT IN THE EQUATION.Look at alternative systems 1. For example Islamic economic system. There are rights for everyone. First, the Primary right for those who take part in production i.e. investor, worker, and landlord. Secondly, the Secondary right for those did not take part in production, and this is the Poor man. 2. For example the Socialist system. Nobody owns. So Islamic system in between. It gives right to all, individual and society. It allows business and ownership of property, but on a reasonable basis, not the level of the greedy politicians in Capitalist system! That is why @guru always says: - if you are Muslim, then you give 2.5% Zakat - if you are not Muslim, then you give 2.5% as tax. And this is 2.5% of what remains after expenses. Not what you earn! If you compare this with 30% we are taxed by non-Islamic countries, it is crazy!
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:tycho wrote:murchr wrote:maka wrote:This is a very good thread,sadly input will be almost zero...a question i asked in the markets section which I believe @Murchr answered but not exhaustively...why does the govt allow business men to import almost everything?Why do we import clothes,yet we can grow our own cotton nd have our own textile industry,why we import tomato paste and pasta,yet we grow tomatoes and wheat which can be used to make the two...Our economic policies are all twisted...govt after govt doesn't address this vicious cycle that must be addressed thoroughly and in depth...The US is a great entrepreneurial country,something we must emulate to help raise our standard of living... Am glad you brought it up again. We need a serious paradigm shift if we are to create employment and grow this economy. First, policy should change. Kibaki tried to ban second hand furniture in GOK offices but am sure some smuggle in mitumbas and brand them Kenyan. Sadly these mitumbas take away dollars to other economies and employ low cadre employees. Can you imagine we dont even make underwear - yes the boxers, vests, bras even baby clothes, are all imported. What we make here(the jeans at EPZ) is almost always exported to other economies because we cant afford the finished product. I understand rivertex is up running, what do they make? We have an opportunity now the county govs can create a market by asking hospitals to source bedsheets and blankets from Rivatex, that should ignite some productivity which will improve efficiency. Leather - I have never seen a more carnivorous people than Kenyans, yaani we cant process leather? We have a "mido" crass that is obsessed with posh seats and everything classy, these imported faux leather seats go at the same price that real leather seats go for overseas why not jump into this opportunity? Do we need popcorn eggs from SA oranges from Israel, Wine from SA and Carlifornia yet grapes are rotting in our firms? How many blankets and sheets can the government buy, and at what price, in order to keep rivatex alive? Would that be economically efficient? Something related; why do some people go to India for treatment when there are doctors and similar services in Kenya? How are Chinese or Japanese products faring against American products in America? How about we start with where do GOK hospitals source their bedding from then we go from there. People go to india because its cheaper to get treated there because there are enough specialists - some things even GOK cant control Use the internet to get the answer of your last question @alma we are talking about employment creation, not job seekers. You dont need a degree to tan leather or cut and stitch a piece of cloth to make underwear You haven't answered any question here, and the government control you're talking about doesn't exist any more. Okay here's what I got from my Googling http://useconomy.about.c...omy/p/China_Economy.htm
Ah! https://news.vice.com/ar...made-in-america-campaign
I agree with you murchr on the issue of not needing a degree to succeed. But here the subject is THOUGHT leadership. When we have a gov't going around talking about creating jobs which basically means that "I will only employ Kalenjins from my village" then we don't have thought leadership. We have kissing assery. The reason why India became so good in medical tourism is the gov't took a proactive position. They agreed that their doctors were all in the USA and Uk so why not bring them back with cool policies like no taxation as long as you employ someone. In Kenya the policy makers are killing the small guy in Kariokor. He has nothing. No credit, no taxation breaks, no infrastructure. NOTHING. He's called a HUSTLER. It's supposed to be a term of endearment. But its actually a noose around his neck as he watches his corrupt TENDERPRENUERS make all the money. Though leadership in creating employment is Gov't policy. It was last seen in Moi's gov't. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
I asked a simple question a while ago.
We have our own omo and sunlight brands, but they are currently trailing Procter & Gamble's Ariel. Manufactured in Egypt.
Wazua ladies told me omo is not kind to their hands.
Then someone is complaining the way Unilever no longer employs people like it used to when it was EAI. After buying Ariel "kwa mwosho mmoja tu".
I think the mindset change will have to come before import substitution.
FRM2011 wrote:I asked a simple question a while ago.
We have our own omo and sunlight brands, but they are currently trailing Procter & Gamble's Ariel. Manufactured in Egypt.
Then someone is complaining the way Unilever no longer employs people like it used to when it was EAI. After buying Ariel "kwa mwosho mmoja tu".
I think the mindset change will have to come before import substitution. Let me tell you a story. It's going to be long. Someone decided to start a business in Kenya to build batteries. You know batteries are just positive and negative etc. This someone could not get past go at the bank, at the gov't office even with his parents. As he was doing that, someone decided to create a stupid website where people share pictures and update what they are doing. The gov't gave him tax breaks, he got a loan and now we have Facebook. You can have all the ideas of implementation you want. But if there's no one to guide you or help you as you are meandering through the murk of business, you shall fail. That is why we have Hon. Kambi as Education minister, yet he confesses to having been a maid who can't spell. He had the structures he needed. Most young Kenyan entreprenuers don't have it. That's the reason they voted for the "hustler". Kumbe all he did was increase taxes. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
FRM2011 wrote:I asked a simple question a while ago.
I think the mindset change will have to come before import substitution. Is Omo and Sunlight really Kenyan? I think Jamaa bar soap is Kenyan, I wish Jamaa company could come up with a powder detergent! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
alma wrote:FRM2011 wrote:I asked a simple question a while ago.
I think the mindset change will have to come before import substitution. Let me tell you a story. It's going to be long. Someone decided to start a business in Kenya to build batteries. You know batteries are just positive and negative etc. This someone could not get past go at the bank, at the gov't office even with his parents. As he was doing that, someone decided to create a stupid website where people share pictures and update what they are doing. The gov't gave him tax breaks, he got a loan and now we have Facebook. You can have all the ideas of implementation you want. But if there's no one to guide you or help you as you are meandering through the murk of business, you shall fail. That is why we have Hon. Kambi as Education minister, yet he confesses to having been a maid who can't spell. He had the structures he needed. Most young Kenyan entreprenuers don't have it. That's the reason they voted for the "hustler". Kumbe all he did was increase taxes. @Kambi is Labor Monister! But I get your point, the red-tape is too much! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:FRM2011 wrote:I asked a simple question a while ago.
I think the mindset change will have to come before import substitution. Is Omo and Sunlight really Kenyan? I think Jamaa bar soap is Kenyan, I wish Jamaa company could come up with a powder detergent! @impunity, by Kenyan, I meant the detergents are produced on Kenyan soil by Kenyan workers. If P&G could open a factory in Nairobi, I would support them 100%. Sadly, all their products are sourced from Egypt and they are all market leaders in their respective niches. Ariel, always, pampers. Nktest !
I'm looking right now at a website. Unajua kila mtu na mambo yake. The website is called Jumia.co.ke This website was started in Nigeria. Before there was Jumia there was Mama Mikes. Mama Mikes is a great website but they don't and cannot compete with Jumia. Why? No money. In the ICT business, a lot of great ideas have died simply because there was no gov't policy such as giving tax breaks to those who invest in start up businesses.. It's happening all over the world. So now in Kenya we have great entreprenuers online, but they can't do shit. Nigeria has now overtaken Kenya as the Silicon Savannah. We worked in the meantime very hard to increase taxes accross the board. We dumped Ndemo to become a newspaper analyst. Can you imagine I said that? I who belives that most of his polices were upus. But he had policies at least. In the ICT fieled right now in Kenya, who the hell is the Cabinet Secretary in that fieled? i don't even know him. We are killing entreprenuership with the expectation that gov't will create jobs. The work of gov't is not to create jobs but to give an environment for entreprenuers to succeed so that they can create jobs. Jumia, OLX, Facebook, Starbucks, KFC, Subways, and soon Walmart are not supposed to be gov't policy. They will kill everyone. But we shall call ourselves......developed. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:FRM2011 wrote:I asked a simple question a while ago.
I think the mindset change will have to come before import substitution. Let me tell you a story. It's going to be long. Someone decided to start a business in Kenya to build batteries. You know batteries are just positive and negative etc. This someone could not get past go at the bank, at the gov't office even with his parents. As he was doing that, someone decided to create a stupid website where people share pictures and update what they are doing. The gov't gave him tax breaks, he got a loan and now we have Facebook. UWONGO!You can have all the ideas of implementation you want. But if there's no one to guide you or help you as you are meandering through the murk of business, you shall fail. That is why we have Hon. Kambi as Education minister Say whattt, yet he confesses to having been a maid who can't spell. He had the structures he needed. Most young Kenyan entreprenuers don't have it. That's the reason they voted for the "hustler". Kumbe all he did was increase taxes. You dont need a bank to give you financing. Many have done it without the banks your "Friend" did not have the enough fire in his belly. There are 3 sources of funds for beginners 1. Friends 2. Family 3. Fools. The first 2 will lend you money if they truly trust your ambition. Thats why you see parents selling cattle to keep lads in sch. Facebook did not get any gov funding or tax breaks to start...it started off as an idea for college students when it became something people offered to buy it. Dont blame gov on your failed startups there's so much information out there, on the internet (thank God the Gov invested in this) that anyone willing to get, can get it. Wacha siasa. Who owns OLX? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Murchr after losing each and every argument with me on this forum you should have learned to speak when you know what you are saying. Facebook got financing simply because if I have money I can invest in a startup and get a tax break. Now tell me the gov't policy for anyone in this country to invest in any start up. Even mama mboga. In fact investing in a kiosk is basically asking for Kidero askaris to beat you up every Friday. We are hear talking about gov't policy. Wewe uko about who owns. The gov't policy on investments in skewed towards taking money from anyone who can make money. TaX, TAX, tax, and taX. Not build the entreprenuer who will actually CREATE the jobs. That's the biggest difference between Kenya and the developed world. Have you ever tried to get a loan when you don't have a job in Kenya? We know that the bank officer will get 50% off his loan. This fellow will be posting on wazua how business is bad. He's a remote farmer so he's bound to fail. BUT The real entreprenuer can't go to the bank as he only has an idea. No bank in Kenya will ever finance him. No Venture Capitalist will finance him as he can't get some of his money back through tax breaks. Unfortunately for you murchr, you vote on tribal issues. So this issue passes you by. I'm very simple. Gov't is not supposed to create jobs. They are supposed to make it easy for an entreprenuer to create jobs. I know its a hard concept to grasp but we shall be having this conversation next year. As you beat up on Alba think very hard about the job that these civil servants are doing. I can survive without gov't handing out truffles. I can't survive if the gov't lets KPLC shut down my business every 9am to 4pm. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
tycho wrote:murchr wrote:tycho wrote:murchr wrote:maka wrote:This is a very good thread,sadly input will be almost zero...a question i asked in the markets section which I believe @Murchr answered but not exhaustively...why does the govt allow business men to import almost everything?Why do we import clothes,yet we can grow our own cotton nd have our own textile industry,why we import tomato paste and pasta,yet we grow tomatoes and wheat which can be used to make the two...Our economic policies are all twisted...govt after govt doesn't address this vicious cycle that must be addressed thoroughly and in depth...The US is a great entrepreneurial country,something we must emulate to help raise our standard of living... Am glad you brought it up again. We need a serious paradigm shift if we are to create employment and grow this economy. First, policy should change. Kibaki tried to ban second hand furniture in GOK offices but am sure some smuggle in mitumbas and brand them Kenyan. Sadly these mitumbas take away dollars to other economies and employ low cadre employees. Can you imagine we dont even make underwear - yes the boxers, vests, bras even baby clothes, are all imported. What we make here(the jeans at EPZ) is almost always exported to other economies because we cant afford the finished product. I understand rivertex is up running, what do they make? We have an opportunity now the county govs can create a market by asking hospitals to source bedsheets and blankets from Rivatex, that should ignite some productivity which will improve efficiency. Leather - I have never seen a more carnivorous people than Kenyans, yaani we cant process leather? We have a "mido" crass that is obsessed with posh seats and everything classy, these imported faux leather seats go at the same price that real leather seats go for overseas why not jump into this opportunity? Do we need popcorn eggs from SA oranges from Israel, Wine from SA and Carlifornia yet grapes are rotting in our firms? How many blankets and sheets can the government buy, and at what price, in order to keep rivatex alive? Would that be economically efficient? Something related; why do some people go to India for treatment when there are doctors and similar services in Kenya? How are Chinese or Japanese products faring against American products in America? How about we start with where do GOK hospitals source their bedding from then we go from there. People go to india because its cheaper to get treated there because there are enough specialists - some things even GOK cant control Use the internet to get the answer of your last question @alma we are talking about employment creation, not job seekers. You dont need a degree to tan leather or cut and stitch a piece of cloth to make underwear You haven't answered any question here, and the government control you're talking about doesn't exist any more. Okay here's what I got from my Googling http://useconomy.about.c...omy/p/China_Economy.htm
Ah! https://news.vice.com/ar...ade-in-america-campaign I see you dint get it. The reason why there are protests in the US about Walmart is because they are currenlty trying to ride on the Made in America band wagon yet they are poor employers taking advantage of cheaply made goods in thirdworld countries. Thats why its flopping. have a look at car sales http://www.ibtimes.com/h...honda-nissan-kiahyundai
alma wrote:Murchr after losing each and every argument with me on this forum you should have learned to speak when you know what you are saying.
This link will help you http://www.amelinyangu.n...&id=11&Itemid=19"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:tycho wrote:murchr wrote:tycho wrote:murchr wrote:maka wrote:This is a very good thread,sadly input will be almost zero...a question i asked in the markets section which I believe @Murchr answered but not exhaustively...why does the govt allow business men to import almost everything?Why do we import clothes,yet we can grow our own cotton nd have our own textile industry,why we import tomato paste and pasta,yet we grow tomatoes and wheat which can be used to make the two...Our economic policies are all twisted...govt after govt doesn't address this vicious cycle that must be addressed thoroughly and in depth...The US is a great entrepreneurial country,something we must emulate to help raise our standard of living... Am glad you brought it up again. We need a serious paradigm shift if we are to create employment and grow this economy. First, policy should change. Kibaki tried to ban second hand furniture in GOK offices but am sure some smuggle in mitumbas and brand them Kenyan. Sadly these mitumbas take away dollars to other economies and employ low cadre employees. Can you imagine we dont even make underwear - yes the boxers, vests, bras even baby clothes, are all imported. What we make here(the jeans at EPZ) is almost always exported to other economies because we cant afford the finished product. I understand rivertex is up running, what do they make? We have an opportunity now the county govs can create a market by asking hospitals to source bedsheets and blankets from Rivatex, that should ignite some productivity which will improve efficiency. Leather - I have never seen a more carnivorous people than Kenyans, yaani we cant process leather? We have a "mido" crass that is obsessed with posh seats and everything classy, these imported faux leather seats go at the same price that real leather seats go for overseas why not jump into this opportunity? Do we need popcorn eggs from SA oranges from Israel, Wine from SA and Carlifornia yet grapes are rotting in our firms? How many blankets and sheets can the government buy, and at what price, in order to keep rivatex alive? Would that be economically efficient? Something related; why do some people go to India for treatment when there are doctors and similar services in Kenya? How are Chinese or Japanese products faring against American products in America? How about we start with where do GOK hospitals source their bedding from then we go from there. People go to india because its cheaper to get treated there because there are enough specialists - some things even GOK cant control Use the internet to get the answer of your last question @alma we are talking about employment creation, not job seekers. You dont need a degree to tan leather or cut and stitch a piece of cloth to make underwear You haven't answered any question here, and the government control you're talking about doesn't exist any more. Okay here's what I got from my Googling http://useconomy.about.c...omy/p/China_Economy.htm
Ah! https://news.vice.com/ar...ade-in-america-campaign I see you dint get it. The reason why there are protests in the US about Walmart is because they are currenlty trying to ride on the Made in America band wagon yet they are poor employers taking advantage of cheaply made goods in thirdworld countries. Thats why its flopping. have a look at car sales http://www.ibtimes.com/h...honda-nissan-kiahyundai
[quote=alma]Murchr after losing each and every argument with me on this forum you should have learned to speak when you know what you are saying. This link will help you http://www.amelinyangu.n...amp;id=11&Itemid=19[/quote] I also suggest that you consider why your explanation is similar to the 'sum' of the two links I have provided.
For those of us who have been born in poverty, and who have grown in that acrimonious relation with poverty that manifests in self hatred and self denial, and who even when others are fast asleep are in that relentless effort to find peace, freedom, power and excellence; we must know that our desires can only be met when we remember and live our direct relationship and association with the Sun.
The rising and setting of the Sun is the only necessary condition for a person's freedom, dignity and flourish. It's much like what Christ talked about when he wondered how the lilies and the birds live freely, yet humans mope and fret and sigh.
To gather with the fed to wonder about poverty, to blame the government for not conducing humanity as if there are no prepolitical rights and guarantees; these are idle pursuits and excuses for not working diligently.
The French revolutionaries raised the banner of the Sun, but accepted a Jacobin mediation. And thus was the revolution lost at birth.
We should allow no further mediation. No false conversation. Let every soul discover the Sun for itself.
tycho wrote:murchr wrote:tycho wrote:murchr wrote:tycho wrote:murchr wrote:maka wrote:This is a very good thread,sadly input will be almost zero...a question i asked in the markets section which I believe @Murchr answered but not exhaustively...why does the govt allow business men to import almost everything?Why do we import clothes,yet we can grow our own cotton nd have our own textile industry,why we import tomato paste and pasta,yet we grow tomatoes and wheat which can be used to make the two...Our economic policies are all twisted...govt after govt doesn't address this vicious cycle that must be addressed thoroughly and in depth...The US is a great entrepreneurial country,something we must emulate to help raise our standard of living... Am glad you brought it up again. We need a serious paradigm shift if we are to create employment and grow this economy. First, policy should change. Kibaki tried to ban second hand furniture in GOK offices but am sure some smuggle in mitumbas and brand them Kenyan. Sadly these mitumbas take away dollars to other economies and employ low cadre employees. Can you imagine we dont even make underwear - yes the boxers, vests, bras even baby clothes, are all imported. What we make here(the jeans at EPZ) is almost always exported to other economies because we cant afford the finished product. I understand rivertex is up running, what do they make? We have an opportunity now the county govs can create a market by asking hospitals to source bedsheets and blankets from Rivatex, that should ignite some productivity which will improve efficiency. Leather - I have never seen a more carnivorous people than Kenyans, yaani we cant process leather? We have a "mido" crass that is obsessed with posh seats and everything classy, these imported faux leather seats go at the same price that real leather seats go for overseas why not jump into this opportunity? Do we need popcorn eggs from SA oranges from Israel, Wine from SA and Carlifornia yet grapes are rotting in our firms? How many blankets and sheets can the government buy, and at what price, in order to keep rivatex alive? Would that be economically efficient? Something related; why do some people go to India for treatment when there are doctors and similar services in Kenya? How are Chinese or Japanese products faring against American products in America? How about we start with where do GOK hospitals source their bedding from then we go from there. People go to india because its cheaper to get treated there because there are enough specialists - some things even GOK cant control Use the internet to get the answer of your last question @alma we are talking about employment creation, not job seekers. You dont need a degree to tan leather or cut and stitch a piece of cloth to make underwear You haven't answered any question here, and the government control you're talking about doesn't exist any more. Okay here's what I got from my Googling http://useconomy.about.c...omy/p/China_Economy.htm
alma wrote: Murchr after losing each and every argument with me on this forum you should have learned to speak when you know what you are saying. This link will help you http://www.amelinyangu.n...amp;id=11&Itemid=19
I also suggest that you consider why your explanation is similar to the 'sum' of the two links I have provided ?????What do u mean? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Wendz wrote:Muriel wrote:
I was just about to mention something about capitalism when I saw brother mention a 'rethinking of economic model'.
Capitalism. Profit, profit, profit.
Most, if not all of us, are hardcore capitalists.
You are right... but we cant be worse than the west and the east.... Capitalism is good if it helps grow our economies and create employment. Wendz, Indeed. Capitalism is good for it stimulates an individual to think of something. But with 'free markets' the 'interconnectedness' of countries meaning that if a country attempts an affirmative action in whatever form to increase sales of its home-made items to the loss of sales of items from another country there will be a price to pay. I think we should accept our status.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/27/2012 Posts: 851 Location: Nairobi
I am a firm believer of "buy local, build local".
But we have a few major problems.
1. "UJINGA" The consumers think everything imported is "superior" and more "classy" than local. We are one stupid lot who can't connect the dots. If we consume more local, we won't need most of those hashtags about crime, runaway terrorism etc. But hell no,we can't see the consequences of our deeds. Then came social media and we lost the small brains we had.
2. USELESS civil service, thanks to nepotism/tribalism. If a gov't is going to frustrate an EXPORTER of a bunch of local produce for close to a year, we are going nowhere. We have people in gov't who think it's their right to just be in the office. Where the tax comes from to pay them, is rocket science. By enabling an exporter do his/her biz, might just sort that guy who was to shoot you at your gate after a busy day "of building the nation".
3. LAZY/INEPT population. We have masses who don't know the reason for them being employed. Showing at the work place and being "there" is all that matters to them. Productivity levels are alarming and for a manufacturer, if economies of scale are not on your side, you are screwed. We are not that productive,we are extremely lazy and know very little of our tasks. "KUWA WAJANJA" is all we thrive in.
So, how do we sort the above?
If you are an employer or a person in a position to fire others, FIRE everyone who shows signs of no. 3 above. But first, TRAIN THEM how to work. Watu washike adabu.
For number 2. above, just give every civil servant a big berth, if possible, just hate them useless bunch of people. I practice that.
For number 1. educate the ones around you starting with the young ones. In like 14 years, Kenya would be a better place to be in and truly, be PROUD.
As it is, ask @Kiash.
Give an example of a 'proud' country that consumes all that it produces.[/quote] @tycho. You lost me. In my post did i talk of such a country? That consumes all that it produces? I'm talking about us Kenyans as a people, being able to produce efficiently,being well informed,assessing the consequences of our choices/consumption [local vs foreign] and the government doing its part in enabling business within our borders and without. As a people we should be in a position to take pride in KENYAN/ MADE IN KENYA. Ask South Koreans. 대한 민국 최고. Loosely translated theirs [South Korean] is the best. From food to culture to technology.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/27/2012 Posts: 851 Location: Nairobi
alma wrote:Sorry to shit on the bandwagon but this build Kenya make Kenya stuff is total bullshit.Kenyans have and will always want to be employed. let me give you an example This was posted somewhere online and the guy is supposed to be a genius in writing articles. Quote:Uhuru blacklisted me for no good reason. With Bcoms First Class and CPA, aty siezi pata job. Banks pia they don't want to employ me. I have made thousands of applications; these people doesn't call me for an interview. Forget the Uhuru part because that's plain stupid. How anyone can expect Uhuru to give him a job is waaaaaaayy beyond me. But look at the structure and the grammar of that complaint. If you can't see a problem with those 5 lines then you have a problem. Then imagine that he sent you the same application with the same words, structure and grammar. Let's be honest. The complaint should not be from job seekers it should be from job creators. I have posted something on wazua today simply because I couldn't get the person we needed. These kids from school have watched tooooooooo many 50 bob movies so believe that once they have a degree they are golden. Then they conive and stress their parents to get a a masters digireee from a funny college and they expect the rest of the world to bow in mercy. There are jobs in Kenya for those who wish to create them. For those looking for Uhuru to create them, all I can say is that I am a Democrat. Voted Democrat and total Kiash. But there's no way I can expect a gov't to feed my kids.The current crop of shudrens who come from college expect to be owed for being sooooo clever. That unfortunately is the problem. That is why the next car jacker you meet will be a stupid boy who's only 21 yrs and can't think that the money he stole should be invested in a kaplot not drunk with manwinder. Let's look for the hustlers who want to work and succeed. Not the idle langas and beach boys who want to be billionaires at 30. @ Alma, Buy Kenyan Build Kenya is not BS. Its the real deal. Imagine how many jobs we could create if for those imported seats are made here locally by the good, serious artisans we have? One of my in-laws bought those imported sofas,pricey they were. Hardly a year down the line,they look like they've been shaken. I got mine way cheaper from Ngong road just about the same time.Mine look "pricier" than hers and in great condition. Those imported glass coffee tables are a waste. The coffee table i got 8 years ago is as good as new. A new coat of possible every couple of years. About those young kids, i feel you. TOTALLY. And they are not ALONE. The muguka-chewing "makali-drinking" grow ups are not any better. You give orders to guys to make what they trade in for you, you set collection date but woe unto you. On the day of collection, the guy has done a lot of BS. The products are not to specification and from his "UJANJA" he has swapped others. How do you help such a lot? As much as i don't expect the gov't to feed my kids, i expect it to give a business-friendly environment and intervene for its citizenry whenever called out, especially out there. Sad bit is, the civil service is out to frustrate its people in order to "eat" and just like that, we keep on scraping the barrel.
murchr wrote:tycho wrote:murchr wrote:tycho wrote:murchr wrote:tycho wrote:murchr wrote:maka wrote:This is a very good thread,sadly input will be almost zero...a question i asked in the markets section which I believe @Murchr answered but not exhaustively...why does the govt allow business men to import almost everything?Why do we import clothes,yet we can grow our own cotton nd have our own textile industry,why we import tomato paste and pasta,yet we grow tomatoes and wheat which can be used to make the two...Our economic policies are all twisted...govt after govt doesn't address this vicious cycle that must be addressed thoroughly and in depth...The US is a great entrepreneurial country,something we must emulate to help raise our standard of living... Am glad you brought it up again. We need a serious paradigm shift if we are to create employment and grow this economy. First, policy should change. Kibaki tried to ban second hand furniture in GOK offices but am sure some smuggle in mitumbas and brand them Kenyan. Sadly these mitumbas take away dollars to other economies and employ low cadre employees. Can you imagine we dont even make underwear - yes the boxers, vests, bras even baby clothes, are all imported. What we make here(the jeans at EPZ) is almost always exported to other economies because we cant afford the finished product. I understand rivertex is up running, what do they make? We have an opportunity now the county govs can create a market by asking hospitals to source bedsheets and blankets from Rivatex, that should ignite some productivity which will improve efficiency. Leather - I have never seen a more carnivorous people than Kenyans, yaani we cant process leather? We have a "mido" crass that is obsessed with posh seats and everything classy, these imported faux leather seats go at the same price that real leather seats go for overseas why not jump into this opportunity? Do we need popcorn eggs from SA oranges from Israel, Wine from SA and Carlifornia yet grapes are rotting in our firms? How many blankets and sheets can the government buy, and at what price, in order to keep rivatex alive? Would that be economically efficient? Something related; why do some people go to India for treatment when there are doctors and similar services in Kenya? How are Chinese or Japanese products faring against American products in America? How about we start with where do GOK hospitals source their bedding from then we go from there. People go to india because its cheaper to get treated there because there are enough specialists - some things even GOK cant control Use the internet to get the answer of your last question @alma we are talking about employment creation, not job seekers. You dont need a degree to tan leather or cut and stitch a piece of cloth to make underwear You haven't answered any question here, and the government control you're talking about doesn't exist any more. Okay here's what I got from my Googling http://useconomy.about.c...omy/p/China_Economy.htm
alma wrote: Murchr after losing each and every argument with me on this forum you should have learned to speak when you know what you are saying. This link will help you http://www.amelinyangu.n...amp;id=11&Itemid=19
I also suggest that you consider why your explanation is similar to the 'sum' of the two links I have provided ?????What do u mean? Poor you! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Talk2Us
Wazuans Employment Creation thought leadership