wazua Wed, May 6, 2026

7 Pages<1234>»
Roadtrip to Kampala
#11 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 5:32:18 PM

Zamani I used to think the whole world with the exception of rebellious americans drove on the right.... shock on me! Blue are the countries like us that drive on the left side of the road and red are countries that drive on the right

Keep me wondering on which side was the first car designed to be driven?
Then who decided to drive on the other side?
NKT.

Cammarada
#12 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 5:36:58 PM

guru267 wrote:
Pablo wrote:
Hi guys

Has anyone driven to Kampala lately?
This weekend afew of us will be driving to Kampala and then on to Kigali.

Just wanted to see if anyone can suggest
1. the better boarder to use Malaba or Busia,
2. What I can expect after crossing into Uganda and
before Kampala.
3. Joints we should not miss along the way.

Much appreciated.

If you are in a car use Malaba.. If you are in a bus use busia!

If you want to use Kenyan IDs to cross strictly use Busia!

After crossing hakuna kitu all the way to Jinja where you will pass lake Victoria River Nile link..

Once in Kampala proceed to have a blast anywhere anytime since there is no mututho, al shabaab or thugs!

As for Kigali... BORING!!!

Shame on you Shame on you Unless boring changed meaning, while in Kigali visit "Car Wash".
Pablo
#13 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 5:43:53 PM

Am told of a pub called sijui Garden City and pubs in Bugolobi.
#14 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 6:16:22 PM

Pablo wrote:

Am told of a pub called sijui Garden City and pubs in Bugolobi.

...ahahahahahaha...wewe kwisha...It is Rock City...Next to Speke Hotel... Sitaongea zaidi juu ya hii!!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Garden City is their biggest mall... You will find Uchumi, Nakumatt, Woolsworth etc. Nice food hapo second flour...sikumbuki the name of the kaplace...There is a Kenyan chef who makes the best beef in the world!

Ukilewa lewa lewa hivo hivo hivo... You can head to Als Pub...All expatriates in Uganda end up there. Not sure if it is still there.

Club Silk is a very good joint... Three clubs in one...Can never get bored...

There is live music too... Afrigo Band plays at Club Obligato... Just near Club Silk...It is one of the oldest and best groups in East Africa that still plays music you can remember when you were growing up.

As you wind up your night escapades pass by Kabalagala and take home with you a DEGREE!!!

ENZOY!
#15 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 6:23:57 PM

Zamani I used to think the whole world with the exception of rebellious americans drove on the right.... shock on me! Blue are the countries like us that drive on the left side of the road and red are countries that drive on the right

NKT.

I am thinking most of those tuplaces with blue met a couple of weeks ago to pay homage to a certain old woman somewhere in the highlands of the isle of great britain. (most bila indonesia and japan... i think).
#16 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 6:28:36 PM

NKT.

I am thinking most of those tuplaces with blue met a couple of weeks ago to pay homage to a certain old woman somewhere in the highlands of the isle of great britain. (most bila indonesia and japan... i think).

Japan manufactures so many LH drive vehicles yet themselves they drive RH-vehicles?!!!
Is it practically possible for a country to change from one system to another?
Think Think Think

YoungMulla
#17 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 6:47:21 PM

Shock on me too Eh?
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
safariant
#18 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 7:14:48 PM

NKT.

Japan manufactures so many LH drive vehicles yet themselves they drive RH-vehicles?!!!
Think Think Think

Samoa has become the first country since the 1970s to change the side of the road on which cars are driven.

At 0600 local time (1700 GMT) sirens sounded and drivers were told to move from the right side to the left.

Police said that no accidents had been reported in the first hours after the switch in the island nation despite predictions of chaos from critics.

The government brought about the change to bring Samoa into line with other South Pacific countries. A two-day holiday was declared to ease traffic as people got used to the new rules.

A three-day ban on alcohol sales was also introduced to deter accidents.

Scotland
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#19 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 7:21:08 PM

safariant wrote:

NKT.

Think Think Think

Samoa has become the first country since the 1970s to change the side of the road on which cars are driven.

At 0600 local time (1700 GMT) sirens sounded and drivers were told to move from the right side to the left.

Police said that no accidents had been reported in the first hours after the switch in the island nation despite predictions of chaos from critics.

The government brought about the change to bring Samoa into line with other South Pacific countries. A two-day holiday was declared to ease traffic as people got used to the new rules.

Scotland

But the steering still remained on the original position? This is a disaster in the making.
The cars need to be recalled and steering re-fitted accordingly.

safariant
#20 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 7:31:38 PM

safariant wrote:

NKT.

Think Think Think

Scotland

But the steering still remained on the original position? This is a disaster in the making.
The cars need to be recalled and steering re-fitted accordingly.

The worrying part was the 3 day alcohol ban.
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
7 Pages<1234>»