Roadtrip to Kampala
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,333 Location: Masada
THURSDAY, AUGUST 7, 2014 Uhuru Kenyatta relaxes import rules for Kenyans abroad! Quote:President Uhuru Kenyatta has relaxed import rules to allow Kenyans abroad to sell their left-hand-drive cars and get right-hand ones duty-free when they return home. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Impunity wrote:THURSDAY, AUGUST 7, 2014 Uhuru Kenyatta relaxes import rules for Kenyans abroad! Quote:President Uhuru Kenyatta has relaxed import rules to allow Kenyans abroad to sell their left-hand-drive cars and get right-hand ones duty-free when they return home. What does duty free have to do with left or right hand? So if you don't own a left hand car to sell, do you still bring one in duty free? BBI will solve it :)
Impunity wrote:THURSDAY, AUGUST 7, 2014 Uhuru Kenyatta relaxes import rules for Kenyans abroad! Quote:President Uhuru Kenyatta has relaxed import rules to allow Kenyans abroad to sell their left-hand-drive cars and get right-hand ones duty-free when they return home. How abroad is abroad?Is Rwanda abroad?Can I sell an old car in Rwanda and come buy a New Lexus LX570J200?? duty free???????
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,333 Location: Masada
2012 wrote:Impunity wrote:THURSDAY, AUGUST 7, 2014 Uhuru Kenyatta relaxes import rules for Kenyans abroad! Quote:President Uhuru Kenyatta has relaxed import rules to allow Kenyans abroad to sell their left-hand-drive cars and get right-hand ones duty-free when they return home. What does duty free have to do with left or right hand? So if you don't own a left hand car to sell, do you still bring one in duty free? Totally confused digitally gaamaent! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Member Joined: 3/10/2008 Posts: 301 Location: Abu Dhabi
2012 wrote:Impunity wrote:THURSDAY, AUGUST 7, 2014 Uhuru Kenyatta relaxes import rules for Kenyans abroad! Quote:President Uhuru Kenyatta has relaxed import rules to allow Kenyans abroad to sell their left-hand-drive cars and get right-hand ones duty-free when they return home. What does duty free have to do with left or right hand? So if you don't own a left hand car to sell, do you still bring one in duty free? The rule was you have to own the car for 1 year before you can import it duty free - a challenge for LHD countries. I know afew people who have bought RHD and keeping in their compounds to send home after 1 year. Possibly the new rules have dropped the 1 year requirement??
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
mawinder wrote:Impunity wrote:THURSDAY, AUGUST 7, 2014 Uhuru Kenyatta relaxes import rules for Kenyans abroad! Quote:President Uhuru Kenyatta has relaxed import rules to allow Kenyans abroad to sell their left-hand-drive cars and get right-hand ones duty-free when they return home. How abroad is abroad?Is Rwanda abroad?Can I sell an old car in Rwanda and come buy a New Lexus LX570J200?? duty free???????  Rwanda is classified as 'surrounding areas'. Not abroad enough!! Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Simply means if you are a returning Kenyan eligible for a duty free car but cant due to RHD/LHD issues, you can sell your current car , then buy a similar one and enjoy duty free. work to prosper
@Pablo,Please update us on you fish mongering activities on the road trip If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
harrydre wrote:very helpful information: What about Arusha, what are the best pubs & restaurants there? I intend to make the loop round the lake victoria sort of. Maasai camp is OK, if you are driving, it's like a small "carnivore" in the late nineties, you go towards and past arusha airport kitu 25minutes from town, they also have a carnivore on the same route so don't confuse, in town there is club AQ, hiyo ni kama F-terere without too many/noticable langas, nice, via via is the classy joint, you pay entrance na kuna "dress code" beer is a bit more expensive, like a kasmall "pavement club" ya westie used to be except dress code. Then there are some seedy joints inside town za watu kuokota TZ fish, yuk! I recommend carrying your own "chipo" from Nairobi if you want club there, also brush shoulder with kawaida mwanainchi and take mitori, vitafuna, chips mayai, supu ya minofu e.t.c in kawaida joints, very relaxing and clean food everywhere, guys are very clean when it comes to food, no "rotten" things thrown in your plate anywhere like nairobi. Ras Kienyeji Man
@pablo,lemi hijack your thread and share my experience
day one in kigali, was tired and didn't do much attended live band at Hotel Des Mille Collines by Kempinski and it was awesome courtesy of hope from tpf6. that was on wednesday.
day two, that is friday ,started with Papyrus, its an uptown club, very relaxed and chilled, more of a social meeting place for the uppper-middle , ambience is good and the food,lakini parking is disaster.
at the basement there is a new club known as Envy, very nice,ambience,music but the entrance fee is around kshs 600, worth checking it out.
ended the night at the famous KBC, @swenani, this is your place, very many people of out and very few customers,and the club is not stinky,so not bad if you are looking for them. club entrance fee is Ksh 250. but the people of out are expensive, if you want chips funga whole night, you need around kshs 5000 to 7000.
rwandanese are very relaxed and not in a hurry and not rowdy as kenyans in a club but what i liked is the fact that they go out from 12 midnight, guys leave workplace, go home,freshen up, and then they start clubbing from 12 midnight. if you go out at around 9 to 10pm, utajipata peke yako.
Roadtrip to Kampala