wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

COOKING 101
kissedxx
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 1:49:43 PM

Lately.. more like for the past year my mid section has been "slowly" expanding fwd. Its was cute for a while but iz now alarming. So as a new year resolution I decided to start eating healthier Liar . For a start is to try cooking for myself.

I am a bachelor you see and my diet mainly consists of two or three food groups. white, brown and frosty.

I'd like us share some simple home cooked recipes for me to dabble with after work.

To begin with I have always wanted to cook Omena.. anyone know a good recipe for that?Pray
"If you understand, things are just as they are; if you do not understand, things are just as they are"
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 5:12:49 AM

Always thought I could make a good cook but never got past baking. Also keen to follow this thread on simple recipes - second chances.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 7:35:11 AM

sorry i dont do scientific cooking (XYZ kgs of this n that, abc litres of watever) but try these:

Quick meals:

- Get raw sausage, chop into small slices. Fry onions and tomatoes
add the chopped sausages and cook lightly until a thick gravy is
obtained.Do not add water, but let the cooking be light till
sausage is cooked.Serve with Ugali, steamed spinach/sukuma fried
in tomatoes,with golden fried onion rings on a side plate,
- Get eggs, bread crumbs and chicken mguus from a supermarket.The
egg helps the breadcrumps stay on the kuku till it is done and
also gives it an appetizing glden brown look,
- Mala na Ugz is quick to make.Haiya, u can even get a slice of ugz
at your local kayosk for 20-30/= (blessed are u if u live near a
butchery?
- Get hamburgers/chicken burger from a supermarket for less than
200/= and cook as you wish - mostly fry,

BTW, can someone tell me: Is matumbo white or red meat?

#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 7:46:08 AM

@Intelli,
Aiii.....Sasa hiyo ni cooking gani?...I know my cooking skills don't go beyond boiling eggs but i can't say that is healthy cooking.

@Kissed,
Omena recipe??....Ngai Mwathani!!...Katakata kitunguu,some tomatoes and throw them on the pan plus the omenas.Kindly do not heat your pan with a torch.Haki,i am a basket case when it comes to cooking.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 7:50:07 AM

Intelligentsia.......fry ni mob sana in those your quick meals tips....meaning, kidogo healthy eating!!!!
PONDI
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 8:22:04 AM

lol, you can tell the married chaps from the single dudes like yours truly. BTW omena is pretty bitter if not boiled prior to frying. every single man should "cram" atleast 2 receipes. simple stuff that will wow the skirt off any lass. so here goes mine. diced kuku kienyeji, cut up a large onion, tomato, chilli, throw kila kitu in a sufuria. medium heat, no oil as the kuku is kinda oily anyway. after 45 mins, weka spice and dania. in a separate sufuria, weka 1 small cup of rice, and 2 cups of water. low heat. everything will be ready to eat in another 25 or so minutes. you could cut up an onion, soak in hot salted water to remove the zing, then cut up a nice juicy tomato, dania, pili pili and add lemon to make great kachumbari. i promise you after she devours that meal, she will willingly hang her you know what kwa ile msumari iko kwa bathroom. you should also learn how to make boiro. any red meat, onion, tomato, peeled potatoes, cabbage/spinach, chilli and abit of spice. put everything in a sufuria, add abit of water and bring to a slow boil. serve after about 60 minutes. finally, if you have DSTV, try watch the cookng channel inbetween those footie games, you will learn something.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 9:12:55 AM

@mereggae/guka - kumbe hata mala ni furaaae lol! But u r both right those can't be everyday receipes.
Seriously though, food for bachelors nowadays is a much simpler affair - the butchery katakatas the meat, mama mboga does the same with potatoes, sukuma and carrots. Chapos are available even in supermarkets, as well as dried vegetables. In some decent places u can even get githeri.Never before has the choice been that wide.

Where r the mamas they contribute?
#8 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 9:15:34 AM

COOKING!!!

Who wants to know how to boil water?
#9 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 9:24:36 AM

@Pondi,
Aiiii,......Pondi!!.9 brawnie points you get....huh!.

@Poundfoolish,
You can show me how to boil water without roasting the sufuria??...I am game....lol.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 9:31:13 AM

Some of us just want to focus on white meat, so someone tell:

Matumbo is white or red meat?
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 11:00:21 AM

Mtura ya mbao hapo nje, supuu ya kumi then pick a mango, orange, avocado or any other fruit and your supper is done!!!!
PONDI
#12 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 12:48:17 PM

matumbo is considered a white meat as it lacks some protein whose name i can't recall. @mcreggae....you should go to dagoretti and watch those butchers making it.... i only eat mtura made in-house from scratch.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 12:52:39 PM

aii! Pondi.. how can products of a red meat animal be white..?

Njung'e the only answer i have on matumbo is that it depends on the animal.. cow/sheep/goat matumbo should be red meat.. kuku's matumbo or samaki's matumbo should be considered white meat..

my 3cents
brav
#14 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 1:10:38 PM

talking of cooking, do cook anything but be very very afraid of including rosemary in your pork esp if your system is like mine.

it taste good but the emissions afterwards, it washana naye
dsgnplus
#15 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 4:56:28 PM

Ati nani rosemary! Boiro Mwisho... recipe rahisi halisi...kata cabbage twice, peel waru, tayarisha nyama white or red lakini sio fish ( i have never tried fish boiro) na herbs akina dhania na kadhalika your creativity will only be limited to the ingredients. tumbukiza kila kitu kwa pan boil slowly mpaka kuiva. tengeza sima and you are good to go.
tony stark
#16 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 6:13:11 PM

Pondi thats an okay recipe.
My panty dropping meal is sweet mukimo and beef stew.
I said Mukimo but it really sweet mashed potatoes. Very easy boil 2 average sweet potatoes or 1 big one with 5 potatoes obviously already peeled. Once soft drain the water add some butter and mash it. You can add a little milk to the mix if its too hard.

Fry some crushed cummin seed and crushed garlic in some oil, add onions, tomatoes i love spices this is when i add some and then the beef. If you really want soft beef just add tenderiser and let it seat for some hours.
Take 30- 40 minutes as the warus are boiling be cooking the stew.
Ussually works with the fairer sex. I cook alot so that i can have left overs for take away lunch the next day and supper.
Djagame
#17 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 10:57:18 PM

@Kissedxx

For your omena recipe first boil the omena to get rid of the bitter taste and drain.

In a pan/sufuria saute onions till golden brown and add tomatoes and salt, to this add the drained omena.

To the above add light coconut milk [obtained by adding water to dessicated coconut from which thick milk has been extracted] and leave to simmer.

Once the coconut milk is reduced add thick coconut milk [obtained without adding water to dessicated coconut] to thicken the soup simmer a little longer and serve.

Try it with the brown ugali.
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 07, 2010 9:16:10 AM

There is that ugly part of washing the dishes.

Please include your eh advice and or advise on how to best do this in your respective recipes.
kissedxx
#19 Posted : Saturday, January 09, 2010 1:11:00 PM

@aemathenge.. i have someone who comes in twice a week for major drama like ugali, furayy etx, i do dished when i need to meditate and less frequently future mrs.kissedxx..

great recipes!! i recently went to a nutritionist and on a strict 5 day de-tox diet now. no meat..only veges only... only!!

ill post some vegan recipes if anyones interested...

"If you understand, things are just as they are; if you do not understand, things are just as they are"
kissedxx
#20 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2010 5:40:42 AM

Copy pasted from another site. I cant make soft chapatis. Its so frustrating!! aarrgh and the work involved deserves a good end product. hmm

Chapati
Ingredients (6 servings)
1 cup of whole wheat flour
1 cup white flour
2 tbsp oil or ghee
3/4 - 1 cup of warm water
Salt to taste

Mix the flour in a bowl and add salt and oil. You can mix with clean hands, or use a mixer or food processor. Add a little bit of water at a time and knead well for about 10 minutes until you have a stiff and smooth dough. Cover the dough and let it stand for at least 30 minutes up to two hours. Knead the dough well again and divide it into egg-sized balls. Dust each ball with extra flour. Flatten each ball and roll out thinly into sizeable circles. Heat an ungreased, heavy skillet or griddle over a medium flame. Lightly grease the pan and slowly heat the first chapatti. Cook on one side for about 1 minute or until lightly brown, then flip and brown the other side. Press the sides of the chapati with a spoon until it puffs. Remove the chapati from the skillet into a warm dish or foil paper and wrap it to keep it warm. Repeat this process for every chapati, wiping the pan with greased paper every time a new chapati is to be cooked.