31 Pages<1234>»
EBOLA Virus
#21 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 3:41:22 PM

D32 wrote:
D32 wrote:
If I was the one pulling [b wrote:
stings[/b], I'd ban flights to Ebola infected countries. The little extra buck just not worth the risk.

And probably that is the reason you are not 'pulling the strings'.

Liberia has 4.2 million people and less than 250 people have died from the disease - let's stop being irrational and hysterical human beings for once and really find out WHY?

Typo there. Fast typing, r not pressed well. Anyways, let me say it plainly because the used figure-of-speech "Pulling Strings" was incorrect since "Pulling Strings" can imply manipulation.

Meant to say, if I was the decision maker, I'd decide to ban flights to / from infected countries.

I still think that the disease is still not known well enough, medicines and more effective methods of treatment have not yet been developed, so I'd minimize chances of infection at all costs.

I got it first time!
this disease is well known! very well known but well known by pockets of people. The rest of the world are now on the information super highway and only negative half truths are being flung out there... that makes for hysteria and panic that does not help anybody - understanding the disease and seeking to make sure preventive measures are in place are equal to the danger - that is the only way out. this world is connected in ways that are unreversible now. if Ebola scares you - check out the Bas-Congo virus
Ash Ock
#22 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 5:21:06 PM

I got it first time!
this disease is well known! very well known but well known by pockets of people. The rest of the world are now on the information super highway and only negative half truths are being flung out there... that makes for hysteria and panic that does not help anybody - understanding the disease and seeking to make sure preventive measures are in place are equal to the danger - that is the only way out. this world is connected in ways that are unreversible now. if Ebola scares you - check out the Bas-Congo virus

Kenya, through Mount Elgon, also harbors a seriously scary virus, the Marburg Virus (same family as Ebola), which caused Nairobi Hospital to be placed under quarantine in 1980 after Dr. Shem Musoke caught it from a victim. The victim flew from Kisumu to Nairobi on KQ and the story of the flight scared the living daylights out of me. I happened to meet Dr. Musoke quite a few years ago and hearing the story from him was absolutely surreal.

This first chapter of this book gives a bit of an idea how bad it was: http://www.goodreads.com...show/16213.The_Hot_Zone
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
Kausha
#23 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 5:23:15 PM

@masuku I live in nairoz but if you are arriving from west africa jilaki na uketi peke yako
Wahenga husema kuogopa pia ni ngao.
#24 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 5:32:36 PM

#25 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 8:45:02 PM

Jeez! Americans are boiling over the decision to fly back the infected docs!
Donald trump wants their airlines stopped from flying to the infected countries.To them it's an african disease, but he was blasted.
Now I am suprised to hear Americans say that they can treat it and they expect the doc to recover..

What measures are in place to stop its spread to EA?
And why are west africans EATING BATS/GORILLAS???? arghhh -the source of ebola.

arrrrggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!
#26 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 9:01:51 PM

Donald trump wants their airlines stopped from flying to the infected countries.To them it's an african disease, but he was blasted.
Now I am suprised to hear Americans say that they can treat it and they expect the doc to recover..

you think everyone has as many cows and goats/sheep as you have? most of these forested areas hakuna vitu kama hizo sijui kama ni tsetse fly? watu wanararua 'le singe' mbaya! just west of Uganda!
I remember showing someone photos of Lake Nakuru then he saw a baboon and asked... do you eat that one? Nikamwangalia ni kama amenitukana!
#27 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 9:20:47 PM

They say that Ebola is liberia's goverment's white elephant'
It doesn't exist.. ,so they say.
How can one help such a people when it's evident?
Run away from such people is what I would do.
#28 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 9:21:36 PM

you think everyone has as many cows and goats/sheep as you have? most of these forested areas hakuna vitu kama hizo sijui kama ni tsetse fly? watu wanararua 'le singe' mbaya! just west of Uganda!
I remember showing someone photos of Lake Nakuru then he saw a baboon and asked... do you eat that one? Nikamwangalia ni kama amenitukana!

#29 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 9:38:44 PM

- that video was done in Feb-March hivi...possibly as late as June... Imagine a whole senator had said it does not exist! imagine? . saa hii wameanza kuamini! even the staunchest of fellows here are now believers. Umeshawahi kutana na watu vichwa ngumu?

As the virologists warn - it's not Ebola that will maliza us.... its some funny virus that will jump the divide. We had one in 1918-1919. we have HIV, we had SARS and Ebola. There is Bas-Congo virus, Malburg e.t.c. what if we could have one that was like SARs, Bas-Congo and HIV?
One that is airborne, rabid and lives long in the body like HIV? Boss - World War Z and all zombie apocalypse movies come true mara hiyo....Toba catastrophe kando!
#30 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 11:35:29 PM

SECRET SERUM SAVED AMERICANS WITH EBOLA!!

http://edition.cnn.com/2014/08/04/health/experimental-ebola-serum/index.html

No further comment.

US/China guarding their entry points not taking chances.

http://abcnews.go.com/Health/WorldNews/ebola-stricken-american-doctor-turn-worse/story?id=24791024
#31 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 12:46:07 AM

- that video was done in Feb-March hivi...possibly as late as June... Imagine a whole senator had said it does not exist! imagine? . saa hii wameanza kuamini! even the staunchest of fellows here are now believers. Umeshawahi kutana na watu vichwa ngumu?

As the virologists warn - it's not Ebola that will maliza us.... its some funny virus that will jump the divide. We had one in 1918-1919. we have HIV, we had SARS and Ebola. There is Bas-Congo virus, Malburg e.t.c. what if we could have one that was like SARs, Bas-Congo and HIV?
One that is airborne, rabid and lives long in the body like HIV? Boss - World War Z and all zombie apocalypse movies come true mara hiyo....Toba catastrophe kando!

You have forgotten CHIKUNGUNYA. its a desease with a scary name that sometimes attacks people in the US . But we dont see CNN headlinig the story.
#32 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 1:19:02 AM

ugonjwa wa waafrica

Right now, more money goes into fighting baldness and erectile dysfunction than hemorrhagic fevers like dengue or Ebola but this can be useful in turning the global health agenda. with the global interconnected world that we have some funny disease may jump from animal reservoirs and threaten hao wazungu pia.
#33 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 7:28:27 AM

Muriel
#34 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 8:42:49 AM

Masukuma,

Do or did you have any thoughts or sentiment about Palestine, Ukraine, Lamu, Commonwealth Games, Ebola etc?

#35 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 11:35:10 AM

Muriel wrote:
Masukuma,

Do or did you have any thoughts or sentiment about Palestine, Ukraine, Lamu, Commonwealth Games, Ebola etc?

hahaha... touchy! touchy! touchy!
#36 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 1:18:33 PM

Yaani 60 doctors have died in Liberia,Leo health workers have refused to go to work.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 1:49:41 PM

Yaani 60 doctors have died in Liberia,Leo health workers have refused to go to work.

yes! wamenyeta! some hospitals were rejecting patients last week - finally it dawned on Liberians that 'this thing is real'! these people have swung from one end of the pendulum to the other! they have started giving up their sick and the stats are now going to be correct. in my head we should see a huge increase of cases reported next week and the week after that as underground infection channels become visible based on the amount of emphasis. the problem is that health workers wameogopa! they don't want anything to do with people with e-bola! juzi some 2 corpses were left on the street for quite sometime before gava cleared them. No one is touching the other (a good thing) but the stats will reflect more of reality now as cases surface and in 3-4 weeks start going down (that is my armchair projection)
#38 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 2:59:35 PM

ugonjwa wa waafrica

Right now, more money goes into fighting baldness and erectile dysfunction than hemorrhagic fevers like dengue or Ebola but this can be useful in turning the global health agenda. with the global interconnected world that we have some funny disease may jump from animal reservoirs and threaten hao wazungu pia.

@masukuma, ni ugojnwa wa kisasa. You forgot the millions in Sidika's 'big-house' and installation of new Va-China!

And the media cannot ask her why people choose to indulge in getting weaves... lip inject, breast inplant, body inplants, the give themselves tans... all these conveniently called cosmetic surgery. But it is mutilation.

Why don't we think of changing the world to be a better place. We lie to ourselves.
#39 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 3:10:47 PM

ugonjwa wa waafrica

@masukuma, ni ugojnwa wa kisasa. You forgot the millions in Sidika's 'big-house' and installation of new Va-China!

And the media cannot ask her why people choose to indulge in getting weaves... lip inject, breast inplant, body inplants, the give themselves tans... all these conveniently called cosmetic surgery. But it is mutilation.

Why don't we think of changing the world to be a better place. We lie to ourselves.

This can't be Alphadoti's handle.Pray
But again whatever people choose to do with their own money is their own biz. Beauty/Cosmetic industry means big money,we can only question misused funds.

People should stop eating Gorillas,Rodents and Bats first, then we can talk about cure.
#40 Posted : Tuesday, August 05, 2014 5:20:31 PM

ugonjwa wa waafrica

This can't be Alphadoti's handle.Pray
But again whatever people choose to do with their own money is their own biz. Beauty/Cosmetic industry means big money,we can only question misused funds.

People should stop eating Gorillas,Rodents and Bats first, then we can talk about cure.

unataka watu wakule nini? How many cows have you ever seen in a forest?
on funds it's more to do with public funds coz this is a global public health issue! maybe some viral storm is brewing deep inside the congo and when it comes out just like HIV - it will not care whether you are living in the US, Europe, Asia or Africa - itafagia kufagia!