wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

31 Pages123>»
EBOLA Virus
Kausha
#1 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 9:13:30 AM

I am still buffled by our indifference to the outbreak of this disease in west africa yet we are the largest national carrier in west africa including to the 3 countries with the outbreak who have already declared states of emergency in their countries.

Yet to see any concrete set up at JKIA that would address any cases and the country should perhaps quickly be evaluating whether KQ should be flying to a lot of these west african countries. National security demands we think about this. God forbid if we have a single case at jkia we will be in serious trouble. I believe national security and defence goes beyond protection against some gun totting characters.
#2 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 9:24:48 AM

Kausha wrote:
I am still buffled by our indifference to the outbreak of this disease in west africa yet we are the largest national carrier in west africa including to the 3 countries with the outbreak who have already declared states of emergency in their countries.

Yet to see any concrete set up at JKIA that would address any cases and the country should perhaps quickly be evaluating whether KQ should be flying to a lot of these west african countries. National security demands we think about this. God forbid if we have a single case at jkia we will be in serious trouble. I believe national security and defence goes beyond protection against some gun totting characters.

Please take a visit to JKIA and see for yourself ama ni armchair imaginations tu?

Kausha
#3 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 9:42:57 AM

If you call that a set up, it won't be long before you get bamboozled.
#4 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 10:40:25 AM

Kausha wrote:

Please take a visit to JKIA and see for yourself ama ni armchair imaginations tu?

@Kausha, mtu ameketi chini ya mti mahali na fertile imagination. to him noise implies activity. This hype that you have been hearing about Ebola from CNN is nonsense. Ebola is a problem in west africa due to a certain peculiar set of cultures (death rites e.t.c) and general hardheadedness ya watu wa huku.
People think Ebola is like flu! sneazing in planes spreads it... blah blah blah... the hysteria caused by the likes of CNN over this matter is doing more harm to these 3 countries than good!
Kwanza nakuja wednesday... @Kausha unaishi wapi? i need to sneeze on you!
#5 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 10:42:39 AM

Kausha wrote:

@Kausha, mtu ameketi chini ya mti mahali na fertile imagination. to him noise implies activity. This hype that you have been hearing about Ebola from CNN is nonsense. Ebola is a problem in west africa due to a certain peculiar set of cultures (death rites e.t.c) and general hardheadedness ya watu wa huku.
People think Ebola is like flu! sneazing in planes spreads it... blah blah blah... the hysteria caused by the likes of CNN over this matter is doing more harm to these 3 countries than good!
sheri
#6 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 10:48:10 AM

Kausha wrote:

@ Masukuma are you threatening @Kausha by any chancesmile smile smile . There is a lot of misinformation about Ebola.
#7 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 10:56:48 AM

CNN has managed to turn Ebola into a US problem!
kiash
#8 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 11:35:49 AM

Kausha wrote:

@Masukuma so you are a doctor based in west Africa according to what you have written. Am not a specialist and i guess its the same case for @kausha i depend on the internet and news which at times is biased i saw a specialist talk about what's happening in WAfrica saying its the family members who were somehow involved in handling the patients.He said there was no risk on planes ati its transmitted with stuff like handling money handled by an infected person, i think sneezing is included.But for us who saw the video of the American infected doctor, the guy was in a kacubicle of his own and how he was handled, i think we must get a bit serious. Just like the discussion about the KICC fire drill.
D32
#9 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 11:40:34 AM

If I was the one pulling stings, I'd ban flights to Ebola infected countries. The little extra buck just not worth the risk.
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
D32
#10 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 11:45:15 AM

D32 wrote:
If I was the one pulling stings, I'd ban flights to Ebola infected countries. The little extra buck just not worth the risk.

"But since it takes between 2 and 21 days before someone infected with Ebola begins to show symptoms, there’s little health officials can do to stop an infected but non-symptomatic person from flying to another country, said CNN’s Chief Medical Correspondent Sanjay Gupta."

From: http://myfox8.com/2014/0...outbreak-of-ebola-virus/
#11 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 11:49:00 AM

kiash wrote:
Kausha wrote:

@Masukuma so you are a doctor based in west Africa according to what you have written. Am not a specialist and i guess its the same case for @kausha i depend on the internet and news which at times is biased i saw a specialist talk about what's happening in WAfrica saying its the family members who were somehow involved in handling the patients.He said there was no risk on planes ati its transmitted with stuff like handling money handled by an infected person, i think sneezing is included.But for us who saw the video of the American infected doctor, the guy was in a kacubicle of his own and how he was handled, i think we must get a bit serious. Just like the discussion about the KICC fire drill.

I am not a doctor - I just know 1 or 2 things about A and B. Do you know the symptoms of Ebola? (you think sneezing is included? kwani ni mafua?) Have you read the article by the doctor who actually discovered Ebola?

http://www.telegraph.co....vered-deadly-virus.html

The reason it has spread as it has in west africa is because it's a care givers disease! Doctors and Nurses place themselves in harms way day by day a small lapse... clothing failure e.t.c. you get it but you need 'PHYSICAL CONTACT' hii sio mafua!. People here have a funny culture of touching touching the dead! someone dies of Ebola in the village and people go and touch touch them (some muslim culture in Guinea of washing people who are past tense has been lethal to their communities). I insist - don't be an ignorant african, READ WHAT THE EXPERTS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE SUBJECT MATTER not what news is saying.

D32 wrote:

And probably that is the reason you are not 'pulling the strings'.

Liberia has 4.2 million people and less than 250 people have died from the disease - let's stop being irrational and hysterical human beings for once and really find out WHY?
D32
#12 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 11:53:15 AM

kiash wrote:
Kausha wrote:

Health officers with protective clothing got infected, some died. Hundreds of citizens have been infected, and just over half of them died, then all of a sudden because it's in a flight, Ebola ceases to behave like Ebola?
#13 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 11:53:51 AM

kiash wrote:
Kausha wrote:

Haiya @kiash, hiikitu naskia imefika huko on-board a hired jet!?

Thiong'o
#14 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 12:06:03 PM

D32 wrote:
kiash wrote:
Kausha wrote:

Health officers with protective clothing got infected, some died. Hundreds of citizens have been infected, and just over half of them died, then all of a sudden because it's in a flight, Ebola ceases to behave like Ebola?

Five things to know about Ebola and how it is spread:

1. WEST AFRICA OUTBREAK NOW LARGEST IN HISTORY. The current outbreak in the neighboring countries of Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone has sickened more than 1,300 people and killed at least 729 since March. The outbreak is unusual for West Africa as the disease is typically found in the center and east of the continent.
2. SOME PEOPLE HAVE SURVIVED EBOLA. While the fatality rate for Ebola can be as high as 90 percent, health officials in the three countries say people have recovered from the virus and the current death rate is about 60 percent. Those who fared best sought immediate medical attention and got supportive care to prevent dehydration even though there is no specific treatment for Ebola itself.
3. EBOLA CAN LOOK LIKE OTHER DISEASES. The early symptoms of an Ebola infection include fever, headache, muscle aches and sore throat. It can be difficult to distinguish between Ebola and malaria, typhoid fever or cholera. Only in later stages do people with Ebola begin bleeding both internally and externally, often through the nose and ears.
4. EBOLA IS ONLY SPREAD THROUGH CLOSE CONTACT. The Ebola virus is not airborne, so people would have to come into direct contact with the bodily fluids of an infected person. These include blood, sweat, vomit, feces, urine, saliva or semen — making transmission through casual contact in a public setting unlikely.
5. FEAR AND MISINFORMATION. In the three countries, health workers and clinics have come under attack from panicked residents who mistakenly blame foreign doctors and nurses for bringing the virus to remote communities. Family members also have removed sick Ebola patients from hospitals. Government officials have stepped up efforts to isolate patients, educate the public, check travelers and tighten borders to prevent the disease's spread.

http://news.yahoo.com/5-...w-africa-125926589.html

http://www.who.int/csr/d...ase/ebola/faq-ebola/en/

#15 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 12:09:34 PM

D32 wrote:

Health officers with protective clothing got infected, some died. Hundreds of citizens have been infected, and just of half of them died, then all of a sudden because it's in a flight, Ebola ceases to behave like Ebola?

this is Ebola! Ebola kills differently based on immunity! there is a concerted effort to ensure that the people getting the disease are hydrated and given antibiotics and this is quite likely the cause of higher survival rates. the case of the flight is well know here - the story may have not gotten to you there. Mr Patrick Sawyer went to bury the sister in the village - she had died of ebola, the brother in-law who since then went missing had symptoms. When Patrick Sawyer returned to the city he had some symptoms and was quarantined! He paid some small cash and was 'released' and got on the flight really sick. Mark you this was way before ROB started screening procedures e.t.c. He collapsed in Lagos and was taken to a hospital where he 'died' and was burnt/cremated. Let's analyse this narrative. The guy flew from ROB to Togo and from Togo to Lagos being quite sick! No one on those flights has been reported (thus far) to have shown any symptoms (that was July 20th mark you). Even the handlers who put him in a wheelchair in Lagos are negative of Ebola but are being watched. For the care givers that are continuously handling these cases in the field it just requires complacency since they are surrounded by it and they get it. if it was flu like we would have been talking of cases in their 10 thousands but it's not. The resistance to this particular strain is still being examined - could it be genetic? could it be the viral load that one is exposed to on the onset? Ebola is self restricting in that it's a spectacular disease - it kills quickly! even those 21 days people are talking about as incubation periods are far fetched on average it takes about 8 – 10 days to kick into full throttle when this person really becomes infectious.

Who is at risk for becoming infected with Ebola virus?

During EVD outbreaks, the following persons are most at risk for infection: Healthcare workers

Family members or friends in close contact with infected people, because they come in close contact with infectious secretions/bodily fluids when caring for ill persons

Mourners who have direct contact with the bodies of the deceased as part of burial ceremonies

Hunters/other persons in the rain forest who come into contact with infected animals in the forest

D32
#16 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 12:39:22 PM

@Thiong'o & @masukuma

Thanks, post #14 & #15 are informative.
#17 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 1:12:32 PM

D32 wrote:
@Thiong'o & @masukuma

This disease can be stopped but it can only be stopped by using some cold hard science! facts e.t.c. by the way hata hapa watu wamepanic mtu akisneeze hivi... unasikia kila mtu amehepa! I even saw people barricading entrances like the string will stop it! Cold hard science!
D32
#18 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 1:41:17 PM

D32 wrote:
@Thiong'o & @masukuma

This disease can be stopped but it can only be stopped by using some cold hard science! facts e.t.c. by the way hata hapa watu wamepanic mtu akisneeze hivi... unasikia kila mtu amehepa! I even saw people barricading entrances like the string will stop it! Cold hard science!

Some of you guys appear comfortable, I still highly dread the disease, ever since I first heard about it in the mid 90's.
Thiong'o
#19 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 1:55:05 PM

D32 wrote:
@Thiong'o & @masukuma

Doctor in this articles agree it can be stoped
http://news.yahoo.com/eb...ctor-cdc-145233680.html
Nancy Writebol, a 59-year-old American who was also infected with Ebola while working as a medical missionary in Liberia, is expected to arrive early this week — raising concern that the disease might spread in the United States.
But the CDC says that such concerns are unwarranted, because Ebola can only be spread through direct contact with bodily fluids or blood, and patients exhibiting symptoms are immediately placed in isolation.
"I hope that our understandable fear of the unfamiliar does not trump our compassion, when ill Americans return to the U.S. for care," Frieden said on "Face the Nation."
Frieden said his office has received "nasty emails" and at least 100 telephone calls from Americans concerned that Brantly and Writebol would be allowed to return to the Unted States.
"The plain truth is that we can stop Ebola," Frieden said on ABC's "This Week With George Stephanopoulos." "We know how to control it."

D32
#20 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 1:58:07 PM

D32 wrote:
If I was the one pulling [b wrote:
stings[/b], I'd ban flights to Ebola infected countries. The little extra buck just not worth the risk.

And probably that is the reason you are not 'pulling the strings'.

Liberia has 4.2 million people and less than 250 people have died from the disease - let's stop being irrational and hysterical human beings for once and really find out WHY?

Typo there. Fast typing, r not pressed well. Anyways, let me say it plainly because the used figure-of-speech "Pulling Strings" was incorrect since "Pulling Strings" can imply manipulation.

Meant to say, if I was the decision maker, I'd decide to ban flights to / from infected countries.

I still think that the disease is still not known well enough, medicines and more effective methods of treatment have not yet been developed, so I'd minimize chances of infection at all costs.