wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

6 Pages«<3456>
Safaricom FY 2014 results +31% profit after tax
#81 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 6:45:31 AM

the deal on Wednesday, January 18, 2012 7:22:47 PM wrote:

It's a season of DowngradesApplause Applause Applause

All in all unless Safaricom cuts it's operational costs i expect full year EBITDA to drop by 15-30% because i expect ARPU to continue falling as inflation and the recent price hike forces customers to switch to cheaper options, the weak Shilling will also continue to pose a challenge thus i expect full year EPS to come in around Sh0.23. So at the current price of Sh3.30-Sh3.35 I rate Safaricom Expense/Sell/Avoid since I don't expect it to gain by more than 15% from this current price levels. My target price is Sh2.30 by June 2012.

Read more on this Link http://www.contrarianinv...ot-with-that-price-hike

itz on Thursday, February 16, 2012 1:04:06 AM wrote:
I think Safaricom will be last man standing in this harsh telecom game and that is partly why the stock is catching a bid.Safcom is asserting itself as the leader in the industry and with mpesa,data,cloud computing and tech growing as the economy expands it just means brighter days for Safcom.The worst thing Safcom did was float too many shares during the IPO.I would be a buyer if it dips below 3.10

I love history
keved
#82 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 4:49:15 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
Dear Customer, your PostPay Bundle subscription will remain available til 25 Mar 2015 after which you can migrate to your preferred PrePay or PostPay service......via sms usiulize Rink

Got that as well. By then, i'll be a proud memba sim card holdersmile

@sp thropic I think even if the amount is doubled it's still good than prepay!!

Minimum bundle will be 3k (info by customer care).

This will be pay as you use, no bundles or anything. It seems it will be equal to loading via Mpesa or scratch cards
Aguytrying
#83 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 6:15:19 PM

it was too good to be true
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
jerry
#84 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 8:44:25 PM

keved wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
Dear Customer, your PostPay Bundle subscription will remain available til 25 Mar 2015 after which you can migrate to your preferred PrePay or PostPay service......via sms usiulize Rink

Got that as well. By then, i'll be a proud memba sim card holdersmile

@sp thropic I think even if the amount is doubled it's still good than prepay!!

Minimum bundle will be 3k (info by customer care).

This will be pay as you use, no bundles or anything. It seems it will be equal to loading via1 Mpesa or scratch cards

How is "Pay as you use" a postpay?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#85 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 11:24:14 AM

Notice the stock bottomed out when the red long candle stick which floors at 12 stuck out and closed outside the bollinger bands on 25th of June(Wednesday last week touching a low of 12)

Notice also the RSI(Currently at 56.73)confirms an uptrend,which essentially happens when RSI moves above 50 level.
@SufficientlyP
hisah
#86 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 12:41:13 PM

@philanga - seems like the 11.50 test is being defended. Was expecting it to be tested before the next push towards 15 - 16 level. Mpesa bank is now morphing into security and content; mobile banking is huge for all...

Note mpesa bank's cartoon influence on NSE20's cartoon.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#87 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 5:54:52 AM

Wow! Safaricom's M-Pesa under 'threat' [well, there's still a long way to go] by Airtel and Equity. It will not be easy to beat Safaricom but the battle has begun. More options and lower costs are good for consumers.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/ivr2jvz/-/index.html

http://www.businessdaily...0/-/pj45q6z/-/index.html
hisah
#88 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 8:43:23 AM

Wow! Safaricom's M-Pesa under 'threat' [well, there's still a long way to go] by Airtel and Equity. It will not be easy to beat Safaricom but the battle has begun. More options and lower costs are good for consumers.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/pj45q6z/-/index.html

If the price ever dips below 7.50 then it loses the bull power. From vol spread position, 15-16 will be tested once 13.50 gives way. There is nothing stopping that melt up. Quite a steep PER but mr market has never been rational.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#89 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 9:58:26 AM

hisah wrote:

http://www.businessdaily.../-/pj45q6z/-/index.html

If the price ever dips below 7.50 then it loses the bull power. From vol spread position, 15-16 will be tested once 13.50 gives way. There is nothing stopping that melt up. Quite a steep PER but mr market has never been rational.
Probably. At sub-10... I would look at it. At sub-8 jump in with both feet.
#90 Posted : Thursday, July 10, 2014 2:51:59 AM

Volume - 67,818,500 wao!
mibbz
#91 Posted : Thursday, July 10, 2014 4:49:14 AM

Safaricom is shaken by Equity, whatever angle you look at it this tech shall revolutionise banking while ensuring loyal safaricom customers do not jump ship. Its a superior value proposition viz preious mobile money attempts. Disruptive technology at its best.A soon to be case study in MBA schools worldwide

http://www.standardmedia...ld-affect-mpesa-s-future
Tall Order
#92 Posted : Thursday, July 10, 2014 5:13:20 AM

I like the upcoming competition which should benefit Wanjiku in the long run, Safcom has made super profits in recent years unchallenged and almost forgot the plight of Wanjiku with increases especially in their money transfer fee the order of business
#93 Posted : Thursday, July 10, 2014 5:18:30 AM

This so called coming competition might just not be. Implementation will be key the line between success and failure is very thin. Infact Safcom says it will not change its transaction fees rather increase services that it will offer. Cant wait to see how this rolls out. Interesting times ahead.
Boris Boyka
#94 Posted : Thursday, July 10, 2014 7:52:05 AM

This so called coming competition might just not be. Implementation will be key the line between success and failure is very thin. Infact Safcom says it will not change its transaction fees rather increase services that it will offer. Cant wait to see how this rolls out. Interesting times ahead.

@murchr I also thought so. will.equity be looking for money or numbers of customers? eventually it will be competition btwn parties that will agree behind the counter and maintain the charges (won't drop significantly). Many banks have come up but loan rates are still high! So many players in energy sector but prices still high!! so many supermarkets but prices of commodities relatively same..........A stronger tussle will see establishment of a regulatory authority just like energy then KBRR which brings us back to where we started. "reduced rates " mimi sioni.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
hisah
#95 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 2:32:04 PM

Signs off topping out are now evident... I'm very keen with mpesa bank since it's an elephant part of the index weight. If the elephant falls, so does the index.

hisah
#96 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 10:57:06 AM

At 11.50 the div yield will be 4%
At 9.40 the div yield will be 5%

The above is pegged on cum dividend of 47cts.

The query now is will mpesa bank maintain div pay above 47cts this yr and going forward? If not, the strong base at 7.50 will not sustain selling pressure if profit dips.

Ericsson
#97 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 11:30:37 AM

It should come down to 7.50 or the whereabouts of 8
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Aguytrying
#98 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 1:22:32 PM

At 5.00 i would buy. I know this may never happen in our lifetime but that's my price for it at this time. Like many people, i should've bought at 3.00 and never sold if performance maintained
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Kingotore
#99 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 1:35:19 PM

When you see the cloud dont conclude it must rain. This elephant has laid serious strategy that will shock may as it maintain position.
GOOD TO GREAT. KINGOTORE
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#100 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 1:52:20 PM

hisah wrote:
Signs off topping out are now evident... I'm very keen with mpesa bank since it's an elephant part of the index weight. If the elephant falls, so does the index.

As per script.
@SufficientlyP