wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

2.4m loan
urstill1
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 11:50:57 AM

What would you do with approximately Ksh 2.4m interest free loan in foreign currency. I'm supposed to start paying it off from the beginning of July next year.
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 11:52:26 AM

urstill1 wrote:
What would you do with approximately Ksh 2.4m interest free loan in foreign currency. I'm supposed to start paying it off from the beginning of July next year.

Lend it to @swenani at 5% p.a

BTW, can you direct me where I can also get the interest free loan?
urstill1
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 11:56:34 AM

urstill1 wrote:

You can not get it since I got from a long time friend. I have a pal who needs 200k at 15% p.a
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 12:01:08 PM

urstill1 wrote:

You can not get it since I got from a long time friend. I have a pal who needs 200k at 15% p.a

Thats too high considering we have stanchart.

can you lend 1M sub 10%? If yes,let me know
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 12:04:27 PM

You want to lend in Foreign Currency or KES? And which currency if forex?
urstill1
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 12:13:22 PM

The money is in CAD and USD. $30k in CAD to be precise. @Swenani, if I haven't known you for the last 10 years, sahau. I may lend the 200k to my friend interest free. Lakini hiyo 2.2m imebaki I would need advice on how I should invest it. I have thought about car-hire and sinking the rest in shares. As of now a huge amount of the money has been invested in the markets huko majuu. I got the whole of the amount earlier this year. Depending on how I invest it, I may be eligible for more loan after partial and serious repayment of the current one.
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 12:25:25 PM

urstill1 wrote:
The money is in CAD and USD. $30k in CAD to be precise. @Swenani, if I haven't known you for the last 10 years, sahau. I may lend the 200k to my friend interest free. Lakini hiyo 2.2m imebaki I would need advice on how I should invest it. I have thought about car-hire and sinking the rest in shares. As of now a huge amount of the money has been invested in the markets huko majuu. I got the whole of the amount earlier this year. Depending on how I invest it, I may be eligible for more loan after partial and serious repayment of the current one.

Okay,Though am not a conman

But my advice is washana na mambo ya car hire kabisa.SAHAU

Weka kwa shamba and NSE and if you change your mind,lend me some(if you can at less than 10% p.aon reducing balance) after doing your own due diligence

#8 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 12:44:08 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Would you lend it to a company with water tight legal documentation at 15% p.a
urstill1
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 12:44:20 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Weka kwa shamba and NSE and if you change your mind,lend me some(if you can at less than 10% p.aon reducing balance) after doing your own due diligence

Wacha ningoje mawaidha ya investors. Kwa nini uko against car hire? Niki import ka Toyota Belta siwezi kosa a minimum of 30k per month. The car hire business is not to be based in Nairobi! Then the rest I sink in whatever investment tools I get from Wazua. Hiyo kukuloan sahau tu baba. I'm open for suggestions. I'll give feedback.
urstill1
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 12:48:31 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Would you lend it to a company with water tight legal documentation at 15% p.a

I'm not in lending business. The friend I mentioned is in some kind of average retail business. All he wants to do is get some of his products the way the wholesale guys do. It's because we have history and there is no legal stuff involved. So anyone else who wants a loan from me is a big no no no!!
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 1:01:18 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Wacha ningoje mawaidha ya investors. Kwa nini uko against car hire? Niki import ka Toyota Belta siwezi kosa a minimum of 30k per month. The car hire business is not to be based in Nairobi! Then the rest I sink in whatever investment tools I get from Wazua. Hiyo kukuloan sahau tu baba. I'm open for suggestions. I'll give feedback.

Nilichomeka mbaya tena mbaya saiti.

Just remember that the higher the returns the higher the risk.

I used to do it part time(one car)be prepared for such challenges
1.Parts(batteries,tryes and mechanicalparts) were always stolen and replacedwith worn/fake or old parts
2.Accidents
3.Non payment(a guy takes and paysin advance for your car for 5 days and ends up staying with it for more than 5 days.
4.Chances of it being stolen by your customers are high(Thats how nilichomeka-the guy was a frequent customer and used to pay promptlybut he endedup stealing and dismantling the car and selling the parts)

Najua utasema ati i didnt have tracking device,Ihad one which could allow me to switch off the car with my phone,but can you imagineif the guy is in Migori with your car and you are in Nairobi; he has stayed with it for 6 days instead of 3days andhe promises to give you the cash whenhe returns the car.Will you switch off the car and maybe hajui migori iko wapi?.

Aguytrying
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 1:10:20 PM

@urstill. First and foremost, don't be greedy. Its just free money. You have to be realistic how much you want to grow this money, what rate per annum.
I'd be averse to the stock market this year and next, too risky.
I'd put 70% (of the 2.2m)Money market fund, make 9% profit in the one year. 138,000 profit
I'd put 30% (of the 2.2m) in the stock market to play rights issues and IPO's that pass strict due diligence. at least 50% profit from this.
330,000 profit.
total profit = 468,600
Pay back the money and walk away
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
urstill1
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 1:54:10 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
@urstill. First and foremost, don't be greedy. Its just free money. You have to be realistic how much you want to grow this money, what rate per annum.
I'd put 70% (of the 2.2m)Money market fund, make 9% profit in the one year. 138,000 profit
I'd put 30% (of the 2.2m) in the stock market to play rights issues and IPO's that pass strict due diligence. at least 50% profit from this.
330,000 profit.
total profit = 468,600

I get you. Why are you saying am too greedy?
urstill1
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 1:55:42 PM

urstill1 wrote:

1.Parts(batteries,tryes and mechanicalparts) were always stolen and replacedwith worn/fake or old parts
2.Accidents
3.Non payment(a guy takes and paysin advance for your car for 5 days and ends up staying with it for more than 5 days.
4.Chances of it being stolen by your customers are high(Thats how nilichomeka-the guy was a frequent customer and used to pay promptlybut he endedup stealing and dismantling the car and selling the parts)

Najua utasema ati i didnt have tracking device,Ihad one which could allow me to switch off the car with my phone,but can you imagineif the guy is in Migori with your car and you are in Nairobi; he has stayed with it for 6 days instead of 3days andhe promises to give you the cash whenhe returns the car.Will you switch off the car and maybe hajui migori iko wapi?.

So what did the insurance guys do? Ama u never had comprehensive insurance, ulikuwa na ile ya masafara? In the months that you were in the business, what was your average monthly net income? What car model were using?
Aguytrying
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 3:51:20 PM

urstill1 wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
330,000 profit.
total profit = 468,600

Im not saying your greedy. I just mean dont get carried away, like try and grow it 5 five fold. thats what i mean by greedy. Its easy to get carried away
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#16 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 4:29:18 PM

urstill1 wrote:

2.Accidents

So what did the insurance guys do? Ama u never had comprehensive insurance, ulikuwa na ile ya masafara? In the months that you were in the business, what was your average monthly net income? What car model were using?

I had a personal comprehensive cover instead of a pSV......So hio story iliisha tu hivyo.

I had an assista 1300 CC.I can not be specific on net monthly income but it would range between 50K or 0 per month.Back then the rates averaged 2k-2.5K per day
urstill1
#17 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 5:03:46 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
urstill1 wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
330,000 profit.
total profit = 468,600

Im not saying your greedy. I just mean dont get carried away, like try and grow it 5 five fold. thats what i mean by greedy. Its easy to get carried away

@Aguy, thanks. That's one thing I'm trying to avoid that's why I've sought advice.
urstill1
#18 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 5:19:00 PM

urstill1 wrote:

2.Accidents

I had a personal comprehensive cover instead of a pSV......So hio story iliisha tu hivyo.

I had an assista 1300 CC.I can not be specific on net monthly income but it would range between 50K or 0 per month.Back then the rates averaged 2k-2.5K per day

Thanks. 0 per month???