#221 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 8:52:43 AM

Equity should have rolled normal sims long ago as they battle with thin sims
whiteowl
#222 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 11:38:33 AM

[quote=young farmer]Equity allowed to roll out mobile banking venture

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/swvxtfz/-/index.html[/quote]

The title of the article has no relationship to the contents.

I read the article thrice but didn't see where the dispute has been resolved and Eqty allowed to go ahead.

idiotic journalism
whiteowl
#223 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 11:42:10 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
uchumi wrote:
London-based GSMA, the global association of telecoms operators using the GSM technology, has written to the Kenyan authorities warning of the risks that use of the slim SIM cards pose to the integrity of the mobile telecommunications platforms.
The GSMA says the overlay SIM (which is embedded between a normal SIM card and the device) has the potential of harvesting and revealing sensitive data passing the system.
The technical opinion risks further delaying Equity’s use of the thin SIM to enter the lucrative mobile money market.

Sad Sad Second opinion? Anyone? Please?Pray

Looks like Vodafone are pulling some strings.
DBLyon
#224 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 11:47:26 AM

whiteowl wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
uchumi wrote:
London-based GSMA, the global association of telecoms operators using the GSM technology, has written to the Kenyan authorities warning of the risks that use of the slim SIM cards pose to the integrity of the mobile telecommunications platforms.
The GSMA says the overlay SIM (which is embedded between a normal SIM card and the device) has the potential of harvesting and revealing sensitive data passing the system.
The technical opinion risks further delaying Equity’s use of the thin SIM to enter the lucrative mobile money market.

Sad Sad Second opinion? Anyone? Please?Pray

Looks like Vodafone are pulling some strings.

And this conclusion is based on...?
When you live for others' opinions, you are dead.

- Carlos Slim Helu
DtheK
#225 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 2:45:05 PM

Safaricom is a full member of GSMA gsma members The GSMA represents the interests of mobile operators worldwide.It's equivalent here would be Kenya Bankers Association.They are biased.
#226 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 2:47:49 PM

Equity can go head and ignore the "talk" afterall its a make or break issue right? The results at this time are unknown but will be known later.
#227 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 4:06:10 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Equity should have rolled normal sims long ago as they battle with thin sims
Normal SIMs are available but for now a phased roll-out to test the system. You can request for one at your branch.
#228 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 4:09:34 PM

DtheK wrote:
Safaricom is a full member of GSMA gsma members The GSMA represents the interests of mobile operators worldwide.It's equivalent here would be Kenya Bankers Association.They are biased.

Safaricom sees Equity/Finserve as a threat and has pulled out all stops including using GSMA as well as cutting M-Pesa charges recently to counter Equity.
innovator
#229 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 5:53:36 PM

I do not think GSMA biased on this. Like any other technology the thin slim circuit can be used for the good or the bad, GSMA is just warning CA to take caution and may be involve an independent body.
Equity on the other had is arguing that it only intends to use the technology for the benefit of its customers.
Depending on CA interpretation i see equity carrying the day with some condition.
mv_ufanisi
#230 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 6:51:57 PM

innovator wrote:
I do not think GSMA biased on this. Like any other technology the thin slim circuit can be used for the good or the bad, GSMA is just warning CA to take caution and may be involve an independent body.
Equity on the other had is arguing that it only intends to use the technology for the benefit of its customers.
Depending on CA interpretation i see equity carrying the day with some condition.

I sure hope that Equity gets the go ahead.
Kenya has always been an open market.
That's why CBK didn't try to shut down M-PESA or force it to work with banks unlike some other countries where M-PESA won't fly coz the banking cartels make sure it doesn't have a chance. As long as the thin SIM is not doing any harm, it should be set free to transform the lives of Kenyans.
#231 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 7:11:18 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
innovator wrote:

I sure hope that Equity gets the go ahead.
Kenya has always been an open market.
That's why CBK didn't try to shut down M-PESA or force it to work with banks unlike some other countries where M-PESA won't fly coz the banking cartels make sure it doesn't have a chance. As long as the thin SIM is not doing any harm, it should be set free to transform the lives of Kenyans.

the british will always stay ahead. long live gsma long live voda

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
jwatesh
#232 Posted : Tuesday, August 26, 2014 9:44:02 PM

Is there any insider in CAK who has some info on which side CAK is leaning on?
#233 Posted : Wednesday, August 27, 2014 6:53:23 AM

this may sound tribal but mudu wa nyumba will get the go ahead

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#234 Posted : Wednesday, August 27, 2014 8:23:23 AM

Wewe, let Equity bring cheaper services to the people. We can't all fly Business Class like you on KQ.
#235 Posted : Wednesday, August 27, 2014 8:56:59 AM

Wewe, let Equity bring cheaper services to the people. We can't all fly Business Class like you on KQ.

I actually hope hope Equity succeeds even if they use the mundu wa nyumba strategy. It will benefit all Kenyans
patrazi
#236 Posted : Wednesday, August 27, 2014 10:20:17 AM

You are not. The bank is foreign owned. This is from the last statistics I saw.
kollabo
#237 Posted : Wednesday, August 27, 2014 10:22:05 AM

"People are open minded about new things as long as they are exactly as the old ones" - Charles Kettering

whiteowl
#238 Posted : Wednesday, August 27, 2014 11:26:51 AM

Robinhood wrote:

I actually hope hope Equity succeeds even if they use the mundu wa nyumba strategy. It will benefit all Kenyans

yeah,end users are the main beneficiaries here
jwatesh
#239 Posted : Wednesday, August 27, 2014 1:13:59 PM

One thing that is soooo evident, Communication Authority is soooo against Safaricom. If they are forcing them to share their property with free loaders, they can definitely let Equity Bank roll out their overlay sim card
XSK
#240 Posted : Wednesday, August 27, 2014 1:40:21 PM

jwatesh wrote:
One thing that is soooo evident, Communication Authority is soooo against Safaricom. If they are forcing them to share their property with free loaders, they can definitely let Equity Bank roll out their overlay sim card

I hope they will get it. The MPESA charges suddenly become unbearable. Like many Kenyans I want a cheap mobile money transfer solution and Equity seems to be offering exactly that!!!
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!