EBOLA Virus
#81 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:14:14 PM

D32 wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:
scare at jkia patient isolated at khn

KQ putting money before all else, shortsighted IMHO, I'm in Italy and seems all guys here know Enola iko Africa kote without distinguishingwhich part od Africa. The first confirmed Ebola case in Kenya will drive down the already low tourism industry ti the grave and with it Kq profitability.

I found that quite strange. All major airlines have suspended their flights and kq is still flying those sides. This shit is dangerous...Does Naikuni know this.

This disease is so brutal, the little monetary gain not worth it.

As I said before... merely suspending flights to 'affected' countries will not help. Everyone has to suspend flights for it to be effective due to the small thing called 'connecting flights'. the current steps are also inadequate - while Ebola is only in the 4 countries listed - who says passengers cannot travel to Nairobi via dubai and Accra and not carry the virus? when someone wants to come home they will come home regardless of the flight path. so... CHECK EVERYONE!
#82 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:15:51 PM

D32 wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

KQ putting money before all else, shortsighted IMHO, I'm in Italy and seems all guys here know Enola iko Africa kote without distinguishingwhich part od Africa. The first confirmed Ebola case in Kenya will drive down the already low tourism industry ti the grave and with it Kq profitability.

I found that quite strange. All major airlines have suspended their flights and kq is still flying those sides. This shit is dangerous...Does Naikuni know this.

As I said before... merely suspending flights to 'affected' countries will not help. Everyone has to suspend flights for it to be effective due to the small thing called 'connecting flights'. the current steps are also inadequate - while Ebola is only in the 4 countries listed - who says passengers cannot travel to Nairobi via dubai and Accra and not carry the virus? when someone wants to come home they will come home regardless of the flight path. so... CHECK EVERYONE!

alll these pang'ang'a. kumbe you are afraid off being cut off from coming back to kenya. don't worry kq wont stop the flights.
#83 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:32:43 PM

D32 wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

There is a meeting today in regards to this...but West Africa is a cash cow for the financially ailing KQ doubt they will stop...
#84 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:36:30 PM

mkenyan wrote:
D32 wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

alll these pang'ang'a. kumbe you are afraid off being cut off from coming back to kenya. don't worry kq wont stop the flights.

wewe mimi nilirudi last week after wazungu kupanic... to me it just defeats the purpose... kwanza unaishi wapi nikuje nikutapikie?
#85 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:44:44 PM

mkenyan wrote:
D32 wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

#86 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:54:00 PM

mkenyan wrote:
D32 wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

wewe mimi nilirudi last week after wazungu kupanic... to me it just defeats the purpose... kwanza unaishi wapi nikuje nikutapikie?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly never! even responding to yoour comment in wazua has resulted in a slight fever Sad . think wazua should user you for 21 days for our safety.
#87 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:57:17 PM

mkenyan wrote:
D32 wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly never! even responding to yoour comment in wazua has resulted in a slight fever Sad . think wazua should user you for 21 days for our safety.

nitakutafuta!
#88 Posted : Tuesday, August 12, 2014 2:45:15 PM

remember ebola is extremely infectious but not extremely contagious. It is infectious, because an infinitesimally small amount can cause illness. Laboratory experiments on nonhuman primates suggest that even a single virus may be enough to trigger a fatal infection.
symbols
#89 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 8:20:21 AM

The One Question About Ebola That Nobody Can Seem To Answer

How in the world is it possible that more than 170 health workers have been infected by the Ebola virus?

Barriers to rapid containment of the Ebola outbreak
Muriel
#90 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 9:40:46 AM

symbols wrote:

How in the world is it possible that more than 170 health workers have been infected by the Ebola virus?

Question. More.

Especially "official" statements and communiques.

That's what good scientists do. Question and then seek answers.
#91 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 9:48:41 AM

Muriel wrote:
symbols wrote:

Question. More.

this has been answered OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER..... again! Remember these are the people who are taking care of these individuals when they are at their most infectious! a small lapse and pap! coz "an infinitesimally small amount can cause illness. Laboratory experiments on nonhuman primates suggest that even a single virus may be enough to trigger a fatal infection."... it just requires one virus! one virus not cleaned on the clothing... removing gloves with your hands can prove fatal... there are so many combinations and permutations of things that can go wrong in a hospital/environment where ebola patients live... INCLUDING THE WALLS an infectious patient can touch the wall and PAP... wewe ushike... upatikane.
symbols
#92 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 9:57:18 AM

Muriel wrote:
symbols wrote:

Question. More.

this has been answered OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER..... again! Remember these are the people who are taking care of these individuals when they are at their most infectious! a small lapse and pap! coz "an infinitesimally small amount can cause illness. Laboratory experiments on nonhuman primates suggest that even a single virus may be enough to trigger a fatal infection."... it just requires one virus! one virus not cleaned on the clothing... removing gloves with your hands can prove fatal... there are so many combinations and permutations of things that can go wrong in a hospital where ebola patients live... INCLUDING THE WALLS an infectious patient can touch the wall and PAP... wewe ushike... upatikane.

Does that include money?
Muriel
#93 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 10:11:50 AM

Muriel wrote:
symbols wrote:

Question. More.

this has been answered OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER..... again! Remember these are the people who are taking care of these individuals when they are at their most infectious! a small lapse and pap! coz "an infinitesimally small amount can cause illness. Laboratory experiments on nonhuman primates suggest that even a single virus may be enough to trigger a fatal infection."... it just requires one virus! one virus not cleaned on the clothing... removing gloves with your hands can prove fatal... there are so many combinations and permutations of things that can go wrong in a hospital/environment where ebola patients live... INCLUDING THE WALLS an infectious patient can touch the wall and PAP... wewe ushike... upatikane.

Masukuma,

A scientist never tires of asking.

That one virus not cleaned on the clothing or is on the wall ,,,,, the ease with which it gets into a new host pap ,,,,,,,, is intriguing. And is the object of musings.

#94 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 10:42:50 AM

The gulf between developed and developing nations appeared to some to widen last week as reports emerged that the Ebola drug was being used to treat Westerners but not West Africans.
"What if it had killed both of them?" Paul Root Wolpe, director of the Center for Ethics at Emory University in Atlanta, said about the two Americans first treated with ZMapp. "It is only because it worked, seemingly very well, that people are screaming, 'How come people in Africa didn't get it?' "
Wolpe said that considering the converse situation could provide some perspective.
"If the first people (to receive doses of ZMapp) would have been Liberian, headlines would have screamed, 'Experimental drug tested on poor Africans,' " Wolpe said.
But the nagging question for some: Was giving the serum to Africans even a consideration? Should it have been?
"Why didn't Dr. Sheik Umar Khan, the chief Sierra Leone physician who died while treating Ebola patients, receive this medication?" Harriet Washington wrote in a recent CNN Opinion piece. "Because another method of determining who gets medications is at work here -- the drearily familiar stratification of access to a drug based on economic resources and being a Westerner rather than a resident of the global South."
#95 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 11:06:19 AM

symbols wrote:
Muriel wrote:
symbols wrote:

Question. More.

this has been answered OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER..... again! Remember these are the people who are taking care of these individuals when they are at their most infectious! a small lapse and pap! coz "an infinitesimally small amount can cause illness. Laboratory experiments on nonhuman primates suggest that even a single virus may be enough to trigger a fatal infection."... it just requires one virus! one virus not cleaned on the clothing... removing gloves with your hands can prove fatal... there are so many combinations and permutations of things that can go wrong in a hospital where ebola patients live... INCLUDING THE WALLS an infectious patient can touch the wall and PAP... wewe ushike... upatikane.

Does that include money?

quite likely.... but this is specifically for INFECTIOUS PEOPLE. the virus has a limited number of hours outside the body and so if an INFECTIOUS person handles money and you handle that money soon after that utapatikana - in the same way the Ugandan fellow in the top story was patwad. however if he put his money on a cupboard for a certain amount of time (X hrs) and you handle it after - you may be safe. the last I heard X was 5 hours. It is generally a good practice to use hand sanitizers before accepting money... I had my own at hand sanitizer for that purpose... plus opening doors and sometimes handling spoons in restaurants e.t.c.

most establishments now have these bucketsful of chrorinated water in their entrances

it may be debatable on their effectiveness but to me it's more effective as a reminder to persons in the affected countries that this sh*t is real... get with the program.
Muriel
#96 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 11:31:51 AM

I could understand a handful of “mistakes” by health workers, but this is unlike anything that we have ever seen in the history of infectious diseases. These health workers take extraordinary precautions to keep from getting the virus. If it is spreading so easily to them, what chance is the general population going to have?

#97 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 11:35:18 AM

Muriel wrote:
I could understand a handful of “mistakes” by health workers, but this is unlike anything that we have ever seen in the history of infectious diseases. These health workers take extraordinary precautions to keep from getting the virus. If it is spreading so easily to them, what chance is the general population going to have?

The difference between this outbreak and other Ebola outbreaks is that traditional methods of stopping the virus from spreading -- protective gear, contact tracing, etc. -- don't seem to be working fast enough, said Dr. Marie-Paule Kieny, WHO's assistant director-general.
#98 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 11:49:25 AM

This is just some I thought I could post here. Please no need to attack, just enjoy the wisdom in it.

* Islam says cover your body and don't be naked, THEY say Islam is primitive

* Islam says no shaking of hands between opposite sex, THEY say Islam is hard (this solves 50% of the infection, remember EBOLA is transmitted through Saliva, sweat, tears, blood or semen).

* Islam says wash your body at least 5 times a day to get rid of impurities, before each of the 5 prayers in a day, THEY say purification is only of the mind.

Now EBOLA came knocking and you see all of THEM covering their bodies, staying away from restricted handshakes ans washing their bodies like never before.

(I hear now they are being told to wash themselves with hot water and salt! This is an hoax)
Muriel
#99 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 12:15:54 PM

this is the problem... ebola is their problem now due to the nature of the disease.... but, this is 'now' some zoonose will come and in the same way HIV sneaked in and became a global problem and not a Cameroonian problem - that zoonose will shake the world UNLESS the whole world decides to do something about it. We are lucky that Ebola is a difficult to catch disease but who knows what lies in the equatorial forests or even maybe it's already out and like HIV is silent and spreading until the day it 'kicks in'. In the same way the sahara desert causes storms in the US these diseases will not obey immigration rules and will come at you seated comfy in the savannahs. Ebola is a west african problem but a future one may not be!

fear makes people do irrational things - they rejected a whole team even without testing them. rejected them 'by remote' and I saw a bunch of kenyans do the same 'oh! why are we letting sierra leone's team walk around yet they have been rejected by seychelles?' I am almost answered - BECAUSE WE ARE NOT AS IDIOTIC AS SEYCHELLES. Take all the precautions needed you will be fine. The fact that we had 'a suspected case' shows that people are vigilant! hii kitu ni science! cold hard science!

I swear I have not done anything.

I was just reading.
#100 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 12:22:28 PM

Muriel wrote:

this is the problem... ebola is their problem now due to the nature of the disease.... but, this is 'now' some zoonose will come and in the same way HIV sneaked in and became a global problem and not a Cameroonian problem - that zoonose will shake the world UNLESS the whole world decides to do something about it. We are lucky that Ebola is a difficult to catch disease but who knows what lies in the equatorial forests or even maybe it's already out and like HIV is silent and spreading until the day it 'kicks in'. In the same way the sahara desert causes storms in the US these diseases will not obey immigration rules and will come at you seated comfy in the savannahs. Ebola is a west african problem but a future one may not be!

fear makes people do irrational things - they rejected a whole team even without testing them. rejected them 'by remote' and I saw a bunch of kenyans do the same 'oh! why are we letting sierra leone's team walk around yet they have been rejected by seychelles?' I am almost answered - BECAUSE WE ARE NOT AS IDIOTIC AS SEYCHELLES. Take all the precautions needed you will be fine. The fact that we had 'a suspected case' shows that people are vigilant! hii kitu ni science! cold hard science!

I swear I have not done anything.

I was just reading.

context... context...context... google the use of the terms 'contagious' and 'infectious'... they may sound similar but they are not...