wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

5 Pages«<345
Your Electricity Bill
mozenrat
#81 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 8:08:00 PM

@VVS..

But I thought,KPLC buys from Kengen at fixed rate...

that is not changing soon..

Hii pesa yote inaenda kwa mfuko ya KPLC....
#82 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 7:37:00 AM

KPLC has many suppliers (KenGen is the largest & 'cheapest' coz of Hydro) thus the IPPs (thermal) will pass on the (fuel+forex) costs to KPLC which then bills consumers.
**__** KenGen also charges the forex adjustment (not included in the KShs 2.36 it gets paid by KPLC).

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#83 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 3:01:00 PM

My October bill is obscene ... and i live alone,get home from work at 8pm,sleep by 11pm.
jerry
#84 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 6:34:00 PM

@Vvs et al,Thank u. @sparky. Obscene is relative,what figures r u talking about? Mine was only 436/=.

Crocodile tears: If you can't assist me when I'm alive en you attend my funeral.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#85 Posted : Wednesday, November 09, 2011 9:02:27 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly This is just too much! Daylight robbery i tell you, consumption is 748 but the total bill is coming to 3,487???? Hata mkisema ni forex i smell something here and it has to do with erections next year! What was the name of that organization that's supposed to protect consumers???

Blackberry
#86 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 11:09:38 AM

got power installed some 18mths earlier......
bills were gradually rising from 2500, to 11k, 34k....
diagnosis ..... meter may be faulty
then the bill galloped to 172k..and was disconnected....
we suffered a while......candles, gas etc
and decided to try solar......
....yes...ni expensive kiasi.....some times not enough power if sun doesnt shine.....
but we get by..... polepole building a bank.....
Good riddance KPLC!!!
hata prepaid ikikuja ....sitaki!

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

majimaji
#87 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 12:34:51 PM

@Blackberry, how much did the solar cost you and where did u get the panels etc.
I'm facing the same problem...now they have slapped me with a bill of 36k ati for wrong readings since Jan 2010.
Kassych
#88 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 10:41:08 PM

jerry wrote:
Latest FCA is 769 cts per KWH. It rose from 359 thru 649. This is the killer! Can this be audited. Taking this into account 17/= isn't far from truth.

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.

My FCA is actually 840 though am paying less this month than last. i figure the switching off of the stuff i do not use often paid off. dvd player,decorder,kettle switch and the like. try it. you will be amazed.
jerry
#89 Posted : Thursday, November 10, 2011 10:49:50 PM

@Kassych, what u r quoting was written 2yrs ago! 'Next month' the FCA will be 902 cts per KWH.
Blackberry
#90 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 12:18:08 PM

majimaji wrote:

@Blackberry, how much did the solar cost you and where did u get the panels etc.
I'm facing the same problem...now they have slapped me with a bill of 36k ati for wrong readings since Jan 2010.

@2maji. be very afraid.
I now have 3x100w panel cost arround 35k. (Dont have a solution for the kitchen gadgets but getting there.....(solar fridges bado ni expeo current brands target hospitals for immunisation).
i had a thread here ... wajuaji wakajaribu kunidiscourage (wondered kama wanalipwa na KPLC)
.....KPLC Power is easy but not the only soln.

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

jerry
#91 Posted : Sunday, November 13, 2011 9:50:55 AM

jerry wrote:
@Kassych, what u r quoting was written 2yrs ago! 'Next month' the FCA will be 902 cts per KWH.

My bill this month; 426.61(got via 5551 service) up from 370. Reason for jump! is FCA.
#92 Posted : Sunday, November 13, 2011 11:22:30 AM

jerry wrote:

My bill this month; 426.61(got via 5551 service) up from 370. Reason for jump! is FCA.

...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Hii ni bill ya Kenya power kweli!!! Hata kama uko na socket moja hii hawesi kuwa! Kwanza their money before you use their service is almost that much...Unless you don't virtually live in your house...
jerry
#93 Posted : Sunday, November 13, 2011 3:57:53 PM

@Magigi, Don't worry about the amount. Look at the change! From 370 to 426 is 56/= or 15%. Now apply 15% on ur October bill.
Thiong'o
#94 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 2:50:01 PM

Fuel Cost Adjustment & forex adjustment goes straight to IPPs & KenGen... (loans in forex)

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB

Explanation of the charges by Eng Joseporoge, PS Ministry of Energy
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nXBYy-0kO74
http://www.youtube.com/w...UUhBQgieUidXV1CmDxSdRm3g
#95 Posted : Wednesday, August 20, 2014 9:47:20 AM

Check your bill amount in real time, within seconds, at the comfort of your desk. Enter the first part of your bill and submit.

Link: http://contactcentre.kplc.co.ke/KEIOPEN/

Pay via airtel money or Mpesa on 888888.

I only wish that KPLC replaces the ANALOGUE post pay meters with the prepay meters