wazua Fri, Aug 1, 2025

Kenya Bank Rankings 2009
#1 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2010 10:30:19 AM

So who do you bank with? If they are not on this list be very afraid. See where they fall on this list according to bankelele

43 City Finance
42 Dubai
41 Oriental
40 Paramount Universal
39 Middle East
38 Transnational
37 Credit
36 First Community
35 Equatorial
34 Habib Bank
33 Fidelity
32 Southern Credit
31 Victoria
30 Consolidated
29 Giro
28 Guardian
27 Gulf African
26 Habib AG Zurich
25 K-Rep
24 Development Bank of Kenya
23 ABC
22 Fina
21 Chase
20 Family Bank
19 India
18 Ecobank/EABS
17 Bank of Africa
16 Imperial
15 Housing Finance
14 Baroda
13 Prime
12 Investment & Mortgages
11 NIC

10 Diamond Trust, ass 44.9b +pft 1b
09 Commerical Bank of Africa, ass 52b +pft 1.39b
08 National Bank of Kenya, ass 55.2b +pft 1.4b
07 Citibank Kenya, ass 55.6b +pft 2.3b
06 CFC Stanbic, ass 83.5b +pft 981m
05 Equity Bank, ass 92.4b +pft 4.2b
04 Cooperative Bank of Kenya, ass 98b +pft 2.9b
03 Standard Chartered, ass 122b +pft 5.2b
02 KCB, ass 163b +pft 5b
01 Barclays Bank of Kenya, ass 168b +pft 6.63b

2009 Kenya Bank Rankings ranked by assets
+profit shown for nine months
source: bankele.blogspot.com
#2 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2010 10:44:45 AM

Me my favourites are Standard Chartered (for the efficiency) and can't ignore Equity Bank (aissh, their engine has steam). And it's good to see Barclays (always claiming their 01 position).

But seeing how far KCB has come in 10 years should give us hope for Vision 2030.
#3 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2010 1:58:36 PM

Return On Assets makes CFC stink to high heaven. Sub 1B profits for an asset base of 84B is a scandal. Are the South Africans repatriating chums?
I would have thought that my bank I&M would have have broken into the top ten by now.
#4 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2010 7:19:59 PM

@GG - Kwani, una shares in I&M?

I like I&M for the service/NextGen lakini they can't get into top 10 without more branches OR embracing a wider spectrum of customers - which could (not saying it will) lead to 'poorer' customer service.

BTW, I&M has slacked since its peers NIC & DTB has overtaken them. CFC was a peer pre-merger. Not any more.
#5 Posted : Friday, January 01, 2010 7:29:17 PM

http://bankelele.blogspo...k-rankings-part-ii.html

Here is the bankelele link
#6 Posted : Saturday, January 02, 2010 7:31:26 AM

wa wa wa, CFC's under performance (no growth in loans)is a shocker! So how does it justify its whole Corporate and Retail Depts during the year?! They were merely a cost- and not profit-centre!! More so the Retail side because that was the principal reason informing Stanbic's decision to acquire CFC Bank...Or is it that post-merger they adopted a very conservative stance of investing more in govt paper (risk-free) than in relatively risky loans? I would really love to see a break-up of their asset-base to see what %ge of assets were in t-bills.

BTW, am curious who is Bankelele? I have cross-checked some of the stats above with the financials of the banks and found it accurate so that gives some comfort that Bankelele r serious.

Lets wait for the EOY 2009 performance which Banks are at this moment starting to compile. I hope it will contain a more rigorous analysis of the sector featuring key indicia that are gaining more and more prominence within the banking industry such as the cost-to-income ratio, Credit:Deposit (CD)Ratio, Non-Performing: Total Lending Portfolio ratios and so on. The latter ratio is particularly important in banks like KCB and NBK because of their legacy loans and if not fully provided for will erode the profits shown.Indeed for some Kenyan banks their bad book is a whooping >30% of their portfolio.Terrible if 3 out of every 10 loans you have are bad. In Japan,CEO's commit hara kiri for lesser failures than this!

Did you know that while having so many branches does raise a bank's strategic and commercial profile thereby netting it more retail and corporate deposits/ loans, it however does not always translate into a higher profit or asset base? Citibank is a moot point: a two-branch bank that appears in Bankelele's list as no. 7 in terms of asset base. Yet DTB,NBK & CBA have more branches each than Citi.

Citi is also the exact opposite of Equity - while Equity focuses on the low-to middle income bloke across your the street and will disburse loans way below <50k kenya money, Citi will repeatedly yawn at you if u r not seeking loans of at least USD 1m (KShs 8om) And remember, both are doing well in their respective niches, while the rest of the Banks operate between these 2 extremes.So it does pay to identify your niche and focus on it.

Oops, forgot to holla New Year to you guys! Hapi 2010!

#7 Posted : Saturday, January 02, 2010 1:54:31 PM

@vvs, sina hisa I&M lakini Im very happy with them. They even credited my account with ksh 100 when I opted to be receiving my statements by email...
#8 Posted : Saturday, January 02, 2010 4:03:43 PM

@ Inteligentia
Interesting reads and insights for a green horn like me.. keep informing us, people..
kissedxx
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 2:07:07 PM

Personally was using cfc before and they were great operating our SME!! Now all I can say is that I am very disappointed since the acquisition by Stanbic.. So many issues than I care to list. Shopping for a new bank and apparently being top ten isnt everything.. Any ideas? Ive opened accounts at equity to test waters but I am sceptic sana...
"If you understand, things are just as they are; if you do not understand, things are just as they are"