3 Pages<123
Shida ya tumbo
#41 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 11:56:25 AM

Bykhovets wrote:
Don't take stomach issues lightly I have been making assumptions,taking flagyl so many times...but I also blame some doctors I have seen been treated for amobeasis and gastroentretitis so many times,little did I know what was cooking in my tummy,you can't believe the thing that was chucked during surgery...alien like...but God is indeed good...

@maka, I saw that post where you said you just had abdominal surgery and you were recuperating. I wondered if it was related to the "piles" issue a while back. What did they excise? Was it in the stomach, small intestine or large intestine? Would like to know.

Pole ndugu. Get well soon.

From the report the surgeon called it a right hemicolectomy...

I hope that mass was taken for histology. Post the pathology findings when you receive them.

Seems there was an issue in or around your caecum. It is vestigial, so it can be removed along with part of the ascending colon without much ado. Simple resection and anastomosis. No colostomy fashioning.

Booze, mutura na boiro will now be a thing of the past. You need to carefully select your foods for a while. Remember to go for a colonoscopy every 2 years.

Glad it has finally been sorted.

I thought the pombe thing was a joke...

I believe it was taken to kemri here is the report tried posting the scanned version imekataa...

Laparatomy;Cecal tumour with appendix not identified.Right hemicolectomy done.

Gross

Segment of ascending colon with cecum 220mm and attached 100mm terminal ileum portion.On dissection is thickened cecum with normal mucosa.
The vermiform appendix is not identified.identified
3 aerosol nodes are sampled.

Histopathology

Sections of the wall of the large intestines show an organising active chronic inflammatory process with foci of suppuration that is extending from mucosa to serosal surface.The terminal ileum is normal with serosal inflammation.There are no granulomas noted.The serosal lymph nodes show reactive changes only.

Diagnosis

Cecal mass - organizing active chronic inflammatory process.

Comment

This might be secondary to a ruptured appendicities.
Bykhovets
#42 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 3:18:51 PM

Sawa boss. Those are favourable gross/microscopy results. I didn't want it to be the other kind of bad mass.

Stop chewing chicken bones like a Mluhya, eating rice or githeri with stones, half-washed mutura with bits of napier grass etc. smile

You don't have a gizzard (only @Kaigangio has one smile) and all that undigested material goes into your appendix and clogs it. Seems your appendix got inflamed; you repeatedly took some painkillers and antibiotics; the pain and fever went down; it then perforated causing inflammation to the caecum and adjacent colon. Your doc (the pretty one) should have sent you for an abdominal ultrasound a long time ago. It's only Ksh3500.

Seen my fair share of perforated appendices. You open the abdomen and it's full of pus you have to irrigate with hot water and antibiotics. Often in tough young men like you. Recovery is swift and uneventful.

Your terminal ileum absorbs vitamin B12 and bile salts. This means your diet needs to have few fats (Woi nyama choma smile) else you will have persistent diarrhoea. Vitamin B12 injections should be given periodically to prevent anemia. The caecum & appendix are not so useful in man (vestigial). Malabsorption will be minimal in the ascending colon as only 10cm was removed (it absorbs water, electrolytes, Vitamin K and has millions of bacteria that breaks down other metabolites).

Now that your gut is 32cm less, the journey of your lunch from mouth to WC will be much quicker smile
"Occasionally I drop a tea cup to shatter on the floor. On purpose. I am not satisfied when it does not gather itself up again. Someday perhaps that cup will come together."
#43 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 4:23:05 PM

Bykhovets wrote:
Sawa boss. Those are favourable gross/microscopy results. I didn't want it to be the other kind of bad mass.

Stop chewing chicken bones like a Mluhya, eating rice or githeri with stones, half-washed mutura with bits of napier grass etc. smile

You don't have a gizzard (only @Kaigangio has one smile) and all that undigested material goes into your appendix and clogs it. Seems your appendix got inflamed; you repeatedly took some painkillers and antibiotics; the pain and fever went down; it then perforated causing inflammation to the caecum and adjacent colon. Your doc (the pretty one) should have sent you for an abdominal ultrasound a long time ago. It's only Ksh3500.

Seen my fair share of perforated appendices. You open the abdomen and it's full of pus you have to irrigate with hot water and antibiotics. Often in tough young men like you. Recovery is swift and uneventful.

Your terminal ileum absorbs vitamin B12 and bile salts. This means your diet needs to have few fats (Woi nyama choma smile) else you will have persistent diarrhoea. Vitamin B12 injections should be given periodically to prevent anemia. The caecum & appendix are not so useful in man (vestigial). Malabsorption will be minimal in the ascending colon as only 10cm was removed (it absorbs water, electrolytes, Vitamin K and has millions of bacteria that breaks down other metabolites).

Now that your gut is 32cm less, the journey of your lunch from mouth to WC will be much quicker smile

Thanks a lot for the info,well appreciated,I think the first time I felt pain was in 2012,did an ultrasound,was told i had sub acute appendicities,but then I was on ISO kit,the pain went until 3 weeks ago,first doc I saw did the normal tests and told me I had amoebiosis(sp) i rem it was a Thursday,but that night was bad I threw up a couple of times,couldn't sleep unless I curled up,Friday was better and on Sato I went to another doc who insisted I do the ultrasound,the next Tuesday the surgery was done,initially the surgeon had indicated he soul take roughly 1hr 30 or 45 minutes,ended being 4hrs you can imagine the panic from my people...but recovery is going well am a bit sore at the incision area but I am ok stopped walking like an old mzee now smile
#44 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 5:26:11 PM

Bykhovets wrote:

Thanks a lot for the info,well appreciated,I think the first time I felt pain was in 2012,did an ultrasound,was told i had sub acute appendicities,but then I was on ISO kit,the pain went until 3 weeks ago,first doc I saw did the normal tests and told me I had amoebiosis(sp) i rem it was a Thursday,but that night was bad I threw up a couple of times,couldn't sleep unless I curled up,Friday was better and on Sato I went to another doc who insisted I do the ultrasound,the next Tuesday the surgery was done,initially the surgeon had indicated he soul take roughly 1hr 30 or 45 minutes,ended being 4hrs you can imagine the panic from my people...but recovery is going well am a bit sore at the incision area but I am ok stopped walking like an old mzee now smile

How old are you?
Do you do a lot of alcohol?
Some of us need this info to learn from your experience.

#45 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 5:30:40 PM

Bykhovets wrote:

Pole sana bro.Glad to know all went well.We thank God for that.

Meanwhile tulete supu na uji wapi? Hospital ama nyumbani.?

Keep well and watch what you eat.

#46 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 7:20:04 PM

Bykhovets wrote:

How old are you?

<30>25

I don't think it has anything to do with alcohol@Bykhovets why No imbibing?
@Bigchick got discharged a week ago after a 6 day stay.
Bykhovets
#47 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 8:13:47 PM

Bykhovets wrote:

How old are you?

<30>25

They should have removed that appendix in 2012. Why wait? It was already inflamed and you do not need it anyway.

Alcohol and cigarettes are risk factors for most medical conditions. You can get away with a glass or two of wine or a couple of tots of your favourite brandy but drinking the entire night is not advisable.

What's up with our lovely @BigChick? smile
"Occasionally I drop a tea cup to shatter on the floor. On purpose. I am not satisfied when it does not gather itself up again. Someday perhaps that cup will come together."
#48 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 8:26:03 PM

Surgery should never be an option if there are natural ways of going about things. The body heals itself when given the necessary ingredients. People have been cured from Cancer naturally. It saddens me when doctors are knife-happy. Every part of God's creation is precious!!! And should be treated as such!

#49 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 10:51:59 PM

Bykhovets wrote:

How old are you?

<30>25

They should have removed that appendix in 2012. Why wait? It was already inflamed and you do not need it anyway.

Alcohol and cigarettes are risk factors for most medical conditions. You can get away with a glass or two of wine or a couple of tots of your favourite brandy but drinking the entire night is not advisable.

@Bykhovets..........am well na hakuna matata or is it matiti.

I think you misunderstood @Maka.

I wanted to deliver Uji and soup so he was informing me that he was discharged some days after surgery.

Thankyou for the concern.
Bykhovets
#50 Posted : Sunday, July 20, 2014 12:50:32 AM

Bykhovets wrote:

How old are you?

<30>25

@Bykhovets..........am well na hakuna matata or is it matiti.

I think you misunderstood @Maka.

I wanted to deliver Uji and soup so he was informing me that he was discharged some days after surgery.

Thankyou for the concern.

Nimeshika sasa. smile

It's nice for people to look out for each other.

Zanze
#51 Posted : Sunday, July 20, 2014 1:28:30 AM

Surgery should never be an option if there are natural ways of going about things. The body heals itself when given the necessary ingredients. People have been cured from Cancer naturally. It saddens me when doctors are knife-happy. Every part of God's creation is precious!!! And should be treated as such!

Heh! With cancer and such I'd rather take all avail meds than go the natural route. A single mother of two recently died after going that route in vain.
#52 Posted : Sunday, July 20, 2014 9:17:59 AM

Zanze wrote:

Heh! With cancer and such I'd rather take all avail meds than go the natural route. A single mother of two recently died after going that route in vain.

As have done many, who've used the chemo route. Death, my brother, is inevitable.

#53 Posted : Monday, July 21, 2014 1:46:37 AM

Bykhovets wrote:
Don't take stomach issues lightly I have been making assumptions,taking flagyl so many times...but I also blame some doctors I have seen been treated for amobeasis and gastroentretitis so many times,little did I know what was cooking in my tummy,you can't believe the thing that was chucked during surgery...alien like...but God is indeed good...

@maka, I saw that post where you said you just had abdominal surgery and you were recuperating. I wondered if it was related to the "piles" issue a while back. What did they excise? Was it in the stomach, small intestine or large intestine? Would like to know.

I hope that mass was taken for histology. Post the pathology findings when you receive them.

Seems there was an issue in or around your caecum. It is vestigial, so it can be removed along with part of the ascending colon without much ado. Simple resection and anastomosis. No colostomy fashioning.

Booze, mutura na boiro will now be a thing of the past. You need to carefully select your foods for a while. Remember to go for a colonoscopy every 2 years.

I believe it was taken to kemri here is the report tried posting the scanned version imekataa...

Gross

Segment of ascending colon with cecum 220mm and attached 100mm terminal ileum portion.On dissection is thickened cecum with normal mucosa.

Histopathology

Sections of the wall of the large intestines show an organising active chronic inflammatory process with foci of suppuration that is extending from mucosa to serosal surface.The terminal ileum is normal with serosal inflammation.There are no granulomas noted.The serosal lymph nodes show reactive changes only.

Diagnosis

Comment

NINI HII!!!!!!!!!!
Pray
#54 Posted : Saturday, October 04, 2014 12:54:56 PM

Bykhovets wrote:

Gross

Histopathology

Diagnosis

Comment

NINI HII!!!!!!!!!!
Pray

Almost there...smile
Atalaku
#55 Posted : Saturday, October 04, 2014 1:15:41 PM

...except the foreskin. I can say that without fear of contradiction! Mtu wangu habari!
Um Sayala
#56 Posted : Saturday, October 04, 2014 1:44:26 PM

@maka, Pole sana. quick recovery
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
#57 Posted : Saturday, October 04, 2014 6:22:34 PM

that thing is larger than a newborn baby. Where was it hiding? pole sana
#58 Posted : Sunday, October 05, 2014 2:34:43 AM

Atalaku wrote:

...except the foreskin. I can say that without fear of contradiction! Mtu wangu habari!

Mtu wako ni nani? Uliokoka, or you still go to Church to critique the Men of God?

#59 Posted : Sunday, October 05, 2014 3:49:08 PM

I pray that God heals you Maka. Jikaze bro.