wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

Equity Bank HY14 PBT up 21%
ngapat
#21 Posted : Thursday, July 31, 2014 12:20:28 PM

Akenyan2014 wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
I saw this man jm talking with alot of optimism,but he said there is an approval they are waiting i dont know which and from who?infact he said they get it today they roll the thing tomorrow.

You might not be surprised to find out this is the time he is disposing of half of his stake while you are accumulating. Unfortunately news will come when the share price and the news will not be tasting as sweet as they do now.

“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
ngapat
#22 Posted : Thursday, July 31, 2014 12:31:58 PM

A possibility of a rights issue for equity.

Mwangi said there was a possibility the bank could raise more funds in the next two years, but did not give details.

"We can see ourselves, may be in two years' time, coming to the market," he said.

http://af.reuters.com/ar...andChannel=0&sp=true
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
bird_man
#23 Posted : Thursday, July 31, 2014 3:12:09 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
These facts hold the key to MVNO strategy success:
- How much agents will earn from transactions. If they earn more from M-Pesa than from Equity transactions, they will be very reluctant to adopt it. They are also seeking profits do not forget that.
- How will this thing work for phones that use the microsim that has to be cut to fit into the phone? Anyone here who is part of their pilot project to explain that?

I will only jump into this one after I see the way the product performs after being implemented. Until then, I think they are underestimating safaricom. Those are my two cents though

Interesting times ahead!
The non funded income from Merchant business is also quite high.VisaCard,MasterCard & AmericanExpress income * the volumes!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
meme
#24 Posted : Thursday, July 31, 2014 4:15:29 PM

bird_man wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:
These facts hold the key to MVNO strategy success:
- How much agents will earn from transactions. If they earn more from M-Pesa than from Equity transactions, they will be very reluctant to adopt it. They are also seeking profits do not forget that.
- How will this thing work for phones that use the microsim that has to be cut to fit into the phone? Anyone here who is part of their pilot project to explain that?

I will only jump into this one after I see the way the product performs after being implemented. Until then, I think they are underestimating safaricom. Those are my two cents though

Interesting times ahead!
The non funded income from Merchant business is also quite high.VisaCard,MasterCard & AmericanExpress income * the volumes!

Equitel will also offer Equiloan, the equivalent of Mshwari albeit @2% interest per month as opposed to 7% charged by mpesa.

Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
#25 Posted : Thursday, July 31, 2014 4:52:09 PM

Well said than done.
Goldilocks Reloaded
#26 Posted : Friday, August 01, 2014 11:32:47 AM

Equity will need to finalise this product soon and start making noise. The Biashara Smart product coined by Safaricom and KCB to respond to MVNO is getting a lot of publicity. However, as long as JM is still at the helm of Member, i am fully in the Mbus.
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
#27 Posted : Friday, August 01, 2014 1:06:52 PM

Safaricom will continue throwing up roadblocks but Equity will jump over them. It's a matter of time. As for the KCB+Safaricom offerings, JM made it clear that as long as Safaricom charges crazy middlemen fees, Equity will have the upper hand.
Tall Order
#28 Posted : Friday, August 01, 2014 1:14:31 PM

I need to create a traffic jam of some sort, so that I can catch this Mbus before long, if all goes well too soon, I may not be able to afford to purchase the ticket for my journey.