wazua Wed, Jun 10, 2026

Holidaying in Nanyuki
fuchu
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 6:16:32 AM

We'll be taking a family holiday at the end of January. We are looking for accomodation in Nanyukifor 3 adults and a baby. Now that Skerians are travelled, where can I get decent accomodation . Ideas will really help.

May You Prosper in 2010.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 7:08:50 AM

Kirimara springs, ibis hotel, sportman's arms.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 7:52:46 AM

@Fuchu,
Good choice for a hol destination.You have Sweet-waters,Mt Kenya park,Lewa conservancy,Samburu and Shaba all within the vicinity of Nanyuki.
Accomodation?..MKSC.......Kama pesa si probleme otherwise go with Thimioni's suggestion.You may add Sirimon......on the Sirimon route up Mt Kenya.

@Thimioni,
Trout Tree restaurant??...Bado iko?(Joskaki..Pray )
fuchu
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 8:41:38 AM

@Njunge, My pockets are not very deep. Am looking for medium cost accomodation. Are there cottages in that neighbourhood?

@ simonkabz: will check those options out.

By the way, are there MUST WATCH/VISIT places around Nanyuki?
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 9:10:51 AM

Ati joskaki? Hehehe! Dude dont take ua family to joskaki, u will b single b4 leaving the immoral town! @guka, I know u frequent Octopus, I asked a few 'pipo' and they actually knw u ha!
PONDI
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 9:26:52 AM

nanyuki is the "meating" capital of kenya, and am not talking about the kind you find at "kungu maitu". i would not advice anyone to shack u with the wifey and kids at any of the hotels located in the CBD, except for sportman arms. and the crime rate....wacha tu. too many rogue ex and serving soldiers
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 9:53:07 AM

@Fuchu,
Let it be SM a arms then....Consider visiting Sweetwaters a must.

@Pondi,
"Meating"...hehe!!...Does Kungu Maitu exist any more??...I Doubt.The last time i passed by,there was another joint by the name Choma zone/village or something like that.

@Thimioni,
Ol-jogi??....I liked the white rhinos but it's been long since i was there last.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 12:33:51 PM

For someone with a family,i think sportsman is the most sane overnight place. Make sure you visit sweetwaters.Your family will love it! Kama iko pesa,stay at Mt.Kenya safari clubsmile

@Guka and Thimioni
Is Ol-jogi a romantic-ish place? havent been there but have heard a lot of nice things about it and wld love to know more...
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 12:41:18 PM

Kirimara n ibis ziko sawa, pondi is a bit too of an alarmist. Also, serving soldiers dnt commit crime as depicted. However, take gud care of ua car esp kama ni hotcake. In that respect, s. arms is safest. Mt Kenya safari club is quite costly my friend. 'Sweet waters' a must visit. @guka n leona, Ol jogi-have never ventured there. Just after naro moru, theres' bantu lodge. Nice relaxing place 4the family. Also peep into trout tree b4 nyk 4quality fish.
fuchu
#10 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 1:06:26 PM

@ All. of course cash is an issue, not big though. Bantu Lodge looks good enough from the postings on their website. Have you heard of Lions Gate or even Old House? Some friends pointed that way, though am yet to establish the facts n figures.

@ Simioni : Kongoni ni Wapi?

@Guka: How far is Timau from there?