wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Inappropriate Advertising
#1 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 10:31:29 PM

I'm getting really pissed of with the Trust Condom ads coming before 9am. Is this appropriate especially for those families with young kids? This is also the time when family friendly programming is aired only for them to air condom ads
Coolbull
#2 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 11:07:51 PM

95% ya media ni watu wa shetani. They want wickedness to increase.

Walk into media offices and also advertising agencies, and you will find it fit if a pastor worked at Keroche brewery.

What you see on tv is a perfect reflection of media house owners and media practitioners.

.....I had a very good life after kicking the Lucifer Vision out of my house....well not until nipate jiko.
gregory
#3 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 7:03:20 AM

Shak wrote:
I'm getting really pissed of with the Trust Condom ads coming before 9am. Is this appropriate especially for those families with young kids? This is also the time when family friendly programming is aired only for them to air condom ads

i guess you meant 9p.m
incidentally a few months ago while watching tv late is when i realized there's an ad for durex airing at around 10;30p.m
marko
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 7:05:15 AM

Shida iko wapi?
WHO DARES WINS
#5 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 7:14:17 AM

Shak wrote:

Can you please respect your "beautiful" constitution that says freedom of speech and expression!

Kwani What will you say when they start putting condoms in school??

This is a demoncratic nation... Laughing out loudly
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 8:21:17 AM

guru267 wrote:
Shak wrote:

Can you please respect your "beautiful" constitution that says freedom of speech and expression!

Kwani What will you say when they start putting condoms in school??

This is a demoncratic nation... Laughing out loudly

I agree with @Shak.

As much as we respect our constitution, freedom cannot be absolute. As it is said; 'freedom is the power to choose your chains' and we must choose ours wisely.

We chose to ban cigarette advertising and I support, beer should be advertised after 9 and similarly condoms should be advertised after 9 because of the audience they are targeting.

#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 8:29:33 AM

Shak wrote:

I have no problem with that time since by 9am the children are in school.

YoungMulla
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 8:57:36 AM

Coolbull wrote:
95% ya media ni watu wa shetani. They want wickedness to increase.

What you see on tv is a perfect reflection of media house owners and media practitioners.

I think this sums it pretty well.
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
mkeiy
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 9:49:51 AM

marko wrote:
Shida iko wapi?

You see absolutely no problem with condom ads coming on tv just when you are having dinner with your young family?

If you don't have kids now, you can stick to "shida iko wapi"? but rem the day you will have kids.

If you do have them, na Mungu awaonekanie!

As someone has said, our media houses are worse than hell. Their choice of topics and the news they are fond of,jeeez!

Last week on Friday they were about the banned explicit music videos and guess what. THEY WENT AHEAD AND AIRED THEM.

What would you call that? Pure wickedness or what?
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 10:05:23 AM

mkeiy wrote:
As someone has said, our media houses are worse than hell. Their choice of topics and the news they are fond of,jeeez!

I think media is a mirror and if you rather, a reflection of society. I was watching NTV Press Pass by Mark Masai and they had statistics and data of what people are reading and is easy to mine from online content. Politics comes first followed by gossip then finance and life matters come way down. When we look at the most popular threads in Wazua Club, gossip and politics are way up there as well. One of the panelist even implied that no media would survive donor free if it did not air politics and some obscenity. This is what the society demands.

YoungMulla
#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 10:25:31 AM

mkeiy wrote:

I think media is a mirror and if you rather, a reflection of society. I was watching NTV Press Pass by Mark Masai and they had statistics and data of what people are reading and is easy to mine from online content. Politics comes first followed by gossip then finance and life matters come way down. When we look at the most popular threads in Wazua Club, gossip and politics are way up there as well. One of the panelist even implied that no media would survive donor free if it did not air politics and some obscenity. This is what the society demands.

But even if our society isn't without blemish, shouldn't the media be better than that? The media should set the right agendas to the public. But who am I kidding, its all about the money and market share!
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
mkeiy
#12 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 10:45:21 AM

mkeiy wrote:

That's a lie they are too willing to perpetrate and perpetuate.

Politics is the cheapest news anyone can do. They are too lazy and dumb to give better news/topics.

The society doesn't demand those, the media pushes them down our [the majority] throats.

Money Whisperer
#13 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 11:00:53 AM

very appropriate so that you can start those uncomfortable discussions that parents hide under the carpet until your daughter comes home pregnant.
TOTO: daddy Trust ni nini
DAD: Ni condom
TOTO: Condom nia kazi gani?
DAD: Ni y wababa kuvaa saa ile wanafanya tabia mbaya
TOTO: Wanavaa wapi?
DAD:Wacha maswali mingi
TOTO: sawa. ....lakini daddy wewe hufanyangi tabia mbaya si ndio?
"Money never sleeps"
#14 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 11:02:23 AM

mkeiy wrote:

That's a lie they are too willing to perpetrate and perpetuate.

Politics is the cheapest news anyone can do. They are too lazy and dumb to give better news/topics.

The society doesn't demand those, the media pushes them down our [the majority] throats.

Where is this online data they are talking about? Using Nation and Standard is not "online data".

Mkeiy you are right....These fellows want to spread an non-fact and make it fact.

I have data that proves them absolutely wrong. Data that shows the reason why their brethren papers in the USA are dying.

I have data that proves that talking politics and gossip only is the cheapest news and infact makes less money that talking serious issues. But what do I know I'm a mere blogger they are janalists.
Kihara joni
#15 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 11:13:15 AM

They know who is having more sex and it's the young ones, so what they are doing is targeting those young ones, between 9-23 these are having so much sex hence those adverts. ( disclaimer -my two cents)
faa
#16 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 11:16:02 AM

Shak wrote:

it's actually decent to air such ads during prime time, so that both parents and kids can see the importance .
#17 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 12:23:45 PM

gregory wrote:
Shak wrote:

i guess you meant 9p.m
incidentally a few months ago while watching tv late is when i realized there's an ad for durex airing at around 10;30p.m

Sorry I meant 9pm
#18 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 12:37:09 PM

This world is dominated by evil.

#19 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 12:53:47 PM

YoungMulla wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

But even if our society isn't without blemish, shouldn't the media be better than that? The media should set the right agendas to the public. But who am I kidding, its all about the money and market share!

That there is the bottom line. And you make money by selling to people what they demand. The sad thing is that this cartel controls information and I call them a cartel because they managed to conveniently come together and give CORD's 7/7 that black out. But luckily we have the internet that they can never control... yet.

#20 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 1:26:02 PM

Dont see any problem.

Condoms are a health issue not a moral issue. They are advertising Condoms, not sex.