Hy 2014 PBT up to 10.8b Kes
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:47:38 AM

Obiero 10.6b
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:49:42 AM

The more they delay the mobile money,the more we loose faith in it,and the more mpesa penetrates.
mwekez@ji
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:51:27 AM

@Obiero call is on point
Mucene
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:56:23 AM

ngapat wrote:
Hy 2014 PAT up to 10.8b Kes

Its PBT not PAT
If you don't want to go to plan B have a good plan A.
mwekez@ji
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:58:43 AM

Mucene wrote:
ngapat wrote:
Hy 2014 PAT up to 10.8b Kes

Its PBT not PAT

Goldilocks Reloaded
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:58:50 AM

They were also allowed to ride on existing "Mpesa" sim-cards (albeit in the short-run) to roll out their mobile money. Let's see how Mr. Market treats the news this morning
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 9:01:27 AM

Now that kcb and equity can make over 20b pbt,the value addition remains mobile money to overtake safcom,which makes equity better placed if they succeed.
Boris Boyka
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 9:10:48 AM

mlennyma wrote:
The more they delay the mobile money,the more we loose faith in it,and the more mpesa penetrates.

The staff trials were ending last week and it's on this week or next week they were to roll out. asha tungojee
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:44:23 PM

Link

NAIROBI, Kenya July 30 – Equity Bank has recorded a 21 percent net profit growth in the first half of 2014 to Sh7.6 billion compared to Sh6.3 billion recorded in the similar period of 2013.

The bank’s Chief Executive Officer James Mwangi says the growth is mainly driven by non-funded income which grew by 19 percent as well as a 10 percent growth in total income.

“The 19 percent growth in non-funded income was driven mainly by merchants business and payment processing income that grew by 58 percent as well as the growth of Diaspora banking and remittances processing that grew by 23 percent,” he stated.

Mwangi says the bank grew its total assets by 16 percent to Sh303 billion up from Sh262 billion recorded in June 2013 while the loan book grew by 24 percent in the period under review to Sh186.51 billion from Sh150.48 billion recorded in 2013.

S.Mutaga III
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:56:42 PM

Anyone with a link to a pdf version or any copy of the actual results?
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 9:03:18 PM

I guess somebody was sleeping to post a new thread.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 9:53:21 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:

Good growth in assets, liabilities, diaspora, and stemming regional losses http://www.rich.co.ke/media/doc...alf%20Year%20Results.pdf
bird_man
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 10:24:14 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

The staff trials were ending last week and it's on this week or next week they were to roll out. asha tungojee

The trials are working but on normal sim.I think they are waiting for CAK to give direction on skin sim.And im sure Safcom will go to court thereafter.... = more delay...or Equity to launch on normal sim,which will make it just another Airtel!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
S.Mutaga III
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 11:25:44 PM

muganda wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

Good growth in assets, liabilities, diaspora, and stemming regional losses http://www.rich.co.ke/media/doc...alf%20Year%20Results.pdf

Thank you Muganda
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#17 Posted : Thursday, July 31, 2014 9:37:32 AM

Proud member. 21% Growth in PAT beats our GDP rate 5 timessmile
@SufficientlyP
#18 Posted : Thursday, July 31, 2014 9:48:01 AM

I saw this man jm talking with alot of optimism,but he said there is an approval they are waiting i dont know which and from who?infact he said they get it today they roll the thing tomorrow.
S.Mutaga III
#19 Posted : Thursday, July 31, 2014 11:34:05 AM

These facts hold the key to MVNO strategy success:
- How much agents will earn from transactions. If they earn more from M-Pesa than from Equity transactions, they will be very reluctant to adopt it. They are also seeking profits do not forget that.
- How will this thing work for phones that use the microsim that has to be cut to fit into the phone? Anyone here who is part of their pilot project to explain that?

I will only jump into this one after I see the way the product performs after being implemented. Until then, I think they are underestimating safaricom. Those are my two cents though
Akenyan2014
#20 Posted : Thursday, July 31, 2014 12:03:27 PM

mlennyma wrote:
I saw this man jm talking with alot of optimism,but he said there is an approval they are waiting i dont know which and from who?infact he said they get it today they roll the thing tomorrow.

You might not be surprised to find out this is the time he is disposing of half of his stake while you are accumulating. Unfortunately news will come when the share price and the news will not be tasting as sweet as they do now.