wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Ultra luxury bus service
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 4:09:49 PM

Can this type class travel tick in Kenya?
Especially the Nairobi-Mombasa route and Nairobi-Kisumu route?

Video Rink

#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 4:26:39 PM

Video Rink

Olivea bado...
MatataMingi
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 4:59:19 PM

Video Rink

I would use this on Mombasa-Nairobi route, if it was about 4K on way
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 5:34:37 PM

MatataMingi wrote:

Video Rink

Me too wont mind a 5K one way, kwanja the "in-flight" service is first class!
I wish someone with extra cash (like @sonko Liar ) could consider tis and see how it works out!

#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 5:44:14 PM

MatataMingi wrote:

Video Rink

You have to consider profitability. In my view, 4k would not be profitable for the amount of capital sunk in here, so the one way ticket would probably be higher..if not close to a flight ticket one way in which case...
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 5:52:50 PM

MatataMingi wrote:

Video Rink

You have to consider profitability. In my view, 4k would not be profitable for the amount of capital sunk in here, so the one way ticket would probably be higher..if not close to a flight ticket one way in which case...

The bus carry about 21 pax...a business seat on an aircraft to Mombasa cost about 35K on average! The flight takes 40 minutes...the bus ride will take kitu 6 hours of luxury travel.
Hebu fanya mahesabu including fuel tuona kama its worthwhile.

The bus could cost around 50 million inclusive; a similar sized aircraft goes for 1 billion shillings! (these are my conservative estimates)

goldenberg
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 5:57:27 PM

Would be good for executive hire especially if sonko wants to take out the entire clan in luxury style.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 6:04:01 PM

Applause Applause nice one!! Makes me want to travel!

Kisumu-Nai and Msa Nai would be great!

That would mean leaving air travel to those who want to arrive fast
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 6:09:17 PM

Applause Applause nice one!! Makes me want to travel!

Kisumu-Nai and Msa Nai would be great!

That would mean leaving air travel to those who want to arrive fast

You only need to watch out not to download "kitu kubwa" sana since the sh*t tank is not that big!

real cindano
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 9:37:00 PM

Kupakana mafuta tuu.
You have now all imagined a great idea na bado muko where you started from and have wasted your time and my time.

#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 11:05:29 PM

Though the shown super-luxury is way tops, we are not far of either. Mash VIP section:

#12 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 2:20:28 AM

real cindano wrote:
Kupakana mafuta tuu.
You have now all imagined a great idea na bado muko where you started from and have wasted your time and my time.

Typical Kenyan mentality...
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 5:24:44 AM

As @impunity is busy thinking of a 'ujaluo' bus, airbus is planning how to put you on a bicycle seat at 40000 feet.

http://video.foxnews.com...4949843001#sp=show-clips
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 8:31:46 AM

As @impunity is busy thinking of a 'ujaluo' bus, airbus is planning how to put you on a bicycle seat at 40000 feet.

http://video.foxnews.com...949843001#sp=show-clips

Applause

#15 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 8:43:38 AM

http://video.foxnews.com...949843001#sp=show-clips

Applause

I wont mind that to kisumo 45 minutes ............ little cattle cows aish!
#16 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 9:41:05 AM

I think it is fantastic, but I see some obstacles in a market like Kenya:

1. First is the cost, given the inflation levels, most Kenyans opt for cheap, in the range of sh300 to sh1500.

2. Our roads! The potholes, the turning, and braking, and maneuvering slow vehicles on the first lane, avoiding Matatus, and boda bodas etc. The ride would still be bumpy, spilling that drink

3. Safety, would those who can afford to pay for this luxury trust the safety level of our roads? I mean the luxury bus driver can be careful, but what about that oncoming lorry driver overtaking at a blind spot? These elite guys would rather drive their own cars, which they have a bot of control. NOTE: I don't mean you can avoid careless oncoming driver, but at least there is comfort when it's you driving.

4. Cartels, won't these guys kill the owner of the luxury bus company (read Modern Bus)? Won't they pay some hooligans to damage the bus? Vandalism?

5. Return on investment, salary to sustain a discipline crew, starting from the driver...

Othrewise, I think it's a great idea, if we improve the basics first, like safety, discipline, and cost of fuel hence cost of fare.