That Simba Cement ad seems racist to me
I dont know if anyone else has gotten that kafeeling when you watch simba cement advert on TV. From the advert, the caucasian guy seems to be the overall boss, the asian guy is the designer or qs or architect, and the miro guy is the one with the kofia, obviously the one on site constructing.... Ai, the people who did this ad did not have this market in mind, its off in my view
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Quote: Ai, the people who did this ad did not have this market in mind, its off in my view
kwani how is the market ? the ad seems very relevant to that market.
nakujua wrote:Quote: Ai, the people who did this ad did not have this market in mind, its off in my view
kwani how is the market ? the ad seems very relevant to that market. Captures it the way it is, mbona tunaogopa ukweli sometimes yawa??? ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
McReggae wrote:nakujua wrote:Quote: Ai, the people who did this ad did not have this market in mind, its off in my view
kwani how is the market ? the ad seems very relevant to that market. Captures it the way it is, mbona tunaogopa ukweli sometimes yawa??? I have not issue with the hierarchal innuendo but i think the audio is poorly done like that part they say - 'introducing' the accent is terrible hiyo ni accent ya wapi? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Stop reading too much into it. It's a useless ad that says nothing and has little impact if any. I wish they had spent that money giving facts about cement and maybe someone could go like "wow I didn't know that". That would have higher recall. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,331 Location: Masada
lisaox wrote:I dont know if anyone else has gotten that kafeeling when you watch simba cement advert on TV. From the advert, the caucasian guy seems to be the overall boss, the asian guy is the designer or qs or architect, and the miro guy is the one with the kofia, obviously the one on site constructing.... Ai, the people who did this ad did not have this market in mind, its off in my view That exactly what was intended, for people like you talk about it and market the Simba cement. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
lisaox wrote:I dont know if anyone else has gotten that kafeeling when you watch simba cement advert on TV. From the advert, the caucasian guy seems to be the overall boss, the asian guy is the designer or qs or architect, and the miro guy is the one with the kofia, obviously the one on site constructing.... Ai, the people who did this ad did not have this market in mind, its off in my view This racism thing sometimes its over rated, i saw man-city walked off the pitch in protest after their guy was shown a red card and he complained that he was racially abused. We just need to agree that we are who we are and live with it. if a guy calls me black i call him back white or colorless Life is an endless adventure
freiks wrote:lisaox wrote:I dont know if anyone else has gotten that kafeeling when you watch simba cement advert on TV. From the advert, the caucasian guy seems to be the overall boss, the asian guy is the designer or qs or architect, and the miro guy is the one with the kofia, obviously the one on site constructing.... Ai, the people who did this ad did not have this market in mind, its off in my view This racism thing sometimes its over rated, i saw man-city walked off the pitch in protest after their guy was shown a red card and he complained that he was racially abused. We just need to agree that we are who we are and live with it. if a guy calls me black i call him back white or colorless Call them Pink. Its all good.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
freiks wrote:lisaox wrote:I dont know if anyone else has gotten that kafeeling when you watch simba cement advert on TV. From the advert, the caucasian guy seems to be the overall boss, the asian guy is the designer or qs or architect, and the miro guy is the one with the kofia, obviously the one on site constructing.... Ai, the people who did this ad did not have this market in mind, its off in my view This racism thing sometimes its over rated, i saw man-city walked off the pitch in protest after their guy was shown a red card and he complained that he was racially abused. We just need to agree that we are who we are and live with it. if a guy calls me black i call him back white or colorless shida ni, color black has already been de-monized and white has been 'god-ified'. its like a person calling you 'mafi ya kuku wewe' and you respond back 'kuku choma na kachumbari wewe'
lisaox wrote:I dont know if anyone else has gotten that kafeeling when you watch simba cement advert on TV. From the advert, the caucasian guy seems to be the overall boss, the asian guy is the designer or qs or architect, and the miro guy is the one with the kofia, obviously the one on site constructing.... Ai, the people who did this ad did not have this market in mind, its off in my view The guilty are always afraid and suspicious If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
That Simba Cement ad seems racist to me