wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

31 Pages«<678910>»
EBOLA Virus
#141 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 2:45:59 PM

D32 wrote:
Zambia is banning entry to anyone from Liberia, Sierra Leone, Guinea and Nigeria

Gambia has banned flights from Ebola-hit west African countries from landing in its territory

Ivory Coast has announced it had banned all passenger flights from the three countries hit the worst by the spread of Ebola: Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone.

Chad ban flights from Nigeria

much good this will do them... they have physical border with both guinea and liberia over the thick bush that is Nimba! for the rest of the countries, I guess it's all political so that ignorant but terrified people (after watching the dramatisation that was done by CNN) can sleep easier at night and stop shouting down the ears of policy makers.

Muriel wrote:

No, we can't.
However, we can do moral matrices etc.

laugh
laugh
laugh

funny guy!
#142 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 4:37:38 PM

nilikuwa nikitaka kusema lakini @alph angezusha

sio mimi nimesema!
#143 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 4:38:27 PM

On a lighter note:

Stolen::

"I am neither happy with the government nor with KQ. Why Keep up with the airline industry competition at the expense of the citizens. Do you know how painful it is ti spend almost your entire life using a condom only to die of Ebola in a matter of days"
#144 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 4:43:08 PM

Muriel
#145 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 4:47:02 PM

Who in the world is expecting to be given and to obtain fairness, solidarity and fraternity in the face of Ebola?

Athletes from Ebola-hit nations barred from some Youth Olympics events

#146 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 4:50:17 PM

Muriel wrote:
Who in the world is expecting to be given and to obtain fairness, solidarity and fraternity in the face of Ebola?

everyone is closing their gate and door and looking at the spectacle from their windows.... fear is the worst thing about Ebola... worst thing! Imagine Zambia has banned/denied Nigerians entry into it's territory... 170million nigerians because of 10+ cases who are already in quarantine... MADNESS!! MADNESS!!

Muriel
#147 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 4:54:33 PM

Muriel wrote:

everyone is closing their gate and door and looking at the spectacle from their windows.... fear is the worst thing about Ebola... worst thing! Imagine Zambia has banned/denied Nigerians entry into it's territory... 170million nigerians because of 10+ cases who are already in quarantine... MADNESS!! MADNESS!!

Unfortunately, what treatment is there for fear?

Could it be that that is the "real world"?
#148 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 5:06:40 PM

sio mimi nimesema!

@masukuma siwezizusha ndugu, this's the reality. Muslim body must be washed before burial. And always body is washed while covered, nobody looks at naked body of anybody (I feel so sad for those bodies, being stacked naked, by those undertakers. Especially ladies bodies and those male undertakers Pray ). And always there are special equipment used to wash the dead body, which includes gloves, special bed, sheet, water, soap, perfume, etc.

IT IS PART OF PROCEDURE TO USE GLOVES. EVEN IN NORMAL CIRCUMSTANCES WE USE THESE SPECIAL EQUIPMENT.

So also during this time of dangerous infection, extra care is applied, by using special aprons like the below. Nothing different from what non-Muslims do while putting their dead in the coffins, they have to be handled with correct gear, isn't? So all this knowledge and precaution is also available in Muslim communities, we've doctors too, we have medical experts too, we've teachers too, we've scholars too etc

#149 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 5:08:53 PM

Muriel wrote:

Unfortunately, what treatment is there for fear?

Could it be that that is the "real world"?

information?
#150 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 8:22:14 PM

sio mimi nimesema!

I felt that I should give more details about this issue, to shade more light on the care taken handling dead bodies as far as Islamic body cleaning is concerned.

I know that many people don't know that this important process of washing Muslim dead body before burial is a fully developed process. Many don't know that in many occasions this process has to be done by someone who has learned the process, what we called mortician. And many don't know that there are several tools and accessories that are required. Of course not all of them can be available in every community. But there is specified 'Mortician kit' that is clearly stipulated in Islamic burial process.

Below are the accessories:
1. A special bed.
2. A bar of soap.
3. A clinical mask.
4. A pair of rubber hand gloves.
5. A set of cloth gloves for washing the body.
6. A plastic apron.
7. An eye protector or goggles.
8. An a surgical head cap.
9. A safety rubber boot.
10. A standard size scissor for cutting the shroud.
11. A five foot measuring tape.
12. A roll of wound bandage.
13. Adhesive wound plaster.
14. A set of clinical safety pin for holdig the shroud.
15. A roll of sewing tread and needle.
16. A comb.
17. A set of non alcoholic perfume.
18. A pack of cotton buds.
19. A tweezer.
20. Prescribe length of white cloth for shrouding.
21. Cotton rolls for cleaning delicate parts like around the eyes, nose, mouth.
22. A folded knife.
23. Camphor or kapur barus (cinnamomum camphora) for body wash.
24. Cendana or sandal wood (santalum album) powder for shrouding.
25. Plastic sheet 4' x 6' for laying down on the bed (Optional).

NOTE: See source here

#151 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 9:22:21 PM

sio mimi nimesema!

I felt that I should give more details about this issue, to shade more light on the care taken handling dead bodies as far as Islamic body cleaning is concerned.

I know that many people don't know that this important process of washing Muslim dead body before burial is a fully developed process. Many don't know that in many occasions this process has to be done by someone who has learned the process, what we called mortician. And many don't know that there are several tools and accessories that are required. Of course not all of them can be available in every community. But there is specified 'Mortician kit' that is clearly stipulated in Islamic burial process.

1. A special bed.
2. A bar of soap.
3. A clinical mask.
6. A plastic apron.
9. A safety rubber boot.
16. A comb.
19. A tweezer.
22. A folded knife.

unfortunately this disease actually started in a muslim region. Guinea, Northern Liberia and the areas of Sierra Leone that this thing sprung from is inhabited by the Fula and the Mandingo people who are predominantly muslims. the problem is that they don't have access to all those equipment you have highlighted so mambo ni kienyeji...

Kama umechoka na hii story ya Ebola jua that doctors without borders say it will take 6 months to ensure this is defeated. we are in it for the long haul!
#152 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 11:55:51 PM

sio mimi nimesema!

1. A special bed.
2. A bar of soap.
3. A clinical mask.
6. A plastic apron.
9. A safety rubber boot.
16. A comb.
19. A tweezer.
22. A folded knife.

unfortunately this disease actually started in a muslim region. Guinea, Northern Liberia and the areas of Sierra Leone that this thing sprung from is inhabited by the Fula and the Mandingo people who are predominantly muslims. the problem is that they don't have access to all those equipment you have highlighted so mambo ni kienyeji...

Kama umechoka na hii story ya Ebola jua that doctors without borders say it will take 6 months to ensure this is defeated. we are in it for the long haul!

@masukuma i see where this is heading to, as usual it has to be religious issue!

Ok see how it started recently:
Patient Zero in the Ebola outbreak, researchers suspect, was a 2-year-old boy who died on Dec. 6, in a village in Guéckédou, in southeastern Guinea. Bordering Sierra Leone and Liberia, Guéckédou is at the intersection of three nations, where the disease found an easy entry point to the region.

A week later, it killed the boy’s mother, then his 3-year-old sister, then his grandmother.

Two mourners at the grandmother’s funeral took the virus home to their village. A health worker carried it to still another, where he died, as did his doctor. They both infected relatives from other towns. By the time Ebola was recognized, in March, dozens of people had died in eight Guinean communities, and suspected cases were popping up in Liberia and Sierra Leone

NOTE: none of this says they participated in cleaning any body. Two year old don't clean bodies. So first infection must have been as me or you would catch it.

Now let's look further what is this town?
Guéckédou, town, southern Guinea, at the intersection of roads from Kailahun (Sierra Leone), Kissidougou, and Macenta. It is the chief trading centre for rice, coffee, kola nuts, and palm oil and kernels. The town is located in a forested area of the Guinea Highlands mainly inhabited by the Kisi people. Guéckédou is the site of a government hospital, a palm oil and soap factory, and a Roman Catholic mission (1951)

It seems Catholic pitched tent here.

Let's see who are the Kisi people

Kisi, also spelled Kissi, group of some 120,000 people inhabiting a belt of hills covered by wooded savannas where Guinea, Sierra Leone, and Liberia meet; they speak a language of the Atlantic branch of the Niger-Congo family...
Each lineage is headed by its senior member, who serves as the priest of the ancestor cult and the intermediary between the living and the dead family members.

Kisi religion includes agricultural, ancestral, and other cults

The religion above doesn't sound Islam. In fact it says "ancestral" and other cults.

IMPORTANT: I agree with you that everybody must treat this as very critical. Any religious processes must be carried out with extreme caution. This also includes those who handle dead bodies in mortury, the medical students, those outting them in coffins, those washing the bodies etc
#153 Posted : Saturday, August 16, 2014 12:06:42 AM

@masukuma now let me see how it all started. You lying to people here that it started in Muslim country. I dont want to argue, but just to clarify. And i dont believe the lie that this thing started from green monkeys - BECAUSE THOSE WEST AFRICAN FOREFATHERS HAVE EATING THIS DELICACY FOR CENTURIES AND THERE WAS NO EBOLA. IF IT WERE, IT WOULD HAVE WIPED ALL COMMUNITY.

This thing must have come from a lab somewhere, a chemical weapon of some sort.
Because if this outbreak was in US we would have a vaccine long time!

Now fast rewind to 1976
The first identified case of Ebola was on 26 August 1976, in Yambuku, a small rural village in Mongala District in northern Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC, then known as Zaire).[93] The first victim, and the index case for the disease, was village school headmaster Mabalo Lokela, who had toured an area near the Central African Republic border along the Ebola river between 12-22 August. On 8 September he died of what would become known as the Ebola virus species of the ebolavirus.[94] Subsequently a number of other cases were reported, almost all centered on the Yambuku mission hospital or having close contact with another case.[95] 318 cases and 280 deaths occurred in the DRC. The Ebola outbreak was contained with the help of the World Health Organization and transport from the Congolese air force, by quarantining villagers, sterilizing medical equipment, and providing protective clothing

#154 Posted : Saturday, August 16, 2014 6:16:48 AM

@masukuma now let me see how it all started. You lying to people here that it started in Muslim country. I dont want to argue, but just to clarify. And i dont believe the lie that this thing started from green monkeys - BECAUSE THOSE WEST AFRICAN FOREFATHERS HAVE EATING THIS DELICACY FOR CENTURIES AND THERE WAS NO EBOLA. IF IT WERE, IT WOULD HAVE WIPED ALL COMMUNITY.

This thing must have come from a lab somewhere, a chemical weapon of some sort.
Because if this outbreak was in US we would have a vaccine long time!

Now fast rewind to 1976
The first identified case of Ebola was on 26 August 1976, in Yambuku, a small rural village in Mongala District in northern Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC, then known as Zaire).[93] The first victim, and the index case for the disease, was village school headmaster Mabalo Lokela, who had toured an area near the Central African Republic border along the Ebola river between 12-22 August. On 8 September he died of what would become known as the Ebola virus species of the ebolavirus.[94] Subsequently a number of other cases were reported, almost all centered on the Yambuku mission hospital or having close contact with another case.[95] 318 cases and 280 deaths occurred in the DRC. The Ebola outbreak was contained with the help of the World Health Organization and transport from the Congolese air force, by quarantining villagers, sterilizing medical equipment, and providing protective clothing

don't get hot under your collar - I am telling you that those areas have muslims and that particular ritual/rite contributed to it's spread! they may have not eaten the first monkey/bat/Ground hog/chimp/<INSERT HOST HERE> that made the virus jump species but possibly one of the health workers who attended to subsequent patients was muslim and it fan out due to that particular ritual. it's a fact that Guinea, Sierra Leone and Lofa counties have larger populations of muslims in that area. Just Saying!... don't turn this into a religious debate, it's not profiting anyone to claim it's muslims who started this or animist e.t.c. it's not a religious debate -it's not!

let's talk facts, 3 things made this situation worser than previous ones in congo, UG and sudan

1. the rituals involved in body preparation and burial
2. refusal and scepticism by local communities that the disease was there - they were even stoning Samaritan's purse and MSF vehicles
3. weak governments and subsequently weak health care systems and this exposed caregivers to this disease.

my assessment is that first everyone needs to get involved in ensuring that the numbers of new cases probable/suspected/verified is reduced by
1) ensuring that MSF/Samaritan's purse/Governments of these places/ The UN/ WHO gets everything it needs equipment wise and people wise. Let them build many many many quarantine areas since people are now bringing forward the sick. (this will make the numbers go up for a couple of weeks as the real face of the disease reveals itself then steadily downwards)
2) information flows well. the problem as I had noted before is that firstly the people there did not believe that there was Ebola and it was seen to be a government ploy to 'eat money' now most of them have moved from the point of denial that the disease is there to the point of "if i don't believe it's there it won't affect me and my family... I REJECT IT!" to Wide spread Panic! you think you are terrified? you are 5,000 kms away with a steady flow of information coming your way - think of that healthy uneducated, uninformed soul in a shanty like new Kru Town or West Point (check out west point in this video - how terrified is he/she when they wake up and it's your husband who is vomiting and diarrheaing uncontrollably? or even yourself after eating some bad food! or you walk outside and your neighbour is the one on the street. this was taken a week or so ago

so imagine you are the guy welding those metal gates in the background.... how terrified are you? The only way to stop this disease is information flow and by ensuring that these people give up any symptomatic patients is the only way to quell it's spread.
symbols
#155 Posted : Saturday, August 16, 2014 12:34:40 PM

#156 Posted : Saturday, August 16, 2014 1:21:13 PM

@masukuma it's clear what your intention was.

Anyway to be fair, lets say all precautions must be put in place. Those handling coffins, those undertakers in mortuaries, medical officials, doctors, families, the morticians cleaning bodies... All must use the correct gear.

Otherwise trying to divert attention and lie saying oh the first people who started this Ebola is so and so is being malicious. I shown you that the first invident in 1976 was in DRC. You know and I know that is not Muslim. Then recently it started again in Guinea, in the town of Gueckeduo, which is Catholic, the first bit and his mother and his grandmother, and the nurse and the mourner were not Muslims. In fact it's probable te nurse must have come from the nearby Catholic Mission hospital.

Then you made an about turn and posted video of Liberia and the cultural people who eat their enemies hearts. That's not Idlam either. In fact the leaders of that civil war led by Charles Taylor, the general Johnstone were all Christians. And Liberia is 85% Christian.
#157 Posted : Saturday, August 16, 2014 1:52:21 PM

Lets just conclude its Christians who started and spread ebola, due to their habits. I am sure the christians will not come out defending their practices at least that will prevent the thread from disintegrating into a my religion is better than yours.

now back to ebola, most guys are talking about it now - I admit it has crossed my mind several times while in the mat.
#158 Posted : Saturday, August 16, 2014 4:34:23 PM

Lets just conclude its Christians who started and spread ebola, due to their habits. I am sure the christians will not come out defending their practices at least that will prevent the thread from disintegrating into a my religion is better than yours.

now back to ebola, most guys are talking about it now - I admit it has crossed my mind several times while in the mat.

@nakujua sawa. I agree we should sensitive all areas of potential risk, and ensure people use the right tools of trade. Of course we know not every place will be able to have the right equipment, and that's where people are now abandoning the bodies, not touching them until the authorities get in.

I pray that Allah gives us protection from this pandemic. May those affected get healing and remedy.
#159 Posted : Saturday, August 16, 2014 4:53:07 PM

@nakujua sawa. I agree we should sensitive all areas of potential risk, and ensure people use the right tools of trade. Of course we know not every place will be able to have the right equipment, and that's where people are now abandoning the bodies, not touching them until the authorities get in.

I pray that Allah gives us protection from this pandemic. May those affected get healing and remedy.

was just trying to see if i could steer the thread away from religion - but in all honest I agree this thing is serious, once it gets into a community haijalishi, even the well up guys have servants, buy food stuff from markets staffed with different people.

we are so much interconnected the best thing for now will be to control its spread - if there are people who contract hiv and are bent on spreading it, one can only imagine what havoc a dude with ebola can wreck, if they are bent on doing the same.
D32
#160 Posted : Saturday, August 16, 2014 11:23:38 PM

How it got into Nigeria http://www.thedailybeast...a-spread-to-nigeria.html
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.