wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Bank Overdraft
#1 Posted : Monday, August 25, 2014 4:39:41 PM

Went to equity to try get some emergency funds, asked them to give me ka overdraft of around 10% of what has been consistently hitting my account every month, been a member since '07 - nikawaambia sina payslip, kazi yangu ni ya hustler and my friends pia ni hustlers who do not get payslips every month - they refused. Wanataka payslip and 2 gurantors who get their monthly pay via the bank.

nikatoka huko clutching my ka ego with my hands Sad .

ni benki ipi iko easy na hi mambo ya kusort clients wake, especially during those occasional cash emergencies, for those who hustle and are not given payslips.

Thiong'o
#2 Posted : Monday, August 25, 2014 5:08:50 PM

Went to equity to try get some emergency funds, asked them to give me ka overdraft of around 10% of what has been consistently hitting my account every month, been a member since '07 - nikawaambia sina payslip, kazi yangu ni ya hustler and my friends pia ni hustlers who do not get payslips every month - they refused. Wanataka payslip and 2 gurantors who get their monthly pay via the bank.

ni benki ipi iko easy na hi mambo ya kusort clients wake, especially during those occasional cash emergencies, for those who hustle and are not given payslips.

@ nakujua, there is some info. here ....
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=19157
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=4635
#3 Posted : Monday, August 25, 2014 5:32:18 PM

Thiong'o wrote:

thanks, but those threads are about loan rates, mimi natafuta a bank that can at least listen to your needs - especially in times of emergencies, shida I have been a member with no other bank experience - but I find they are too rigid for me, they may be better for the salaried individuals.

Irrespective of my account activity naona for them all they want ni payslip na employment with a known organization, before they even contemplate giving one credit, in case of an emergency I would rather be in good relations with a bank that can at least listen - ama zote ziko hivyo.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 4:05:54 PM

Thiong'o wrote:

thanks, but those threads are about loan rates, mimi natafuta a bank that can at least listen to your needs - especially in times of emergencies, shida I have been a member with no other bank experience - but I find they are too rigid for me, they may be better for the salaried individuals.

Irrespective of my account activity naona for them all they want ni payslip na employment with a known organization, before they even contemplate giving one credit, in case of an emergency I would rather be in good relations with a bank that can at least listen - ama zote ziko hivyo.

Open a business account with Co-op bank!!!
deadpoet
#5 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 4:28:14 PM

First Community Bank, downside - very few branches
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 4:31:09 PM

Open a haba na haba (small biashara) account with Coop Bank. Maintain basic records of Biashara, after 6 months utapewa pesa!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, August 27, 2014 10:43:59 PM

@Mc and @Angelica, I will visit the coop guys and see the options they have, I hope they listen - felt bad when the credit lady at member just looked at me rolled her eyes and lectured me on the bank processes after I persistently asked her if there was no other way they could help me out.

@deadpoet, I don't mind few branches, I mostly operate from Nai and with mobile money I can be sorted from anyplace - forgive my ignorance lakini I always thought first community was benki ya waisilamu, let me check site yao.
edwing
#8 Posted : Friday, August 29, 2014 2:02:49 PM

You'll be in the same boat with all banks. Been there manage you finances well to avoid being in such a situation. Banks are not your family you don't just walk in and walk out with money. Give them a security and the fastest you'll get cash it's five days.
#9 Posted : Friday, August 29, 2014 2:31:31 PM

edwing wrote:
You'll be in the same boat with all banks. Been there manage you finances well to avoid being in such a situation. Banks are not your family you don't just walk in and walk out with money. Give them a security and the fastest you'll get cash it's five days.

tend to agree. banks walk away from you at the hour you need them most.

join a sacco and invite your friends to join so you can guarantee one another.

or else get a credit card and use in emergency situations only.pay in the bill in time and you won't complain.
mkeiy
#10 Posted : Friday, August 29, 2014 3:02:07 PM

Funny how they won't bail you out when things are "elephant" on you but will be keen to bother you with loan offers once you rise from the dirt.

Bure kabisa.
They only smile at you if they see your account looking good.

They even have the audacity to tell you to take the money[loan] from them and figure out what to do with.