engagement ring!
Layman
#21 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 8:45:00 AM

Engagement Ring my ass!

The future is already here!
Kanda-ya-moko
#22 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 10:24:06 AM

So, where do i buy a simple gold/silver ring (no stones)?
#23 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 11:02:54 AM

Kanda-ya-moko wrote:

Waste no money with these western shenanigans, simply put a ring in her belly and she will be all yours!

#24 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 11:20:38 AM

Kanda-ya-moko wrote:

Got mine hapo Nagin Pattni (same place referred hapo yuu), but it's some yrs ago. They had the best deal in town then. Pure gold, still looks like new.
Kanda-ya-moko
#25 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 11:52:59 AM

Kanda-ya-moko wrote:

Got mine hapo Nagin Pattni (same place referred hapo yuu), but it's some yrs ago. They had the best deal in town then. Pure gold, still looks like new.

Damage? How much was it?smile
bizbyte
#26 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 12:56:30 PM

I went for the import option 4 years ago. Shopping locally the equivalent cost an arm and a leg. Damage was 500USD for 14k White gold ring,3 Stones (0.3, 0.1 & 0.1) brilliant cut. Make the lady happy. If she leaves you, remember to ask for the ring.
Kanda-ya-moko
#27 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 1:08:58 PM

bizbyte wrote:
I went for the import option 4 years ago. Shopping locally the equivalent cost an arm and a leg. Damage was 500USD for 14k White gold ring,3 Stones (0.3, 0.1 & 0.1) brilliant cut. Make the lady happy. If she leaves you, remember to ask for the ring.

Thanks Bizbyte. Where did you import from? Can you share the contact please?
Forester
#28 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 1:40:51 PM

Kanda-ya-moko wrote:
bizbyte wrote:

Fanya hivi kijana, spare a weekend and take the evening bus (Coast Air, WOW!smile to Mambasani on a furahiday and arrive on sato morning. Take a rest & freshen up at Coast Safari Hotel for 1.5k BB.

Go to Kilindini Street next to the GPO Mombasa CBD and there you will find an array of jewellers who normally open kitu 10ish hivi and close at 2ish. Go from shop to shop (its a whole street) and take your best pick (you must have an idea of what your girl likes). For 18karat yellow gold, price ranges from 8k and for extra grammage for a strong ring weka on average 15-20k.Negotiate & tell them that you'll get the wedding bands from them later if they give you a good discount on the engagement ring. Make sure you get into Goldpoint Jewellery on that street & talk to a guy called Isaak Moosa, he will give you a good deal.

Come back to Nairofi with the evening bus arriving on Sunday morning (you are saving cost ya harusi so that you don't have to extort people ukipanga harusi instead of flying). Monday during your lunch hour, walk into the various Nairofi jewellers shops and report your findings hapa.

Thank me later smile

Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
rryyzz
#29 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 1:58:35 PM

Forester wrote:
Kanda-ya-moko wrote:
bizbyte wrote:

Fanya hivi kijana, spare a weekend and take the evening bus (Coast Air, WOW!smile to Mambasani on a furahiday and arrive on sato morning. Take a rest & freshen up at Coast Safari Hotel for 1.5k BB.

Go to Kilindini Street next to the GPO Mombasa CBD and there you will find an array of jewellers who normally open kitu 10ish hivi and close at 2ish. Go from shop to shop (its a whole street) and take your best pick (you must have an idea of what your girl likes). For 18karat yellow gold, price ranges from 8k and for extra grammage for a strong ring weka on average 15-20k.Negotiate & tell them that you'll get the wedding bands from them later if they give you a good discount on the engagement ring. Make sure you get into Goldpoint Jewellery on that street & talk to a guy called Isaak Moosa, he will give you a good deal.

Come back to Nairofi with the evening bus arriving on Sunday morning (you are saving cost ya harusi so that you don't have to extort people ukipanga harusi instead of flying). Monday during your lunch hour, walk into the various Nairofi jewellers shops and report your findings hapa.

Thank me later smile

Power of Wazua

Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
Kihara joni
#30 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 2:35:55 PM

Try Sonara Buddah here in mombasa on Nkurumah street and at Naivas mall in Nyali, Just a question what happens to the ring after marriage/wedding?
can You hire a ring then return after you get married or do you sell it off after that.
Kanda-ya-moko
#31 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 4:36:27 PM

Power of Wazua indeed. Ashante sana Forrester and Kihara. Mombasa it is!
#32 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 4:54:51 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
Try Sonara Buddah here in mombasa on Nkurumah street and at Naivas mall in Nyali, Just a question what happens to the ring after marriage/wedding?
can You hire a ring then return after you get married or do you sell it off after that.

Thought for ladies, they wear both together ... engagement na inje, wedding ring na ndani kwa hiyo same finger! That is the way you get to know a woman who was loved before marriage!
Forester
#33 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 5:25:08 PM

Kanda-ya-moko wrote:
Power of Wazua indeed. Ashante sana Forrester and Kihara. Mombasa it is!

If you have time to spare, tembea pale Tamarind and ask vile they can panga the suprise engagement for you on their dhow night cruise with breath taking views of Mombasa City at night. Be assured that your girl will sing about it for the rest of her life and make her friends turn green with envy. They even have a live band on board playing some cool music. Memories are made of that so make it special. smile

Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
bird_man
#34 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 6:00:46 PM

[/quote]

Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#35 Posted : Friday, August 15, 2014 6:28:30 PM

Kihara joni wrote:

Thought for ladies, they wear both together ... engagement na inje, wedding ring na ndani kwa hiyo same finger! That is the way you get to know a woman who was loved before marriage!

bado sijaona 2 diamond rings on the same finger, what I have seen ni the upper ring is usually plain, ama most guys propose with cheap rings - lakini kama ring ni poa - you just use the same for the weeding.
mv_ufanisi
#36 Posted : Tuesday, August 19, 2014 11:51:50 AM

I had once gone to the shop at Nakumatt Prestige but I quickly realized it was going to be a rip off. Just go online to a site like www.bluenile.com where you're sure you're getting high quality and not getting ripped off. Hopefully you have a friend living abroad so you can use them to bring the ring for you.
theking
#37 Posted : Tuesday, August 19, 2014 11:59:07 AM

go to Laico Regency ground floor, there's a place on ground floor where they custom make and are quite fairly priced. You choose what you want from a magazine they have (or can bring your own). They can fit to your budget because the price is based on the weight which they can reduce
smith01
#38 Posted : Tuesday, August 19, 2014 2:39:43 PM

Every girl dreams of and looks forward to that moment when an engagement ring will be popped. That is the truth, whether influenced by the West or not. I believe you don't have to rob a bank to get one. Mombasa is a good option to source as advised. I was given an 'american' diamond and I'm fine with it. It looks great too especially when combined with the wedding ring.
smith01
#39 Posted : Tuesday, August 19, 2014 2:53:49 PM

Kihara joni wrote:

#40 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2014 6:33:38 AM

iv seen some wear the engagement ring on the third finger while some wear it on the wedding ring finger i.e fourth, with thumb being first.. which finger is standard for engagement in Kenyan culture

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45